We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing weekend...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Rancho Mirage
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We recently spent (3) nights at the Westin Resort in a resort suite. We are a family of (5) and with a rollaway, the room was just great. The furniture and carpet could have been more clean but the oversized bathroom with a bath and separate shower and separate toilet were very nice. The resort pool slide was not operational, but we were just as close to the villas pool which had an even better slide. We never had to fight for chairs, even though it was a sold out weekend. The servers from the poolside restaurant were very friendly and accommodating. I need to also mention Karen at the front desk. She is so nice and seems to really enjoy providing a terrific guest experience. She really went above and beyond to ensure we received the suite upgrade. She also made sure my wife received a nice fruit and snack basket for her birthday. We will definitely go back!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMissionHills, Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Dear Dean C,
Thank you for your recent review, we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. We are thrilled to hear you and your family had a terrific time during your stay in our resort. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our fantastic rooms and the heavenly experience. We are happy to hear you were able to enjoy the slide as well; the good news is that our slide will be working very soon! We are glad you had a great time and that you and your family were very pleased with the wonderful service from all our associates. We definitely look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Be well,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,581)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

950 - 956 of 2,581 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2014

I want to like this place, but they make it hard. On the plus side, the property is beautiful and the grounds are immaculate. The rooms are large, the staff is great and the restaurants are good.

A note of caution - there are no elevators in the buildings. You'll need to drag your bags if you're on the second floor

On the downside, cellphone reception for AT&T is horrible (non-existent in many places), the Internet speed makes dial up look fast, the maintenance of the rooms is spotty (plumbing leaks, non-working electrical outlets, dead light bulbs). Really unacceptable for a $300/nite rate).

If they choose to fix the connectivity problems this place will be a solid choice.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank NumbersAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMissionHills, Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear NumbersAtlanta,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us and we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you encountered regarding cell phone reception and internet speed during your stay. We understand your frustrations and are currently reviewing our options for additional cell towers for better coverage and Wi-Fi speed. Our maintenance department is also addressing the issues you found in the guestroom and will make the necessary improvements moving forward. On the other hand, we are thrilled to hear you loved our beautiful property and our immaculate grounds. Also we are pleased to know our associates are doing a great job and that you enjoyed our renovated, Italian inspired restaurant as well. Again, we apologize for the inconvenience and we hope you have the opportunity to join us again soon!
Be well,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Business meeting...excellent meeting setting in the desert. Spread out, lots of walking. Rooms adequate, although we stayed on the first floor, and heard upstairs room creaking around, otherwise extremely quiet. Restaurant, adult beverages outside...perfect

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Calif_wino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMissionHills, Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear Calif_wino,
Thank you for your recent review. We are pleased to hear you had a fabulous time during your stay in our resort. We are thrilled to know you enjoyed our spread grounds, our lovely restaurant and our refreshing cocktails by our pool! We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Be well,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

The housekeeping staff, Alejandra Hernandez, was amazing and so helpful. She helped make our stay special because of her extra attention to detail. And the view from our room was amazing. Thank you Marjorie Gaitan

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarjirG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMissionHills, Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear MarjirG,
Thank you for your recent review, we appreciate the time you took to share your lovely feedback with us. We are extremely pleased to hear that our associate Alejandra Hernandez from housekeeping went above and beyond for you and was able to surpass your expectations. We will be more than happy to share your lovely comments with her as she will be thrilled to hear she caused a positive and memorable impact on your stay. We hope you join us again!
Be well,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Just stayed at this resort for a business conference. The conference facilities are excellent and the resort rooms are very spacious. There is no central hotel and no elevators, so the rooms and the resort are generally quiet. The conference services and facilities were excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomSwain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMissionHills, Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear TomSwain,
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We are happy to hear you had a great time during your business conference in our resort. We are delighted to know our conference facilities were accommodating, and excellent for your conference as well as our guest rooms! Should your travels bring you back to the desert, it would be our pleasure to have you as a guest again.
Be well,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

This is a great conference hotel. You really need to rent a car if you want to explore the area, since nothing outside the resort is within easy walking distance. However, you can walk around the beautiful grounds. The food was good but somewhat expensive compared to local restaurants. The room was large and the beds incredibly comfortable.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMissionHills, Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear Mary M,
Thank you for your recent review. We are pleased to know you had a magnificent time during your stay with us. You are correct, you would probably need a car to explore our valley but mostly everything is at 10-15 minute distance from our property. We are thrilled to hear you decided to walk around our lovely grounds and enjoy our exquisite food from our renovated Italian inspired restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back again!
Be well,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

If you are planning on staying at this hotel, you should know that the description of the resort view from the Westin site is vastly different from what you actually get. The Westin website says about its rooms: “Each has its own private patio or balcony that invites relaxation and enhances the time guests spend gazing at the resort’s views.” I’ve uploaded photos of those patios with their view of cinder block like walls. We had booked a suite but the room was had one of these “views” and opted to pay less for a standard room that had a view overlooking the golf course.

At tip for when you check in. Forget about their recommendation to talk to their “service representative” about the hotel. They will try to set you up for a timeshare presentation.

A tip about the rooms. Aside from the fact that a large number of rooms have rear-resort facing views or rooms with views of cinder block walls, the resort has no elevators for second floor access. We do however, prefer the rooms on the second floor and prefer the rooms closer to the golf course for their views.

The rooms do not have screens. At the time we were there, the flies were out in force. If you leave your balcony door open, be prepared to have flies in your room during the balance of your stay. The flies were a problem by the pool as well. It might be useful to have bug repellant.

During our stay at the hotel it was obvious that most guests were there for conventions. Service at the Fireside Lounge for lunch was non-existent. After sitting for about 30 minutes without service, we got our own menus. Eventually we ordered lunch. The food was just OK. Housekeeping was only so-so. One day they forgot to give us replacement water bottles. The second day they forgot to give us replacement toiletries. The third day they took all our towels and forgot to leave any behind.

Finally, the bed was old and lumpy. The room air worked poorly. It seems like they have motion detectors for the air that only go off if it senses movement and when the room gets warm and wake up (move) it kicks back on.

The breakfast buffet was adequate but expensive. The rolls and breads were rather tasteless.

Overall, we were underwhelmed by the hotel and would not return.

Room Tip: Rooms closest to golf course on the second floor are what we would say are the better rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMissionHills, Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear S T,
We are very disappointed to hear about your recent underwhelming stay with us and sincerely apologize for failing to deliver the experience that you deserve. Your feedback is important to us and the unfortunate levels of service you experienced from our Lounge and Housekeeping will be shared as a coaching opportunity to prevent this from occurring in the future. Your additional concerns are all being addressed as we are in the process of reviewing them and we thank you for sharing. Our goal is to exceed every guests expectations and we truly regret that we failed to provide you with that level of service. Again, we apologize for your underwhelming experience and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Be well,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rancho Mirage
0.4 mi away
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
#1 of 8 in Rancho Mirage
974 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
1.2 mi away
Agua Caliente Casino Resort Spa
Agua Caliente Casino Resort Spa
#6 of 8 in Rancho Mirage
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
4.5 mi away
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
7.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa

Address: 71333 Dinah Shore Dr, Rancho Mirage, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92270-1501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Rancho Mirage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#3 Business Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#3 Family Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rancho Mirage
Price Range: $191 - $499 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 512
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa is a Palm Springs resort and hotel where the picturesque mountain views and secluded location create the perfect escape. Our Palm Springs hotel is the perfect place to unwind. Enjoy the best Palm Springs Golf on one of our championship courses, lounge at any of our three pools, splash down our 75-foot waterslide or enjoy a delectable meal at one of our Palm Springs restaurant options, including the on-site restaurant Pinzimini. A soothing sanctuary awaits those looking for a rejuvenating desert retreat with our expansive Palm Springs resort spa featuring treatments for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Mission Hills Resort And Spa
Westin Mission Hills Hotel Rancho Mirage
Westin Rancho Mirage
Palm Springs Westin
Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa Rancho Mirage, CA - California Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing