We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the greatest”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Rancho Mirage
Certificate of Excellence
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not the greatest”
Reviewed July 30, 2008

I took my three kids ages 9, 9, and 4 to Rancho Las Palmas because of Splashtopia and wasn't all that impressed. I found it to be average at best. We were there midweek and were shocked by the crowds, especially because we were told that it was much less full than it is on the weekends. The lazy river was packed with people floating in their inner tubes. It was so full that you barely moved through it and got stuck because you were bumping into people constantly. My 4 year old was extremely disappointed because he wasn't allowed to go on either slide due to the "overly" strict height requirement ( 47" or 48") which is about the size of your average 7 year old. That's really unfortunate for all the 4,5, and 6 year olds who love water slides. The pool service was terrible until we tipped one of the pool waiters very generously. From that point on, we got the royal treatment and he was at our beck and call. But it didn't look like the other guests were getting the service that they also deserved. When we initially made our reservation, my friend and I requested connecting rooms which we were assured that we had received at check-in, so we drove on over to our rooms and got all the luggage out - to find that the rooms were near each other but not connected. We called the front desk and asked to be moved to connecting rooms and were told that a bellboy would be sent right over to move us. After waiting for 30 minutes we called the front desk again and were told that it would only be another five or ten minutes. We finally were moved to connecting rooms but were annoyed by the whole situation. We asked for some sheets for the pull out couch and received dirty linens with a old sunflower seed stuck to it. It was these little things that put me off of the hotel. However, saying this, it wasn't a terrible place and we still had a good time, so I wouldn't say to cancel your reservations - just be aware of some of these mishaps because they could happen to you.

  • Liked — Splashtopia but wished my four year old could go on the water slide
  • Disliked — Pool Service
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StacyC33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,746
    913
    441
    211
    150
See reviews for
1,762
548
45
668
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2008

I booked this hotel because of Splashtopia. I have two kids ages 9 and 11 and they loved Splashtopia.
I arrived to check in at 1pm and they had my room available so that was great.
The hotel room itself it was a bit larger than average and overall nice. I had a golf view and it was only a short walk across the parking lot to Splashtopia.
I arrived at Splashtopia the first day around 2pm and there where no loungers that weren't taken. The second day we arrived around 10am and found plenty of loungers. Even though Splashtopia was packed with people they had plenty of floats and the open spaces in the pool.
Overall I would recommend the resort for people with kids going for Splashtopia.

  • Liked — Splashtopia
  • Disliked — Overpriced meals at the resort resturants
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Grove
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2008

This hotel was the last leg of our road trip which included Vegas, Grand Canyon and Phoenix before returning home to the Monterey Peninsula. We got a fairly decent rate for the summer, and a beautiful room to go with it. The main reason for booking this resort was the pools, since we had our 10-year old in tow. "Splashtopia" was a blast!!. I think the only complaint I could make is the pool area could be kept cleaner. Many plates, cups, beer cans and dirty towels left around for hours. Still, a great time for the 3 of us!! Housekeeping was wonderful, beds super comfy, huge TV's, quiet rooms and beautiful grounds. We will return!!

  • Liked — comfy clean rooms, nice grounds, and a fun pool area.
  • Disliked — Plates, beer cans, cups and dirty towels left too long around pools.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank baxterdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anaheim
1 review
Reviewed July 27, 2008

The resort was nice especially the pool area. The one drawback was not enough servers around pool area.

The room was ok. It looks like a lot a people eat in the room so it would be nice to vacuum under bed and around corners. We saw food under both bed and in corners.

The staff was not particulary friendly.

Great for kids but not sure if I would go back.

  • Liked — The room
  • Disliked — The cleanliness of the room
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nena0315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2008

This year for my 5th yr wedding anniversary we decided to spend it with the kids being that I was 9 mos pregnant. We drove down from LA and didn't want to go far because of my condition (37wks). We stayed on a friday and left on a Sunday. We were greeting very nicely by the luggage guy and being that I was VERY pregnant the front desk clerk was VERY accommodating and we stayed in bldg 28 on the first floor in room 2814 which was a king bed w/sleeper sofa. Our kids didn't seem to mind the bed at all (2 girls) and my husband and I were in heaven in the king bed. The room was like 10 steps away from the pool and splashtopia. We booked the splashtopia package on the hotel website which is really a good deal because we had our own lazy river tubes to take home. Its a really good family place to get away for the week or weekend being that it also has a little beach area for babies and toddlers. Our girls stayed in the pool area the whole stay which was fine with us. We didn't buy any food from any of the onsite restaurants but instead brought a cooler and ate snacks in our room. The first night we caught a movie down the street at the plaza and the next night which was our anniversary we had the girls stay in the room (both preteens) and they ordered pizza and also went to the pool to see the movie near the pool for the kids, which was an added bonus. There are not many resorts that do this. Kids got to swim and watch a movie on a screen TV all at the same time - hubby and I went to the Cheesecake Factory in the plaza across the street. Our little sitting area outside our room was perfect! It was shaded and looked out over the golf course and the lake. We ate breakfast at Ruby's which was a 50's themed diner about 2 min away across from Apple Bee's in the plaza. Its a nice hotel the only complaint I have is the puddy near the bottom of the bathroom door even though the bathroom was very clean and nice, other than that, we will return with the new addition to our family next summer.

  • Disliked — It can get VERY crowded at the pool area.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Millyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2008

First off let me say this is a beautiful resort. It’s very clean and up to date. The rooms are attractive, clean, and spacious.

We took our kids there primarily because of Splashtopia and we were not let down. It was a blast. They have plenty of rafts for the river and a good amount of life guards on duty at all times. I always thought it felt very safe for the kids.

Another person on here mentioned Splashtopia’s hours as being 10 to 7, but did neglect to mention the pool itself opens at 7 AM and stays open until 10 PM. So I’m not so sure why they had such a hard time finding somewhere to cool off. We were in the pool first thing AM and in there late at night. The pool was the perfect temp! The lazy river is a little warm, but still very nice.

There were two negatives we had during our stay. The first was the pool area wait staff. It was very short staffed as far as we could tell (this was a week day visit. W/Th/F). Waiters/Waitresses were far and few between. On the one time we decided to order lunch, it took 30 minutes to get someone to acknowledge our presence. When they finally brought us some menu’s, my wife asked if they would be back soon and the girl looked like we had just insulted her. Additionally the food is VERY expensive. Children’s menu items started at $10. Our lunch for 4 was close to $70 and not all that tasty. Luckily we found Sherman’s Deli right around the corner and had a number of meals there!

However over all I would say this we a very fun trip and would recommend it to anyone who can afford it.

  • Liked — Splashtopia!
  • Disliked — Wait Staff / Food Costs
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, MD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2008

We could have booked just about any resort in the Palm Springs area but chose Rancho Las Palmas because of the newly renovated pool and lazy river they call 'Splashtopia". We were very disappointed with "Splashtopia". There was no shade, very little landscaping, mostly concrete, very uninviting. We have stayed at many resorts in the Palm Springs area and this one did not have that resort feel. On the positive side the room that we had was very nice. With the many places to stay in the Palm Springs area I would not recommend Rancho Las Palmas.

  • Liked — Room
  • Disliked — Pool area
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Horsenut47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rancho Mirage
2.5 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
4.1 mi away
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
#1 of 8 in Rancho Mirage
909 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Rancho Mirage
2.7 mi away
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
6.7 mi away
La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa

Property: Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
Address: 41000 Bob Hope Drive, Rancho Mirage, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92270-4416
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Rancho Mirage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#2 Family Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#2 Spa Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rancho Mirage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Omni Hotels & Resorts, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho Las Palmas Hotel Rancho Mirage
Rancho Las Palmas Resort And Spa
Rancho Las Palmas Resort Spa
Rancho Palmas Resort
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa Rancho Mirage, CA - California Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing