We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“David at the Pool was GREAT”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Rancho Mirage
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We stayed at the resort for a two night weekend getaway. We really enjoyed the Pool. David was our server both days and he treated us like kings. He really went above and beyond. He remembered our names and drinks we liked. We could'nt ask for better service. The slide was super fun. Our room was clean and big. The beds are so comfy! We love the bathroom set up. Perfect for getting ready. Cant wait to come back soon!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michelelee14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMissionHills, Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2011

Dear Michelelee14,

Thank you for your review. We are thrilled you enjoyed all our amenities. Please do come see us again soon. We will gladly inform David, and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Be well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,581)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,881 - 1,887 of 2,581 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2011

Stayed here for 5 days for a business meeting in mid-October. The setting and property are gorgeous. Rooms are very spacious, better than a typical Westin property. Of course, the Westin Heavenly beds were extremely comfortable as always. The property is very spread out but you can get golf cart transportation throughout. The service was excellent across the board, from check-in to wait staff to housekeeping to valet. Had a very nice afternoon in the spa with lots of availability and options. Absolutely fabulous service from the golf pro shop, and a very playable and fun golf course on property. The only gripe would be limited dining and evening entertainment options on property, exacerbated by a relative remoteness of the property.

Room Tip: Property is very spread out, so make sure to ask for something closer to the center of the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SSR_37_IN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMissionHills, Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2011

Dear Karl_d_rss,

Thank you for your kind review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you in the near future! I've shared your comments with our food and beverage team and appreciate all your feedback. Have a lovely day, and be well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

You never know what you're going to get at a resort spa but I must say this was one of the BEST massages I've had (and I frequent spas!) Ask for Lisa! (Although, a friend had another masseuse and was equally pleased.) Terrific spa, all of the staff was outstanding - and the amenities are quite nice.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nmbindc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMissionHills, Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2011

Dear Nmbindc,

Thank you for you recent review! We are so pleased you enjoyed your spa time with us.
We will share your comments with Lisa and The Spa team and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Have a lovely day!

Be well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

Property is enoromous, they'll pick you up by a simple phone call in a golf cart. Absolutely gorgeous property, scenic mountain views surrounding entire property, including a golf course, 3 pools, waterfalls, various citrus trees, ponds. The food was excellent. Outside eating, breakfast was included everyday of our stay. A luxurious spa awaits you. The guest service was fantastic, will accomadate and guide you as to what events are around. Great location, 1/2 mile to Casino with top performers. Can't say enough. Will definetely be back. Thank you

Room Tip: Rooms on second floor more seclude, although no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redhotpeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMissionHills, Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2011

Dear Redhotpeg,

Thank you for your review! So happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Please feel free to contact us directly should you need any assistance with booking your next getaway! Have a lovely day, and be well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

Got a great deal on hotwire.com for a standard king-bed room and when we arrived at the hotel, we were able to upgrade to a 1-bedroom 'resort suite' for just $50 more per night -- a great deal. I could go on and on about the great service at this resort: from Cora (one of the concierges) who helped us plan our first full day there (Thanks, Cora. You were 'right on') to the front desk clerk who responded to my request for a place at the resort to get some bottled water by having room service send over 2 bottles of imported water gratis plus informing housekeeping to leave a few extra bottles of 'complimentary water' every day in our room. Everywhere we went people were kind and accommodating and not in the robotic way the employees at the supermarket stop you in the aisle and ask if you need help finding something. It's clear that the people who work at this Westin like being helpful. The desert setting of the resort is astonishing beautiful (I would imagine it would be even more so for someone who hasn't been to the desert before). In addition to the nearby mountains that tower over you, the resort runs alongside of a golf course which is not separated by any fences so the expanse of this lush green along with blue water and sand-colored traps against the mountain setting is truly beautiful. Where the resort fell short was in the quality of the room and the way it was maintained.

The star-rating system for hotels does NOT rate how luxurious a hotel is: It is a simple measure of the number of amenities and services that the hotel provides. Using this definition, there is no question that the Westin is 4-star as it offers golf, 5 swimming areas (including a 60-foot and 90-foot slide), Jacuzzi's (spa tubs), a spa offering massages, fine dining, bars, etc, etc. In general, public areas and rooms in 4-star hotels tend to be luxurious but they don't have to be in order to get the rating and, in the case of the Westin, I'd rate it a 3-star in this area.

Firstly, the place is enormous -- 512 rooms -- separated into something like 10 buildings running along the edge of the golf course. What struck me (other than the sheer size of the place) was how ordinary the architecture was. The buildings (all painted alike) were a desert sand color and were finished in the course pebbled stucco finish that buildings all over southern California (from shopping centers to cheap apartment buildings) are finished in. There was little ornamentation on the buildings -- not a stripe or squiggle, nothing at all. And, even though there was extensive landscaping throughout the resort (and some of it was very colorful) nothing stood out and said "Wow". Our building (like others, I imagine) was built around a long, narrow courtyard with tunnels that connected the courtyard with the outside of the building. Once in the courtyard, our room was down a hallway from there (although some rooms were on the entrance tunnels to the building -- not very private).

Inside our 1-bedroom suite, the decor reminded me of a 'really nice 3-star hotel'. Again, no 'wow factor' -- just a handsome room with tall ceilings and neutral colors. Some of the pluses in the room included a double-headed showerhead with plenty of water. It was immaculate and there were plenty of towels. There were 2 refrigerators: one was empty for you to fill and had little bottles of complimentary water on top of it; the other one (5' away) was full of products for purchase and had larger 'better brand' water for purchase. The shades in the Bedroom did a great job of keeping the sun out in the mornings.

On the negative side, the tub was extremely shallow (typical tub you'd find in a cheap apartment -- is this a 4-star hotel?). Even though the 2-sink counter was 7' long, there was only one soap dish in the center which we each had to stretch to reach. The famous Westin "Heavenly" bed was a disappointment. It was my first time sleeping in one and except for the extreme left edge of this one, it was pretty lumpy. In addition, in spite of the numerous pillows, they were all pretty flat so I ended up stuffing a half-folded bath towel inside the pillowcase of one to support my head better.

Out in the public areas, the Jacuzzis were not hot enough -- probably to placate the kids that also used them and the jets were underwhelming. I found internet service on my smart phone was sometimes slow when I was inside the room but improved greatly on the patio. The floor plan to our suite was a little strange since it had a sofabed in the living room but the only closet was in the bedroom and the only bathroom was also in the bedroom. There were maintenance issues that surprised me for a 4-star hotel: The door to our room didn't close unless you pulled the door shut each time; the 2 screen doors onto our patio were seriously bent as if someone had kicked them hard from inside of the room; the aforementioned lumpy bed which needed to be retired (no pun intended) a long time ago. All of these things were easily spotted by housekeeping; why weren't they reported so they could be fixed?

All in all, we had a wonderful time and I would certainly not complain, given the great price we paid but for those paying 'full fare', be aware that the hotel is not opulent; it's just a grand place in a beautiful setting. I rated location "3 circles" because, like so many places in the desert, it wasn't within walking distance to anything. If you didn't dine at the Resort, it was, typically, a 15 to 25 minute drive to dinner.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HopSkipJump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMissionHills, Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2011

Dear Hopskipjump,

Thank you for your review. We are thrilled your enjoyed your stay. All your comments and concerns will be routed to the appropriate departments as we apprieciate all your feedback. We thank you joining us and hope you will visit again soon as we have some new and exciting outlets to showcase starting in 2012. Should you need any assistance in the future please feel free to contact us and we will be happy to assist. Have a lovely day and be well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

So here we go. I'm excited to get out of town, have a break and get some rest in Rancho Mirage and especially the Westin Mission Hills. My best friend and I had been looking forward to this relaxation for some time.

I'll make it short (although I could go on).
1) Our room was placed right next to a wedding reception/party that lasted until 11. We weren't told when we checked in, we weren't given a warning. We were exhausted from crazy work weeks - all we wanted to do was fall asleep at 9. Not even possible. Had we been warned, there at least would have been that.
2) Tub didn't drain. At all. It was disgusting. After three (!!!!) calls, it was finally fixed after 5 hours.
3) No hot water for 4-5 hours on Saturday. No warning, no call, no note on the door, nothing. We had shopping and dinner plans post pool. If you sit outside for a few hours in the hot desert, you want a shower before you go out! When I tried the water...nothing. I had to go explore, figure it out and then call.
4) The carpet was gross in our room. And wet. We avoided a huge portion of the area which we marked off with napkins - it was about the size of a bathroom rug.

Each time I called, the desk or manager was apologetic. However, the experience was ruined. The weekend just ...blah. So while the location is great and normally Starwood delivers, the experience was not fun. Try another location.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amber m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMissionHills, Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2011

Dear Amber M,

Thank you for your most recent review. I've forwarded your comments to the appropriate departments to keep them aware. We at The Westin Mission Hills do our very best to provide the most outstanding service and I'm sorry to hear your stay was not so. We hope you will give us another opportunity to showcase our wonderful service. Should you wish to book another stay please feel free to contact us and we would be more than happy to assist.
Be well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

I've been to this hotel twice with my sister and I've been blown away by the courteous and friendly staff, the beautiful rooms, the tranquil grounds and the hospitality. I look forward to my next "sister weekend" getaway at this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shannon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rancho Mirage
0.4 mi away
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
#1 of 8 in Rancho Mirage
974 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
1.2 mi away
Agua Caliente Casino Resort Spa
Agua Caliente Casino Resort Spa
#6 of 8 in Rancho Mirage
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
4.5 mi away
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
7.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa

Address: 71333 Dinah Shore Dr, Rancho Mirage, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92270-1501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Rancho Mirage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#3 Spa Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#3 Family Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rancho Mirage
Price Range: $191 - $499 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 512
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa is a Palm Springs resort and hotel where the picturesque mountain views and secluded location create the perfect escape. Our Palm Springs hotel is the perfect place to unwind. Enjoy the best Palm Springs Golf on one of our championship courses, lounge at any of our three pools, splash down our 75-foot waterslide or enjoy a delectable meal at one of our Palm Springs restaurant options, including the on-site restaurant Pinzimini. A soothing sanctuary awaits those looking for a rejuvenating desert retreat with our expansive Palm Springs resort spa featuring treatments for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Mission Hills Resort And Spa
Westin Mission Hills Hotel Rancho Mirage
Westin Rancho Mirage
Palm Springs Westin
Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa Rancho Mirage, CA - California Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing