We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Underwhelmed...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Rancho Mirage
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 28, 2013

While the grounds are beautiful, the specific room we had was dirty and uncomfortable. There were stains on the carpet and sofa and there wasn't a door to the bathroom area. Overall the experience was mediocre at best and wasn't worth the money spent.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bbb1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMissionHills, Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear Bbb1202,

Thank you for taking the time out to post your review, your comments are very important to us. We appreciate your compliments on our grounds, but we find the comments pertaining to your room quite concerning. We give our sincerest apology for falling below your expectation, as we continuously strive to provide our guest with a relaxing and renewing experience. We encourage your return, so that we can provide you with a stay that will be sure to exceed your last. Hope to see you soon.

Be Well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,543)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,391 - 1,397 of 2,543 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our February visit to Rancho Mirage and were very treated to a truly extraordinary stay by Westin staff. No stone was left unturned - champagne and strawberries in the room for our 25th anniversary, beautiful clean room, fantastic grounds. The staff at Pinzimini were also fantastic... especially waiter Luis R at Pinzimini who always did a superb job and was requested by name by ourselves and numerous other restaurant patrons - Thanks Luis and all Westin staff. Perfect visit - Westin style.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMissionHills, Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear JP_Rev628,

Thank you and we appreciate your feedback. It is with pleasure to hear that you had a renewing stay at our resort. We strive to provide our guest with a relaxing and renewing experience. We are also, happy to learn that our associates where very attentive to your needs as customer service is what we pride ourselves on. We are looking forward to having you back and hope to see you soon.

Be Well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

The staff at Westin went above and beyond to make sure my birthday was a success! Alex sent wine and a gift basket to my room and their customer service was super. I will bring my family back to the Westin Villas next time. Very family friendly with slides in the pool, Westin Kids Club and much more.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1234traveler356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMissionHills, Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear 1234traveler356,

Thank you and we appreciate your feedback. We so excited to hear that you had a renewing visit at our resort. We strive to provide our guest with a relaxing and revitalizing that they deserve. Thank you for choosing us and we look forward to welcoming you back. Hope to see you soon.

Be Well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Had a 2 night stay here over Christmas....as expected it was a very busy weekend in Palm Springs. No upgrades were available for Platinum members due to the hotel being mostly full so that was kind of disappointing but not the hotels fault.

There is ample parking through out the resort which is spread out pretty wide. Was given a room on the ground floor in front of the golf course, which I think every room has a view of. The room was nice though felt a tad bit dated. There is a large balcony over looking the course though very little privacy since there is a walking path right in front of the balcony and it does get used a lot by folks staying at the hotel as well as the time share property next door.

Beds were typical Westin beds and comfy, the bathroom fairly large. The pool seemed nice but was quite crowded over the holidays and was filled with kids. I had chosen breakfast as my platinum amenity and had breakfast both days in the restaurant. One day going a la carte and the other day trying the buffet. On both days, service was good and the food very good as well.

The biggest annoyance with this hotel of course is the resort fee. $27 per day for internet, parking etc...$22 if you are a platinum member. Internet is complimentary anyways if you are a platinum member, there is no shortage of parking. Basically means I am paying $22 for parking in the middle of the desert per day. The resort fees always leave a bad taste in my mouth once the stay is done and I generally prefer to avoid any property that has this fee. Include it in the room rate instead but slapping it on after the fact is just shady.

In the end it was a nice stay, but Palm Springs does offer a ton of options, and quite a few of them without resort fees. Especially when all you get for your $22 is a self parking spot.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandyjb83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMissionHills, Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear sandyjb83,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are happy to know that you had a refreshing stay at our resort during the holiday season. Typically we attract more guest during these times, and we strive to fulfill all our guests individual needs. We are glad to know that we did not fall short of meeting your needs. We look forward to seeing you soon and creating the same experience on your next stay.

Be Well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have been going here for about 5 years. The grounds are beautiful and the pools are great between the villas and hotel there are 2 huge pools with big rock slides & volle ball the villa has basketball too, 1 adult only pool and 2 other smaller ones & 5 hot tubs. Our maid came by each night to see if we would like fresh towels or chocolate. Loved her! We bring scooters for the kids as the walks to the pool and main buildings are long and it gets hot in Palm Springs area! Last time we went with our family of 2 adults and 2 kids and 5 other families!! It was a great time! food is a bit pricey and drinks as well but if you get a villa they have full kitchens (no oven) and barbecues as well so you can cook and BYOB too. The golf courses are georgous and they have a playgound and tennis courts too.

Room Tip: building 40 for the vilas
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vacation4me2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMissionHills, Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Dear vacation4me2013,

Thank you and truly appreciate your feedback. We are so happy to hear that you and your family had great time at our resort. It is with delight to know that you were able enjoy our various pools around the property and that you are a loyal guest to our property. We look forward to having you back next year and creating the same experience that you are used to. See you all next year!

Be Well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

After a brief review of this site reviews, decided to give WMHR a try with my wife and 11 year old during mid/late December. We were placed in Building # 15 with a ground floor resort room. Nothing special, but some "issues" needed immediate attending. We experienced an ant infestation in both the room and bathroom areas. This matter was dealt with immediately by housekeeping. However, the front office remained oblivious to the situation even after reporting the matter on the 2nd night. The hotel was in the midst of upgrading the TV cable systems, so only 1/2 the Tv channels advertised were available and no HD channels until the room was re-wired about half way thru our 10 night stay. Eventually it was upgraded and a small credit was issued to our account to compensate. The food was acceptable though a little pricy. The resort facilities such as the games room needs some attention. An example is the billard table had no functioning pool ques ( no tips) The pool "bridge" had gone missing. The leather webbed pocket had a large hole develop which allowed the pocketed balls to come crashing onto the floor resulting in serios damage to the balls. I made the pocket repair myself with some string - after reporting the matter to the duty manager. The pool ques were repaired after 2 reminders to the duty manager. IMO management had been innundated with complaints and little was done to improve the situation until the peak Xmas guests arrived the day before the Xmas rush, to occupy the hotel. Golf courses were in fine shape which we enjoyed on a daily basis. There is no rate for jouior golfers unless you choose the twighlight option, which will not allow for a complete round to be finished before dusk. We went offsite for some golf not by choice... but $ 150.00 greenfee for an 11 year old is a bit excessive. We were staying during a low occupancy period for most of our vacation and the P/D course was less than 50 % booked. Think this pricing policy deserves some review. On the positive side, F/O management tried their best to resolve issues reported, but seems to be some disconnect between the CSR's and getting complete satisfaction. Its a nice resort. The investment is huge to build such a property - so as a business person - found it difficult to accept assets being abused from lack of management's determination to offer guests less than 100% satisfaction to maintenence issues. Three stars at best for this experience.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZhongGuoTong53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMissionHills, Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Dear ZhongGuoTong53,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are sincerely apologetic for any inconvenience that you may have faced during your stay with us. We strive to provide our guest with a relaxing and renewing experience and it seems as if we fell below our expectation. We will be sure to share your comments with our management team as this allows us to offer the best possible customer service. We anticipate your return, so that we can create an experience that will be sure to surpass your last. Hope to see you soon.

Be Well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We purchased our stay through a package as SPG (hotel reward program) members. It was a wonderful value! The property is sprawling, and we did pull in first to the 'hotel' entrance, rather than the 'villa' entrance. Somewhat of a confusing start, but both entrances were beautifully maintained and staff was helpful in directing us to the proper check-in.
I had a call prior to our arrival, verifying our check-in time. We appreciated the personal service; however, our contact was busy upon our arrival and we were tired from travel, so we retired to our room. I had requested accommodation far from any possible construction, and the request was honored (exterior painting was being done). At check-in, I requested second level accommodations, but was told there was nothing available. It ended up that sound from the guests above was not a problem; we heard them once, but it was middle of the afternoon and we were not inconvenienced.
The room had a small washer/dryer, fridge, coffee pot, and dishwasher, as well as a pullout sofa with sheets in the closet. Because there is only one window over the sink, there is not much light in the room, but some may appreciate that in the sunny climate. I enjoy a lot of natural light, and the lower-level room did not have this. The patio was pleasant and we had mallard ducks visit each morning. The plantings were pretty and our view looked out on the golf cart path and beyond to the well-maintained golf course. We appreciated the golf cart shuttle service around the property.
Although we had been told that the hotel was at 99% capacity, we never felt that any area was crowded, nor did we wait at restaurants. There seemed to be more employees around us than guests. After a very windy day, there were even employees sweeping leaves out of the parking lot; the exterior of the property was immaculate. The pool had enough action to not feel deserted, and the restaurants had an active but not busy vibe. The pool could use a fresh supply of towels; they were quite worn and faded. But the pools had water slides and ample seating, and attentive service. The kiddie pool is a great option, as well as the adults-only pool.
We ate at Season's Grille three times. We were pleasantly surprised at the menu, offering a section of gluten-free foods, but we especially enjoyed the Super Foods options! Kudos to Westin! The servers we had were all wonderful, especially Theresa; she went above and beyond with her suggestions and service. There was another server who would jump in and help anyone anywhere; even though we didn't have her at our table, we admired her level of service. Not sure of her name, but she was pregnant and had such a friendly attitude. We really enjoyed this restaurant, and the Westin property in general.

Room Tip: Rooms on the lower level do not have much natural light. Rooms facing the golf course provide beaut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMissionHills, Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Dear J B,

Thank you for posting your review. We are delighted to know that you had an enjoyable experience while visiting our resort. We are also, very glad that you were able to witness the unparalleled service that we strive to provide all guest. We strive to provide our guest with a renewing and relaxing experience and it seems as if we did just that. We hope to see you soon and creating the same experience on your next stay.

Be Well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rancho Mirage
0.5 mi away
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
#1 of 8 in Rancho Mirage
943 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
4.2 mi away
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
7.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa
3.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Rancho Mirage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa

Address: 71333 Dinah Shore Dr, Rancho Mirage, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92270-1501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Rancho Mirage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#3 Spa Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#3 Family Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rancho Mirage
Price Range: $180 - $397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 512
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa is a Palm Springs resort and hotel where the picturesque mountain views and secluded location create the perfect escape. Our Palm Springs hotel is the perfect place to unwind. Enjoy the best Palm Springs Golf on one of our championship courses, lounge at any of our three pools, splash down our 75-foot waterslide or enjoy a delectable meal at one of our Palm Springs restaurant options, including the on-site restaurant Pinzimini. A soothing sanctuary awaits those looking for a rejuvenating desert retreat with our expansive Palm Springs resort spa featuring treatments for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Mission Hills Hotel Rancho Mirage
Westin Mission Hills Resort And Spa
Westin Rancho Mirage
Palm Springs Westin
Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa Rancho Mirage, CA - California Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing