We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent customer service, beautiful views!”
Review of Terranea Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Terranea Resort
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Redondo Beach, California
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent customer service, beautiful views!”
Reviewed May 24, 2011

I booked a room for one night for my mother-in-law as a Mother's Day gift. When we checked in, we were all offered champagne, even though my husband and I were not staying there, nice touch! We brought my in-laws to the room and were amazed at how beautiful the room and the view was!! They stayed in an ocean view bungalow that over-looked the spa pool and the ocean. We were able to check-in early and were even granted a late check-out the next day (it pays to go during the low season!). My husband and I live local and enjoy hiking in the area and then heading to Nelson's for a bite to eat. Everyone is very welcoming of our two dogs and even bring out ice water for them during the meal. This is our go-to place for when out of town guests need a place to stay. Keep up the good work Terranea! Thank you for providing my in-laws with a wonderful night stay!!

Room Tip: Go during low season
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gelaben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,262
    595
    256
    131
    124
See reviews for
990
1,115
73
783
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (679)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2011

This is a truly great resort in the most beautiful of locations. Rooms, grounds, service are all excellent, the only slight disapointment was the restaurants (Nelson's excluded), the menu and service at Catalina could be better and for a fine dining restaurant, Mar'sel could be more attentive to their guests although the food very good. Alos be aware of the parking charge which in addition to the resort fee is over the top. That said, this resort has to be one of the best though in one of the most fabulous locations you could wish to be!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2011

Amazing hotel - was able to bring my lab to the resort who was greeted with some treats and her own water and food bowls delivered to the room.

Ran around thier magnificent grounds and loved the water and towels in the lobby when I returned.

Beautiful oceanfront spa with great nibbles to enjoy after my treatment and steam. Overall an amazing stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank courtney_mc_watson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 19, 2011

I cannot say enough good things about this location. The service, the amenities, and the location are all first class. The par 3 Executive course is well maintained and challenging. There are views from every location on the property. There are enough restaurants on the property alone to meet any culinary appetite.

My son and daughter-in-law found this property for their wedding. They could not have done better. The event coordinator from the Terranea became an instrumental part of their planning and she was just the greatest! If relaxation and beautiful views are what you are looking to enjoy, this is the place.

Room Tip: Get a group together and get a casita!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ICasualTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2011

My husband & I had a fantastic and utterly relaxing weekend at the Terranea Resort, mainly soaking up the sun, strolling the pathways along the cliffs in the area, and eating & drinking great food. We never left the resort, though we had intended too - we were very comfortable where we were. Highlights: sitting in the hot tub with mojitos in hand, watching brown pelicans cruising the cliffs. Drawbacks: parking is an extra $30/night and it's unavoidable as there is nowhere else to park. We initially were given a room with a lousy view although it was classified as "oceanview." We called the front desk and the moved us to a better room right away. Service was consistently excellent. There are lots of great food & drink options within the resort.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better, if you want the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjkielpinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 17, 2011

awesome everything, food, room, service, staff, grounds and landscaping over the top, hated to leave

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank charlespaynedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2011

We stayed at the Terranea end of March. We received superior service during our stay. The staff was genuinely friendly and treated us as if we were kings and queens :). The rooms were impeccably clean and they came several times to tidy the room. Food was great and pool area was beautiful and clean.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fourgreys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rancho Palos Verdes
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 21 in Huntington Beach
3,430 reviews
Santa Monica
Shutters on the Beach
Shutters on the Beach
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,595 reviews
Beverly Hills
The Beverly Hills Hotel
The Beverly Hills Hotel
#1 of 15 in Beverly Hills
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,855 reviews
Westside
Hotel Bel-Air
Hotel Bel-Air
#1 of 350 in Los Angeles
705 reviews
Beverly Hills
Viceroy L'Ermitage Beverly Hills
Viceroy L'Ermitage Beverly Hills
#4 of 15 in Beverly Hills
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terranea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terranea Resort

Property: Terranea Resort
Address: 100 Terranea Way, Rancho Palos Verdes, CA 90275-1013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Rancho Palos Verdes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rancho Palos Verdes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Terranea Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terranea Resort blends beautifully into an oceanfront promontory on the Palos Verdes Peninsula. Located just 20 miles from Los Angeles International Airport (LAX), the 582-room resort includes guestrooms, suites, bungalows, casitas and villas and a host of world-class amenities with 135,000 square feet of conference and meeting space. This Earth-friendly, picturesque Mediterranean-style resort offers guests spectacular Farm-to-Terranea dining venues, a world-class spa, four oceanfront pools, and a family-friendly nine-hole par-3 golf course with short-game practice facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Prestigia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Terranea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terranea Hotel Rancho Palos Verdes
Terranea Resort Rancho Palos Verdes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing