We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Rancho Mirage
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 30, 2011

Enjoyed our 1 night stay, the room was spacious and comfortable, the pool and hot tub tiles needed a good scrubbing and the pool area wasn't picked up on a regular basis. Staff smiled, but that was about it. Requested a second night but there were no available rooms. Lucky for us there was a place at the Hyatt Grand Champions Resort, which far outshined this property.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeisureTraveler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMissionHills, Director of Sales at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2011

Thank you for sharing your recent review with us. We apologize that we were unable to accommodate you for a second nights stay. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Best,

Katelyn Thurlow
Marketing Coordinator
Westin Mission Hills

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,534)
There are newer reviews for Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,007 - 2,013 of 2,534 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2011

Pros - Nice grounds,beautiful view of mountains, great path along golf course for running and walking, balcony overlooking golf course, bigger room, gym, and shopping/restaurants/theaters within driving distance.
Cons - Older hotel, no elevators, thin walls, musty smell in room (1306) and loud bird chirping 1:30AM until dawn both nights we were there.
I am an SPG member and used points for this stay. I don't think I would pay to stay in the future but I might stay with points.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LEinHBCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMissionHills, Director of Sales at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2011

Thank you for your recent review and for your loyalty as an SPG Member. We are pleased to hear that your enjoyed our beautiful mountain views and outdoor balcony areas. We apologize about the issues regarding your room and I have passed your specific comments regarding room 1306. I appreciate you bringing this to our attention and hope to welcome you again soon. If I may assist you with anything, please contact me directly at katelyn.thurlow@westin.com.

Be well & safe travels,

Katelyn Thurlow
Marketing Coordinator
Westin Mission Hills

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2011

Hotel is old and run down. The staff does not appear to enjoy their jobs. If you dont get a room near the pool and lobby you have a far walk. Much better options in palm springs. I will not return. Maybe it's time for new management. Btw-$27 resort fee? Really???

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Auddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMissionHills, Director of Sales at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2011

Thank you for your recent review. Please understand that our resort fee covers a list of amenities including day use of the spa (steam room, whirlpool, relaxation room, renewal refresh & shower), in-room high speed internet, parking, fitness center and tennis court access, shuttle service within the Resort and to the Gary Player Golf Course & local phone calls. It is our goal to provide each guest with a relaxing, personalized experience and we apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us. If there is anything I may assist you with in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me at katelyn.thurlow@westin.com.

Be well & safe travels.

Katelyn Thurlow
Marketing Coordinator
Westin Mission Hills

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2011

My family has stayed at another Westin Resort and Spa before. They do not disappoint. We felt completely cared for in an unpressured way. From the minute I checked in, every question or request was handled with efficient customer care. I cannot address golf or tennis -- we didn't participate, though they looked like nice facilities. We were looking for a little pampering in a warm place and we got it in spades.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SAMC212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMissionHills, Director of Sales at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2011

We are so pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We work hard to provide each guest with the excellent service that you described. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best,

Katelyn Thurlow
Marketing Coordinator
Westin Mission Hills

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2011

I checked in yesterday and so far so good. Cara made my reservation and she was really nice. The lady that checked us in needs to smile. She was not pleasant. The valet guy also helped with luggage and he was so nice. Our rooms are spacious & clean & comfortable. Had dinner here last night and chef came out to greet us. Such a great experience. My only complaint was our heater was broken upon check in and it was a cold 57 degrees and it took awhile for maintenance guy to come out.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank usmcwife03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMissionHills, Director of Sales at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2011

Thank you for sharing your review with us. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. My apologies on the delay on fixing your heater - we understand how important details like that are to your experience and strive to address them as quickly as possible. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Be well,

Katelyn Thurlow
Marketing Coordinator
Westin Mission Hills

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2011

Not only did we not have hot water in the shower but everything about our room seemed old and tired. Our towels were threadbare and we couldn't get half of the lamps to turn on. Not only does this property charge a "resort fee" but then they also want to charge you for wi-fi. I doubt I'll be going back to this Westin.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ginsam97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2011

We stayed in Room No. 1625. Upon arrival, we noted the room had a strong musty odor and we immediately opened the patio sliding glass door and turned on the air conditioning. We attempted to turn on the television and determined it wasn't working and called the Front Desk for assistance. The hotel engineer came to our room and replaced the batteries for the remote control device.....they were dead. In addition to the musty odor of the room there was a light film of dust on the furniture and the dressing mirrior on back of the bathroom door was very dirty and required cleaning. The following morning we discovered the bath tub didn't drain properly and we got to show in 6 to 7 inches of water for the duration of our stay. The bath tub drainage condition was reported to the front desk (in person) at 7:15 a.m. on Friday morning.....no action was taken to clear the bath tub drain. Upon arriving back from our golf game in the afternoon, we observed that no shampoo and conditioning products had been resupplied by house cleaning staff and we proceeded to comb the house cleaning carts in the complex for shampoo and conditioner....to no avail. We called the Express Service and asked for 2 bottles of shampoo and conditioner and they advised they'd have them delivered promptly. An hour and 25 minutes later we called Express Service and asked them where our shampoo and conditioner was......they apologized profusely and had it delivered promptly. Finally, we out on the patio to relax and discovered that the patio and patio furniture had not been cleaned....is was quite dirty and dusty. So, we had to clean the chairs with a towel from the bathroom so we could sit on them.....our patio was not cleaned during the entire 3-day duration of our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poets7994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMissionHills, Director of Sales at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2011

Thank you for sharing your recent feedback with us. We'd like to offer you a sincere apology for all of the issues that you've described. I can assure you that this is not up to our standards. I have made a listed of each issue you've mentioned and passed them on to each relevant department. If I may be of any further service to you, please contact me personally at katelyn.thurlow@gmail.com.

Best regards,

Katelyn Thurlow
Marketing Coordinator
Westin Mission Hills

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rancho Mirage
0.5 mi away
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
#1 of 8 in Rancho Mirage
937 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
4.2 mi away
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
7.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa
3.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Rancho Mirage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa

Address: 71333 Dinah Shore Dr, Rancho Mirage, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92270-1501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Rancho Mirage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#3 Family Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#3 Business Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rancho Mirage
Price Range: $165 - $377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 512
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa is a Palm Springs resort and hotel where the picturesque mountain views and secluded location create the perfect escape. Our Palm Springs hotel is the perfect place to unwind. Enjoy the best Palm Springs Golf on one of our championship courses, lounge at any of our three pools, splash down our 75-foot waterslide or enjoy a delectable meal at one of our Palm Springs restaurant options, including the on-site restaurant Pinzimini. A soothing sanctuary awaits those looking for a rejuvenating desert retreat with our expansive Palm Springs resort spa featuring treatments for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Starwood, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Mission Hills Resort And Spa
Westin Mission Hills Hotel Rancho Mirage
Westin Rancho Mirage
Palm Springs Westin
Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa Rancho Mirage, CA - California Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing