We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large, Clean Room - Parking a problem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Rancho Mirage
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2008

We arrived early and were able to check-in with no line, no waiting. They had upgraded us to golf-course view room, which was beautiful. The terrace was a wonderful place to unwind and enjoy the view. We were visiting the first week in Feb and there was not overcrowding to enjoy the pools. Plenty of chairs and staff came around to take orders for food & drinks. Parking was an issue - seems the ballrooms had events with valet parking. They blocked off many spots that would usually be used by hotel guests which meant shortage in spots for the guests! Overall a nice stay.

Stayed: February 2008
1  Thank 10OutAndAbout10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,581)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,286 - 2,292 of 2,581 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2008

I had to travel to Palm Springs on business so as I usually do I booked a hotel in the Starwood line. I have stayed at this hotel probably 6 different times and here are my thoughts:

POSITIVES:

1. Room size: The rooms at the Westin Rancho Mirage are HUGE. The room was nicely apponted. It had two queen beds, a small desk, a plasma TV, and a sitting area with a chair. The bathroom was also very large with heated tile floors, double sinks, and a shower-tub with decent water pressure and the "hevenly shower head" which has two seperate shower heads.

2. Pool: The pool at this resort is amazing. There are actually several pools spaced throughout the resort but the main pool is awesome. The are also several jacuzzis including one in a grotto area with a waterfall. For the kids they have an incrediblee water slide. All of the pools (especially the kids pool) were heated to 85 degrees or higher.

3. View: My room was right on the golf course and had great views of the green course and the beautiful mountains beyond.

4. Bed: As always with Westin, the "Hevenly" bed is well . . . heavenly. I always get a good night sleep in the beds at the Westin hotels.

5. Price: I paid $159 through SPG.com, and I think that the hotel is certainly woth that price. And a MAJOR plus is that Parking is included.

NEUTRALS:

1. Lobby: Very plain, with two timeshare desks that are always trying to hoc people to come to their presentations. The bar is also smal and not a lot of places to sit and drink.

2. Service: The front desk person was friendly but no one ever really went out of their way.

NEGATIVES:

1. The layout of the hotel. This place is huge and the rooms are in little 2-stroy hotelettes all over the property. Therefore, after you check in you often have to drive to you room which can be very far away from the main restuarant, bar and pool area. I dislike having to walk a far distance to get to the pool. Also the room numbering is very confusing, with odd numbers on top floor and even numbers on the bottom, but in less someone tells you that you wander around for 15 minutes trying to find your room.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank thekld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2008

This hotel is beautiful with comfy rooms. Stayed for a weekend in January 2008. Everything was clean in our room. We had an excellent group rate. One of our group members has some problems with their room - broken shower head and chair, but overall this is a very nice place.

One thing - if you are travelling with a group - make sure to ask to be placed in all one building. There are many buildings and our group was widely spread through the buildings.

1  Thank hotel7231122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2008

Arrived tired and looking forward to a relaxing evening to chill, eat and drink! Hotel looked okay from outside, very large, covers a large area with the villa complex next door. We checked in only to have the receptionist apologise there was only one restaurant on site, she looked at my little girl at the time. The room was adequate but disappointing for a 4 star hotel, quite basic (no overhead lights, have to enter room in the dark and locate lamps). Found the restaurant (quite a trek) only to find minimal veggie options and no kids menu, was redirected to villa complex restaurant only to find the access gate locked (card would not allow us in) returned to room tired and cross and went to bed! Next day we could see that whilst the hotel was okay appearance wise there was so much of it empty (vacant areas eg blocks of buildings and rooms) there were poor facilities both at the hotel and in the surrounding areas. The only plus point was the pool, clean but cold.

I would grade this hotel as a 3 star and not a 4/5. Luxury it isn't, large and pleasant looking but lacking facilities, customer care and luxury.

4 out of 10.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank JoanneLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2008

Our first disappointment was on check-in when the receptionist added almost as a parting comment that US$20 would be added to our bill daily as a resort fee. When pressed she advised that this was “to cover parking, newspapers, internet access, teas and coffees”. These things usually come included.
Our room was dark and dreary and the bath was very basic. When we complained we were told some of the rooms are due for renovation. I expressed dissatisfaction at having been allocated a room due for renovation and they agreed to move us.
The second room was furnished identically to the first and the bath the same 12” deep disappointment, but the room was lighter and looked onto a waterfall and the golf course, so we opted to accept it.
The Lobby lounge was again drab and half the light bulbs over the bar were not illuminated, appearing to have blown and not been replaced. There was an air of despondency.
There was no room service menu. This was quickly resolved by the room service manager, but it became apparent as the vacation went on that there was actually NO information in the room – nothing about the golf courses – we had to call for information; nothing about the spa – we had to go there to find out what was available and to book; nothing about anything essentially – most unusual and very unhelpful.
On the last day we learned that the hotel offered suggested running routes. As we had been running on the Sunday and the Tuesday and this was Wednesday, it was irritating to learn this now.
We went to the business centre only to discover that internet access is not included in the $20 – it’s $6.75 per 30 mins. We declined.
We had an enjoyable vacation - a nice round of golf, two half days sat by the Las Hadas pool, some shopping, four excellent meals outside of the hotel at the River and on El Paseo. However other than the pool time, the hotel was just somewhere to sleep and a Travelodge or Best Western would have been better value, even allowing for getting the $20 daily fee waived.
Essentially, while the bed was thankfully up to the usual Westin standard, the room overall and particularly the bath was far from “heavenly". The hotel generally seemed to have had better days. We no longer have the confidence we previously had in booking or recommending a Westin.
It does seem the hotel management are complacent and failing to recognise their property is no longer up to scratch. I've taken this up with Starwood. They promised a voucher "next week" a month ago. Hmmm.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank NomoreaWestinlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2008

I booked a stay with my wife and two children (ages 6,4) for the last four nights of the year. My thinking was polluted by the Westin brand -- traditionally nice hotels, with great beds, solid facilities and better than average service. But all that (save the beds) were missing from the Mission Hills property. We stayed in the Presidential Suite for the first three nights (Building 15) and then moved to a basic room (Building 6) for the last night.

Some nuggets from the trip:
1) toilet completely overflowed the first time it was flushed, sending water everywhere
2) shower leaked, spraying water to the ceiling
3) towel rack at rear of bath tub was hanging by a thread (yet housekeeping insisted on putting four towels there each day
4) dirty bathrobe on a chair to greet us when we walked in the first time

In addtion, the hotel service was indifferent -- they ran out of coffee most mornings, when they did manage to make it, it was often lukewarm. The restaurant was grossly overpriced ($28 for an italtian buffet, that looked like it had been sitting there since June!!) Poolside service was almost nonexistent.

On the positive side, the pools were nice and the landscaping was quite pleasing to the eye.

I got a good deal on the rooms, so perhaps I should have been a little more realistic. But upgrade or no upgrade ( I was told one will begin in May 2008), I would stay clear of this property for a while -- there are just too many other good properties in the Palm Desert areas to waste your time at this medicore one.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank dodgers24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2007

Our disappointment started at check-in. We had requested and reserved a larger room, as we had our bikes with us and needed the extra space to store them. The room we were given was extremely small, and the furniture was filthy dirty and damaged. The view we were promised was non-existent. Our room looked at a wall. The drawers in the dresser did not close properly. The bathroom was extremely small as well. We called the front desk immediately and were moved to another building/room, which was much larger (the size we had originally requested) so now we had room for our bikes. The bathroom was much larger in this room (with his/her sinks). But the shelf above the tub/shower was broken, like someone had tried to use it to pull himself or herself up out of the tub. The furniture wasn't much better in this room. The drawers in the dresser were broken in this room, too. But at least the furniture was cleaner. The cleaning staff's workroom was right outside our room, and there were always rollaway beds stored right outside our front door. On the 2nd day we finally asked them to put the beds somewhere else, because we were sick and tired of looking at them on a daily basis. They were also banging the walls with the beds at all hours. Very annoying. Because the property is so large, bell staff offers you a ride to and from various areas on the grounds in golf carts. At check-in the staff tell you to call whenever you need a ride somewhere. However, when we called to get a ride over to the restaurant, we stood outside in the cold for 15 minutes waiting for someone to come and get us. We called again…. they never arrived. We ended up walking over to the restaurant in the cold. We stopped at the Lobby Lounge for a drink prior to dinner. It was dirty, as well. Old food and dishes lying around on tables. It appears that they are short staffed. After our drink we headed over to the Restaurant Bella Vista. The dress code called for "Casual Sophistication". It was anything but. Looked like most people eating there had just finished working out at the gym, wearing sweat pants and t-shirts. On top of which the chairs/booths were dirty with old dried food and who knows what else. Gross. For this they are charging $40 for a steak?!?! We chose this location to vacation, thinking that we might purchase a timeshare…. But after seeing and experiencing all of this, we declined the offer. The only thing this resort has going for it is their golf course and grounds, which are beautiful. The rooms and the property are in dire need of a facelift. The hotel staff needs to realize that they have guests on the property, as well. Upon checkout we were reimbursed the $20 a day resort fee (a total of $60) as an apology for our bad experience, which we gladly accepted. However, the next time we visit the desert we will be returning to the La Quinta Resort & Spa or the Hyatt Grand Champions. Our stay at the Westin was very disappointing and not what we expected.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jbpb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rancho Mirage
0.4 mi away
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
#1 of 8 in Rancho Mirage
973 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
1.2 mi away
Agua Caliente Casino Resort Spa
Agua Caliente Casino Resort Spa
#6 of 8 in Rancho Mirage
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
4.5 mi away
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
7.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa

Address: 71333 Dinah Shore Dr, Rancho Mirage, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92270-1501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Rancho Mirage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#3 Family Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#3 Spa Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rancho Mirage
Price Range: $188 - $494 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 512
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa is a Palm Springs resort and hotel where the picturesque mountain views and secluded location create the perfect escape. Our Palm Springs hotel is the perfect place to unwind. Enjoy the best Palm Springs Golf on one of our championship courses, lounge at any of our three pools, splash down our 75-foot waterslide or enjoy a delectable meal at one of our Palm Springs restaurant options, including the on-site restaurant Pinzimini. A soothing sanctuary awaits those looking for a rejuvenating desert retreat with our expansive Palm Springs resort spa featuring treatments for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Mission Hills Resort And Spa
Westin Mission Hills Hotel Rancho Mirage
Westin Rancho Mirage
Palm Springs Westin
Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa Rancho Mirage, CA - California Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing