We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a little older resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Rancho Mirage
Certificate of Excellence
Windsor, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a little older resort”
Reviewed July 12, 2011

This is our 7th year of going to the Westin in Rancho mirage, this year we were disappointed with the room.
There was black mold growing in the shower, sheets were stained and the ice machine did not work in our unit.
The food was great from the restaurant!
Do not think that we will be back next year….

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karma92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMissionHills, Director of Sales at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 25, 2011
Thank you for sharing your review with us. We greatly appreciate your loyalty and are very sorry to hear about your recent experience. We would appreciate the chance to discuss your experience with you further. Please contact me personally at katelyn.thurlow@westin.com.

Be well,

Katelyn Thurlow
Marketing Coordinator
Westin Mission Hills Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,006
    768
    380
    210
    129
See reviews for
682
735
96
392
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (688)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2011

The spa at the Westin Mission Hills was exactly what I was searching for when my girlfriends and I decided to venture off to the desert to "detox" from our stressful careers. From the moment we pulled up to valet to the morning of checkout I felt like an Arabian queen. The desert was in the 100's temperature wise, it was a treat upon checking to be treated to a special complimentary mint and grapefruit water to hydrate. From there we hit the spa. I had a facial with Mindy and it was hands down the BEST facial I have every gotten. I have been all over the world including Italy and she did something to my skin that I have never experienced anywhere else, it was dewy and rosy for weeks! The price was a little steep but we enjoyed the spa amenities to the fullest (steam room, quiet relaxation areas with apples, nuts and tea and a cool therapy jet pool in the outside courtyard under a cabana). The spa staff were all wonderful and accommodated us when we needed food delivered to the spa for lunch. For the evening we walked the resort and the pink/orange sunset was beautiful with the surrounding mountains. As the stars came out we went for drinks at the steakhouse, which was all wonderful and ended the evening curled up with a bar of dark chocolate in the "heavenly bed"…need I say more? It's one big fluffy cloud. In the morning we started all over again and it was just as majestic, I purchased a yoga outfit from the spa store and an aromatic hydrating misting spray for my face. We started with a detoxifying yoga class, in the afternoon we ended up at the East pool with my beach tote and my hydrating mist, I ended the day with a beautiful sunkissed tan and my skin was still hydrated! The entire resort was immaculate and I slept very well. There were stations with free cucumber/lemon water or mint/grapefruit water all around the resort to combat the unforgiving desert sun. I would definitely stay here again when I need a renewal and a desert detox from my busy, stressful life.

Room Tip: call and ask for the best rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelloveguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMissionHills, Director of Sales at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 25, 2011
We are so pleased to hear you were able to take away from your busy work life and enjoying a renewing weekend with us. Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts, and for recognizing MIndy, a very valuable spa therapist. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Katelyn Thurlow
Marketing Coordinator
Westin Mission Hills Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altadena, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2011

At checkout, I received a bill for "Resort Charge" $27 per day. This charge was NEVER mentioned at check-in. I booked and paid for the room through Hotels.com which had ALREADY applied $148.53 "Tax recovery and service fee". I assumed this was the cost of the trip. To my suprise Westin chared an extra $27 pre night and couldn't explain why. Will not stay at a place with fishy bookkeeping.

Room Tip: Make sure there aren't any hidden charges.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hanchett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMissionHills, Director of Sales at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 25, 2011
Thank you for your recent review. We are sorry to hear that although the resort charge is posted on our website, your confirmation email and the map you received at check-in, you were not aware of it until checkout. We try very hard to make sure each guest is aware of our industry standard procedures and we can understand why this fee would be surprising had you not read about it previously. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Be well,

Katelyn Thurlow
Marketing Coordinator
Westin Mission Hills Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2011

We loved the Westin Resort! Our room was next to the main swimming pool which was great for the kids. I was very happy with the room and especially the beds were so comfortable. I would recommend this resort to all my friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rdhstarpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMissionHills, Director of Sales at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 25, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent review with us. We are so pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed time together at our pools, and that you were able to recharge on our signature Heavenly bed. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best,

Katelyn Thurlow
Marketing Coordinator
Westin Mission Hills Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
187 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2011

Perhaps this is standard hospitality level in the United States, but this is definitely not a 4+ star "resort" in any definition of that word elsewhere in the world. There is literally nothing good that can be said about this place: the service is nonexistent, the facilities dated, the room has no character, the bathroom is not stocked with any toiletries other than a basic bar of soar and shampoo/lotion. At the rate they're charging per night, the breakfast should be included, it isn't. The grounds are well kept, but there are no nice places to relax, the pedestrian walkways are limited (if you want to go for a stroll, you will do so in a parking lot) and many areas are poorly lit or completely dark at night, so bring a flashlight. There are three swimming pools all of which are too small for the size of this massive resort, extremely crowded and not very clean. Pool area is disgusting with sticky ground, an occasional spit and overflowing dirty cups/dishes next to sunbeds, that no one seems to care to clean up. The staff does not know what beverage service means and therefore the line up to the bar is enormous. The only reason this gets 2 stars is that the room was clean, adequate to sleep in, the AC worked (in our room at least - but we heard others complaining that theirs broke and the hotel did not hurry to fix it) and the check in/out was pleasant enough. A final note, if you are going to Palm Springs, don't do it in the summer as it is 49C outside and hard to enjoy anything outdoors. Not that there is much to enjoy, unless you like golf. Give it a miss and go to Mexico instead.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lmitravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMissionHills, Director of Sales at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 25, 2011
Thank you for sharing your recent review with us. We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us, as we work hard to provide each guest with a relaxing and refreshing experience. Thank you for your suggestion regarding breakfast, please note that our AAA package does include a breakfast. Thank you for your thoughts regarding lighting and our facilities, I have passed your comments along to the appropriate departments.

Be well,

Katelyn Thurlow
Marketing Coordinator
Westin Mission Hills Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2011

We spent the 4th of July weekend at Westin Mission Hills Resort and Spa and loved it here.
Room was very large, clean and well appointed. AC did a great job dealing with desert temperatures.
Had Breakfast every morning at the Resort restaurant and the options were plenty, everything of great quality.
The staff took care of all our needs and we were very pleased during the entire time.
If we were to wish for something different, was only the pool crowd... Chairs were all taken within minutes after opening and no cabanas were available at extra cost.

We're certain we are going to return here...

Room Tip: Next time we would love to get a room by the golf course. We had a room in building 10 and was close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LostAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMissionHills, Director of Sales at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 7, 2011
Thank you so much for sharing your review with us. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your 4th of July stay at our resort and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Take care,
Katelyn Thurlow
Marketing Coordinator
Westin Mission Hills Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burbank
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2011

From the moment you get there you feel happy valet people greet your car. I love the rooms it is always clean and the location is so beautiful you feel very relaxed. The best thing about this hotel is Bruno Santos . He is the front manager when you check in. He has a million dollar smile makes sure that you are happy. I have been on many destinations he is the best customer service that I have ever seen. In this world there are many beautiful hotels but the people that work there really make the place special. Also in the pool area they have an activity people that they make sure the kids have fun their names were chris and Justin they were wonderful too. I go to westin every year I just feel like we are part of the westin family . Thank you Bruno Santos

Room Tip: I have stayed in many of the rooms they are all nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank armenianburbank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rancho Mirage
0.4 mi away
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
#1 of 8 in Rancho Mirage
897 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
4.1 mi away
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa
4.5 mi away
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
3.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Rancho Mirage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa

Property: Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa
Address: 71333 Dinah Shore Dr, Rancho Mirage, CA 92270-1501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Rancho Mirage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#3 Spa Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#3 Business Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rancho Mirage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 512
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa is a Palm Springs resort and hotel where the picturesque mountain views and secluded location create the perfect escape. Our Palm Springs hotel is the perfect place to unwind. Enjoy the best Palm Springs Golf on one of our championship courses, lounge at any of our three pools, splash down our 75-foot waterslide or enjoy a delectable meal at one of our Palm Springs restaurant options, including the on-site restaurant Pinzimini. A soothing sanctuary awaits those looking for a rejuvenating desert retreat with our expansive Palm Springs resort spa featuring treatments for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Mission Hills Resort And Spa
Westin Mission Hills Hotel Rancho Mirage
Westin Rancho Mirage
Palm Springs Westin
Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa Rancho Mirage, CA - California Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing