We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Weekend Getaway Place in LA”
Review of Terranea Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Terranea Resort
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 27, 2011

We went for a short weekend getaway and had a very nice and relaxing time. The property is located in a gorgeous spot and has some beautiful oceanfront views. Pros - lovely property, nice spa and spa pool, great gym, lots of walking trails, Nelson's restaurant. Main pool looks nice if you have small kids. Cons - the property is spread out and there's only one elevator bank in the main building which makes it inconvenient going back and forth to the room. We didn't mind so much but this would not be a good place for anyone who has trouble getting around. However, there are lots of employees with electric carts. We would definitely come here again for another local weekend getaway.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mintchip17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,502)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,134 - 3,140 of 3,502 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2011

The whole experience was very nice and I would go again. The only thing that was a little weird, was they're not giving us an extra blanket when we called housekeeping; they said they didn't have anymore....more like "we don't trust that our guests won't steal the blankets" - for over $300 per night...that's a bit stingy.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SpaShopping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2011

Resort is probably the size of the U of I (Illinois) (HUGE). You take golf carts to your bungalows (if you get a bungalow) and they have a bunch of pools. I HIGHLY recommend going to dinner at NELSONS. Sit outside by the fire pit and then enjoy an after dinner drink by the "other" huge fire pit overlooking the Ocean.

LOVE IT

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeftWing28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2011

we needed a nice,quiet,romantic place to get away from work,the kids,chores....we never thought such a place will exist until we stayed at terranea. We love the peace,the professionalism,the breathtaking views.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yolcie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Went here with my wife for a fun get-away. The food and atmosphere were top-notch. The rooms very comfortable with a great bed, huge bathroom and comfortable balcony with a view of the pool and Pacific Ocean.

The adult pool was very relaxing - although the new age music a bit annoying at times. The resort is 2 years old and sits where the old Marineland park used to be. They've done an amazing job creating this oasis in Los Angeles. Not many places like this in the world with these views and this great service.

We'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SCfan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

If I was a Los Angeles resident, I would find it mandatory to come here at least once a year. It is a spectacular hotel and full of class and service. When my wife and I checked in, we were given a glass of champagne and a gentlemen took our two children to look at the pool. It's nice to see some personal touches in what seems to be a less and less service oriented world. Honestly I don't have one negative thing to say about my experience at Terranea, it was darn near perfect. Perched on a cliff, the setting is beautiful, the grounds are beautiful. Our room was great and had a balcony that overlooked the Pacific. The pool was wonderful with a waterslide, sand box and fountains that really keep the kids busy. The spa is fantastic. The restaurants are very good. To give you an idea of the kind of service you can expect, one night at dinner we were dining outside and our kids did not bring jackets and were a little cold from the ocean breeze. A hotel employee went and got them spa robes in the middle of our meal. This place is top notch, I will definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denverdeckers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Recently my husband and I stayed at this resort to celebrate my birthday--what a great choice! It is obvious that they have thought of everything from the glass of champagne (or bottle of water) you are handed at the check-in desk, to the beautiful decor, to the amazing spa treatments, landscaping and varied restaurants. The greatest feature is not just the amazing ocean views but their real asset is their staff-so nice and accomodating. We left our child at home but there were children there with their own pool and play area so we could smile at them while we enjoyed our quiet couple time at the adult pool or the spa pool. There are two restaurants at the resort (kids') pool but for quieter dining we went to Nelson's down by the water (casual) and Mar'sels for more formal (the food not some trumped up dress code) meals. I could go on and on. If you are coming for an adult weekend, get a room which does not face the resort pool. Also, you can take advantage of the walking trails or golf. Very relaxing and beautiful.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BCKTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rancho Palos Verdes
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 21 in Huntington Beach
3,601 reviews
Santa Monica
Shutters on the Beach
Shutters on the Beach
#6 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,639 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,916 reviews
Beverly Hills
The Beverly Hills Hotel
The Beverly Hills Hotel
#2 of 15 in Beverly Hills
1,192 reviews
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terranea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terranea Resort

Address: 100 Terranea Way, Rancho Palos Verdes, CA 90275-1013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Rancho Palos Verdes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rancho Palos Verdes
Price Range: $383 - $750 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Terranea Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terranea Resort blends beautifully into an oceanfront promontory on the Palos Verdes Peninsula. Located just 20 miles from Los Angeles International Airport (LAX), the 582-room resort includes guestrooms, suites, bungalows, casitas and villas and a host of world-class amenities with 135,000 square feet of conference and meeting space. This Earth-friendly, picturesque Mediterranean-style resort offers guests spectacular Farm-to-Terranea dining venues, a world-class spa, four oceanfront pools, and a family-friendly nine-hole par-3 golf course with short-game practice facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Prestigia, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Terranea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terranea Hotel Rancho Palos Verdes
Terranea Resort Rancho Palos Verdes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing