We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely resort in idyllic location but watch for the extras”
Review of Terranea Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Terranea Resort
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Brighton, UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lovely resort in idyllic location but watch for the extras”
Reviewed April 17, 2011

We have just come back to England having finished off our 3 week holiday with 2 nights at Terranea. It was just what I was after - a luxury resort.

We had a room that looked out onto a lawned area with a table and chairs (unfortunately I couldn't sit out because I have an irrational fear of daddy long legs or mosquito eaters as the americans call them and there was an infestation of them) near the pool. It was quiet (apart from the noisy air con). Big. Had lovely furniture. The beds were so comfy if maybe a little small. The bathroom was huge and luxurious. Good big bath and strong shower with separate toilet. Safe, coffee stuff and fridge.

The pool was great. The big one was salted and of a good temperature. The 2 hot pools were very hot! The kids loved the slide and the sand pit. The pool staff were enthusiastic. Infact all the staff were very friendly as seems to be the norm in california. You wouldn't get that kind of service in the UK thats for sure!

We ate at main restaurant near the pool which was nice if a little expensive. The coffee shop was great for a reasonably priced and yummy breakfast.

They've thought of everything at this hotel. The grounds are immaculate. Theres complimentary postcard posting. Complimentary boarding card printing. There are nice fires and tables everywhere. You get a glass of bubbly on arrival. Overall I was impressed.

The only downside is the extras. Beware that they charge a $25 resort fee per night. The self parking was $20 which is a joke if you ask me. You can park for free on the road which we discovered too late. Just park up before you get to the carpark attendant bit. Also we got overcharged on the tip from the restaurant but it wasn't a huge amount so I didn't bring it up.

This is the kind of hotel where you need to be prepared to spend lots of money. We got the hotel for 2 nights via expedia for £270/$399 but then 2 x resort fee and 2 x parking added another $90. And the food and drink are expensive. Spa treatments are also on the expensive side. We wanted a buffet breakfast but at $30 each and $10 for the kids we didn't feel $80 was worth it.

Oh and the location was great. 40 mins from LAX and you wouldn't believe you were so close to such a big city. Its so quite and idyllic. We saw dolphins about 10m off the private cove shore and the view out to Catalina is beautiful. Palos Verdes is nice and has alot of restaurants and a good mall. Theres also a very good Ralphs supermarket up the road.

Room Tip: Park for free on the road and save $20 a night
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babymt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,133
    552
    230
    121
    117
See reviews for
909
1,044
69
747
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (663)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
268 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Terranea last weekend, attending a wedding.

1)Resort: The resort is very beautiful. The wedding couple really picked a wonderful location for the wedding. Getting to the hotel from Los Angeles International Airport is not quick. You can take either Sepulveda Blvd (Highway 1) or you can take 405 down to Hawthorne. During the weekend, the drive will easily take you 30-40 minutes.
Make it a point to take a walk down to Nelsons and then walk down the path to the beach. This has to be one of the most peaceful and beautiful walks I've ever had. Stunningly beautiful views of the Pacific Ocean and Catalina Island. I even saw a couple of whales from the beach. The grounds are kept in impeccable condition. Very beautiful.

2) Rooms: If you ask for an 'Ocean View', make sure they give it to you. We technically had an ocean view but the view was partially blocked by a tree. Other than that, the rooms are very elegant. The room and bathroom were decorated very nicely (modern) with the usual amenities. We slept quite well.

3) Food: We dined at the Catalina Café for breakfast and it was good. The Eggs Benedict were well prepared and the coffee was quite strong. The food at the wedding was Ok and the service was outstanding. Overall, this was a very nice wedding.

I would recommend this hotel more for adults. There are kid-oriented activities and the pool is built for both adults and children. If you want a good romantic getaway with your significant other (and you have the means to do so), I would recommend this resort in Los Angeles.

Room Tip: fly in before or way after rush hour
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cameron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2011

This is paradise. You forget that you are in LA. It is so peaceful and quiet. The property is absolutely beautiful. The service was outstanding from the front desk, the bellman and waitresses. Anything that you need you will get. The room was absolutely beautiful we stayed in the bungalow's and they were beautiful.
Will recommend this property to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucky1234_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
261 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2011

Wow! What An Experience. Where to start... I was brought here by my employer as we came together from across our 22 states to celebrate being in the top 3% of Sales and Service in our various departments in AT&T Consumer Markets Division. I won under my department in the West Region, and being a local I didn't need to worry where it was, as I used to come here as a kid way back when it was 'Marineland of The Pacific' Marine Park. As I drove the ten minutes from my home in Redondo Beach to the Resort (This was the ultimate 'Stay-cation'), memories of Marineland Park just filled my head. They kept the grounds mostly intact and the walkways and trees were quite recognizable. I found out the Coastal Commission wouldn't allow the new owners to tear up the natural surroundings and they built the hotel under strict conditions. The Main building where I stayed in was where the old Killer Whale Stadium used to stand. I was impressed as I checked into my 2 Double Bedded Room (#6222) with the impressive views of 'Portuguese Bend' and Catalina in the distance (Just as I remembered when it was Marineland). I might be 44 now, but man those memories in the late 70's were hot. Anyone remember 'Hanna-Barbera's Marineland'? - those were the best times of my youth growing up in the So. Bay - The next three days were just relaxing and memorable - many company sponsored events kept us busy and the Gala Dinner in the Main Ballroom was simply awesome. Met so many fellow employees and bosses from Dallas and Atlanta, I had very little time for myself. On Sunday I was able to get a late checkout just to hang out with my brother, as we're from the area we didn't have to go 'home' like all the other employees and managers. We enjoyed the hike to Pt. Vicente Lighthouse and turned back to enjoy a nice lunch at Nelson's on the cliff . Man, my company paid for everything and it must have been a pretty penny. The AAA rates are $350 a night for our room. Thanks again to the staff for their kindness and professionalism and I'm definitely coming back (at least to the restaurants like Catalina Grill and Nelson's) The Hiking trails are open to the general public. I'll be back. JG 'Bear'

Room Tip: Request the 6th or 7th floor in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goriajk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend Oregon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2011

Checked in April 2nd, will check out on the 5th. So far this hotel falls well, well short of a 5 star rating. A short list of my complaints...

1.) Rented a 2BR Casita, the fully equiped kitchen came with no plates or bowls
2.) Spa reservations were moved by 2 hours by the spa
3.) At Nelsons, there was a hite powdery substance (cocaine?) all over the toilet paper holder.. but there was no toilet paper!
4.) Every part of the hotel was quick to say we are closed... its 9:55 right now and a couple jst came in for a drink... common theme.. "sorry we are closed"
5.) Concierge was not particualry helpful, I asked for help on Six Flags and was told, you can get a better deal by using the busines center and booking yourself
6.) All the business center computers were down...
7.) Ordered room service for the kids, al food was cold and frankly awful (chicken sliders and beef sliders)


I wouldnt stay here again, for these prices stay elsewhere! On a positive note, the views are stunning.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Donjo_ms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerraneaGuestRel, Manager at Terranea Resort, responded to this review, April 5, 2011
We are sorry to hear that you stay has has not be up to par! We hold ourselves to highest standard of excellence and these issues are not acceptable. I have sent your feedback to our Operations and Guest Relations to help resolve. Thank you so much for informing us. It is with your feedback that we are able to improve on ourselves and to make sure this doesn't happen in the future. We attempted to contact you while you were still on property, but could not reach you. Pleave contact us directly as it is very important that we resolve this matter. You mail e-mail us directly at terraneasocial@destinationhotels.com. Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2011

I don't think there are words to describe the excellent experience at this hotel! Everything about this place was beyond amazing! The rooms are spectacular, the view is breathtaking, the service is unbeatable and the beds are more comfortable than my own!

Worth the stay!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmsCubed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2011

We just had our daughter's destination wedding at Terrenea and it was flawless. The setting is breathtaking,the accomodations first rate. Working with the Terrenea catering department went smoothly and the staff couldn't do enough for us. The food and service at the cocktail hour, reception, and next morning brunch was excellent and well presented. Our guests raved about the resort, its amenities,activities,beauty and serenity. We highly recommend Terrenea as a luxury vacation resort and a venue for special occasions.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aquajade31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rancho Palos Verdes
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 22 in Huntington Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,217 reviews
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,749 reviews
Santa Monica
Shutters on the Beach
Shutters on the Beach
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westside
Hotel Bel-Air
Hotel Bel-Air
#1 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Beverly Hills
The Beverly Hills Hotel
The Beverly Hills Hotel
#1 of 15 in Beverly Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
#1 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terranea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terranea Resort

Property: Terranea Resort
Address: 100 Terranea Way, Rancho Palos Verdes, CA 90275-1013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Rancho Palos Verdes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rancho Palos Verdes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Terranea Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terranea Resort blends beautifully into an oceanfront promontory on the Palos Verdes Peninsula. Located just 20 miles from Los Angeles International Airport (LAX), the 582-room resort includes guestrooms, suites, bungalows, casitas and villas and a host of world-class amenities with 135,000 square feet of conference and meeting space. This Earth-friendly, picturesque Mediterranean-style resort offers guests spectacular Farm-to-Terranea dining venues, a world-class spa, four oceanfront pools, and a family-friendly nine-hole par-3 golf course with short-game practice facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Terranea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terranea Hotel Rancho Palos Verdes
Terranea Resort Rancho Palos Verdes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing