We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Pleasant Stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Rancho Mirage
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
2 reviews
“A Very Pleasant Stay.”
Reviewed December 4, 2007

Just returned from a 3 night stay and my wife and I were very happy with the resort. We had read previous reviews on this site, so we were a little concerned, but for us, the resort was great.
First off, the property is amazing. Very spacious, spotless, and beautifully landscaped. We were lucky enough to get a golf course view room - 2nd floor (there were only 2 floors) in building 8. The room was very clean and spacious. We did have to request a refridgerator and it was delivered promptly. Free internet and parking were nice (included with resort fee I suppose).
As past reviewers have indicated, the rooms could use a little updating - small things such as the light switches, electrical outlets, and some of the bathroom fixtures were indeed getting a little worn - but did nothing to take away from our experience.
The service was top notch. Front desk was perfect and shuttle cart drivers were all friendly and helpful.
I golfed the Gary Player course which, although it is part of the resort, is located a short drive from the hotel. The course was awesome - in beautiful condition although the greens were a little slow due to recent overseeding. The staff there was also a ten out of ten - very friendly and helpful.
I would definitely recommend this resort to anyone. And I would say, try not to let negative reviews affect your experience! Don't worry, go have fun!

  • Stayed November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank heritage_classic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,013
    772
    384
    210
    129
See reviews for
686
743
98
392
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (692)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
iowa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2007

My wife and I just completed a 5 night stay at the Westin . We thoroughly enjoyed our visit. The cleanliness of the property is jaw dropping and the atmosphere salubrious. The rooms are huge and the bathrooms have double vanitys. The commodious balconys are private and definitely worth booking a stunning golf view. The golf course and driving range are conveniently located and the course is a solid resort style experience.
We found the food and service to be top notch throughout the property and the wine list first rate. If you want to go somewhere and relax ,especially if you play golf, pretty hard to beat this resort.
Upon check out was told there is multi million dollar refurbishment scheduled for next spring.

  • Stayed November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank traveler1159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2007

THIEVES!!! A Company Computer, Cell Phone Charger, And An Expensive Bottle Of Tequila Was STOLEN From A First Floor Room. It Had To Be An Inside Job. The Place Is Infested With Theives. One Of My Counterparts Had His Cell Phone Stolen From His Room During The Same Stay. This Is Suppose To Be 5 Star? I've NEVER Had Anything Stolen From My Room In All The Places I've Stayed Around The World. DON'T STAY HERE! HUGE SAFETY ISSUE!

  • Liked — Nothing!
  • Disliked — Everything!
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank noushie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west hills, ca
Level 6 Contributor
546 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2007

Stayed here one night at AAA rate of $219 which included $20 resort fee. The room was not ready for an hour, they took my phone number and called me. Our room had ants in the bathroom, and peeling wallpaper. The carpeting is stained and the furniture needs refinishing. The room was spacious and there was plenty of parking. The pools are very shallow but refreshing. The towels and bedding are great. We got coupons for 2 for 1 drinks at the pool which were quite good. They are trying to sell timeshares, we decided not to attend though. The grounds are very well kept but the rooms need work. I found the location to be too far from the 111 where most shops and restaurants are. Stay here only if you get a really good rate.

  • Liked — the ground wells kept. great beds
  • Disliked — rooms need updating
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jfd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2007

Stayed 1 night at the Westin. Large hotel with nice surroundings. Good pool areas. Had a large room with 2 queen beds. Westin beds are always really comfy - their heavenly bed. Booked a breakfast package direct on their website but when we checked in the front desk had no record of the package. The girl at the front desk didn't seem to believe us. We were careful to check the bill as we had indeed been charged at checkout. The girl on the front desk this time was much nicer and apologetic. Wouldn't put me off staying at this hotel again but the web offers need to get communicated to the hotel better. Breakfast was really good. We ate in the evening too as the hotel is out of town. Buffet was good value and staff were friendly.

  • Liked — Breakfast buffet
  • Disliked — Charging us for the breakfast buffet despite it being included in the price
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flightsocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SetSail0917
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2007

My husband and I stayed here for his birthday expecting a nice relaxing weekend in the desert. I had some hassle pre-arranging for champagne to be in the room when we got there, but after being assured by the manager that it was confirmed I thought we were all set.

When we arrived at the property, we checked in and the champagne wasn't there. A little irritated, I let my husband in on the suprise and called to see what happened. They assured me that it was on its way in a few minutes. Two hours later we left for dinner, and the champagne wasn't there even when we got back!

Other issues included - light out in the bathroom and after repeated requests for someone to come change the lightbulb (starting at around 4 pm when we checked in), they came the next morning to change it after we stumbled around in the dark. Broken coffee maker, and "suspect" stains in the bathroom once we did get the lightbulb.

Not at all what we expected, nor will we be going back. Good thing they are trying to sell timeshares or whatever, because no one will be staying here.

  • Liked — has potential to be a beautiful property
  • Disliked — service, service, service
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SetSail0917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valencia
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2007

We booked a three night stay to meet up with an old friend , do some gambling and play golf. At check -in, they only had us booked for two nights. We got past that and off to our rooms. It took forever to find them .The property is enormous, reminding me of a sprawling apartment complex, a big maze of buildings where there is little charm.

Once we were in our " good sized" room, I couldn't help but feel let down by that " over used" 70ty style , dark wood , furniture.
However, the beds are very comfortable. The bathroom lighting isn't great for make-up , so bring a make-up mirror if you need. We had a small patio that looked onto another one across the way. I noticed about a third of the rooms get nicer views and some of the golf course. To get back to the lobby for dinner , we went to a shuttle cart bench ,where we were picked. What do you do when it's cold or raining, I thought?

On to the Italian buffet, the food was limited, over priced and soggy. They didn't have the bottle of champange I ordered, and my boyfriend was very unhappy to hear that his ' Jack & Coke", would be with Pepsi, which he hates. This " so called " five star hotel does not serve Coke! Shame on them!

The next day , we tried laying out at the main pool, but there were no chairs. We managed to snag the last two loungers at the center, but smaller pool and actually enjoyed some quiet time with fewer kids around. Both the main pool and center pool have a snack bar and cocktails.

I forgot to mention the breakfast buffet is fine at $19.00 a head. But with two Mimosa's , at $12.00 each, it was adding up. Breakfast places are very hard to come by anywhere close , so you're kind of stuck.

Our friend checked in at this time and had a similar booking problem , except they did not have any reservation for him at all. They told him they were booked solid, but after an hour of him demanding a room, he scored one similar to ours, only smaller
and even further away from the lobby , restaurant and pools.

I stayed back while the boys hit the Casino right down the street. I had a shuttle cart take me back to the room where I found my key no longer worked. While on my cell to the front desk, I caught a staff member and with a master key, he let me in. I was dying to go to sleep and asked the front desk to please bring me a key that worked. An hour and a half later after four ranting calls, the keys showed up. The next night, the same thing happened to my boyfriend. He ran back to the room to use our private bathroom and couldn't get in the room at a very compromising time. The first night I did request extra feather pillows and they arrived within ten minutes.

The next day we had lunch on the outside patio of the restaurant. A half hour later, we didn't even have our drinks. I got up to find a waitess who later told me the one who originally took our order left. Overall, I have to rate our experience a small fiasco.

The good things are the size of the rooms and the waterfalls near the restaurant. The hotel backs up on a scenic golf course which makes for a nice walk during daylight hours. This course was being reseeded, so we played their alternate course which was a delightful , long course, just a bit brown on the grass.

I really can't say any more about this Westin, except, don't let the great photos lure you in. It doesn't look anything like the Morrocan hotel they describe. There are better places to hang out. I lived in this area for six years, visiting most of the hotels during that time. This one did not impress me enough to want to return. I definately think they are more concerned selling time shares than servicing their guests!

  • Liked — nice pool and golf course
  • Disliked — a bit dated with lack of good service, and food
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank perfecttravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rancho Mirage
0.4 mi away
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
#1 of 8 in Rancho Mirage
913 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
4.0 mi away
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
7.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa
3.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Rancho Mirage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa

Property: Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa
Address: 71333 Dinah Shore Dr, Rancho Mirage, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92270-1501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Rancho Mirage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#3 Family Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#3 Business Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rancho Mirage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 512
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa is a Palm Springs resort and hotel where the picturesque mountain views and secluded location create the perfect escape. Our Palm Springs hotel is the perfect place to unwind. Enjoy the best Palm Springs Golf on one of our championship courses, lounge at any of our three pools, splash down our 75-foot waterslide or enjoy a delectable meal at one of our Palm Springs restaurant options, including the on-site restaurant Pinzimini. A soothing sanctuary awaits those looking for a rejuvenating desert retreat with our expansive Palm Springs resort spa featuring treatments for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Mission Hills Resort And Spa
Westin Mission Hills Hotel Rancho Mirage
Westin Rancho Mirage
Palm Springs Westin
Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa Rancho Mirage, CA - California Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing