We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“LOVE THIS RESORT!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Rancho Mirage
Certificate of Excellence
Agoura Hills, United States
1 review
“LOVE THIS RESORT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We spent three of the BEST days this summer at Rancho Las Palmas. We LOVED it there! We had so much fun -- the pool, the lazy river, the water slides and beach area. What an awesome family place to visit. My kids were in heaven, and my husband and I couldn't have been happier. Wonderful service, beautiful hotel. Love it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RanchoLasPalmas, Manager at Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Denise H,

Wow, we loved hearing your best summer days so far have been spent right here at the resort! It is great that the entire family enjoyed all the pool amenities. Thank you for sharing your experience and choosing to bring your family to stay with us.

Sincerely,
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,361
    770
    344
    169
    122
See reviews for
1,418
446
37
485
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

loved, loved, loved this hotel !!!, grounds are beautiful and very well kept ..had food from palms cafe for breakfast which was lovely , didn`t use the Blue Ember restaurant, lazy river and pool are great , does get busy at weekends but so does most places .Our room was beautiful over looking golf course , huge room and clean , staff all pleasant , would defo recommend . The River complex over road was very good , lots of places to eat and lvly surroundings

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pauline d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RanchoLasPalmas, Manager at Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear pauline d,

Thank you for sharing the details of your recent stay. We are thrilled to hear of your complete satisfaction and recommendation to stay with us! We do hope we'll have the chance to provide the same wonderful experience for you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Omni Rancho Las Palmas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The reason this hotel was chosen was because of children's, age 4 & 8; desire to go to hotel's splashtopia water park feature.
The hotel's website promotes the lazy river, two waterslides, and pool.
The site does not mention age or size restrictions.
After going on larger slide 3 times, the 4 year old was denied access to smaller slide because she was not 42 inches tall.
I observed many children smaller than her being allowed..
The hotel agreed the policy was being applied in a random and not uniform manner and removed "resort" charges.
The lazy river seemed more like being in a traffic jam on the infamous Los Angeles 405 freeway.
Other than that, the rooms, the property and the staff are all good.
Parents be aware, the splastopia restrictions are not listed on hotel website

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BackSeatPilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RanchoLasPalmas, Manager at Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear BackSeatPilot,

Thank you for recent review. It sounds like there were some inconsistencies at Splashtopia regarding the pool and we apologize the height requirement wasn't made more clear. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the property, found the rooms comfortable and the staff friendly. We appreciate you choosing to bring your family here for a summer getaway and hope to see you all again in the future.

Sincerely,
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino Hills, Calif
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

My daughter & I went up for her birthday. Her best friend & her mom joined us. We were very excited to go since I heard a lot of great reviews of this resort. We were disappointed with the room & pool. Th room had two queen beds in it that were so tiny I was glad that my daughter was small. The bathroom felt like you had no privacy because of the slated door. The pool area was so dirty! The pool it self had trash in it & looked like it wasn't filtered. I will say the waitreses worked their behinds off in the heat. I just wished they had someone who went around picking up the plates from those people who felt they were too good to toss their own food away. If you didn't get out at the pool 30 min before they opened you wouldn't get a chair. I have stayed at resorts in the area that were much cleaner than this one. I wouldn't stay here again or recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ginarella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RanchoLasPalmas, Manager at Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear ginarella,

We appreciate you sharing the details of your stay. We wish we could have provided the most memorable birthday possible, for your daughter, and a wonderful stay for the rest of you. We have shared this review with the pool staff and management, as we know how important it is to provide a clean and safe environment for guests, even in the busiest of times. Thank you for choosing stay with us to celebrate the special occasion.

Sincerely,
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We have stayed here 3 times and likely won't be returning. The last time we were there, the pool, the paths and the resturaunts were all FILLED with children. We stopped swimming there and only swam at my aunts pool, because there was no room. Crying babies and busy families were everywhere. The food at the pool was expensive and average, but fantastic staff. Breakfast was again expensive but probably the best I've ever had, great staff. The boys all loved golfing and said it was nice, but kids were running around and playing soccer in the middle of the holes, which is extremely dangerous and unprofessional. But it is a great location with lots of shopping, hiking, and amazing resturaunts nearby.

Room Tip: Don't get one by the pool!!!!!! Request being on the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vacationlifechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RanchoLasPalmas, Manager at Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Vacationlifechick,

Thank you for sharing the details of your stay. We are sorry to hear the busy pool atmosphere got in the way of your relaxing vacation, as we understand it can be very lively at times! It is great to hear our staff upheld the dedication to provide great service, and how wonderful that our breakfast was one of your favorites. We have notified our directors regarding the less than safe activities occurring on the golf course and appreciate you bringing that to our attention. Thank you so much for your repeat business and we do hope to have the chance to wow you once again.

Sincerely,
Omni Rancho Las Palmas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

This is our 3rd time at this hotel and while I think our kids are starting to outgrow this stage this is a great place to bring the family if you want to spend the whole day at the pool and not get bored.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Jessie Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RanchoLasPalmas, Manager at Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Jessie Q,

Thank you for bringing your family to visit us again! It is great to hear that your children have been thoroughly entertained upon each stay. We appreciate your great review and hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Sincerely,
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I'll start off by saying that this resort is way too overrated for what it was and it's your average hotel with WAY too many people.
1) RIP OFF:Since it's a large resort, and there's only one family pool, it's obvious that you might be located far from the pool. The concierge at the front desk made it seem like you had to walk a far distance to reach the pool and "upgraded'' our room to what was supposedly a closer location for $50 more per night. Later I found out that not only was it not that far to walk to, but you can also use a golf cart to get to the pool area. Not only this, but the majority of the entrance gates weren't accessible because they were locked, so we had to walk all the way around to get to the pool.
2) OVERCROWDED: Since I have a 10 year old, I assumed that the slide and lazy river would be great way to have fun while my older daughter and I "relax" by the pool. Well, let me tell you, there were so many people that the lazy river wasn't even moving the way it was supposed to. All you saw were heads. Later, I decided to find some chairs by the pool, which took me about a good 15 minutes until someone finally left. Not only is it horridly hot, but you have to find your way around the hundreds of people that were gathered around the pool area. Every time we wanted to go into the pool, we were either getting smacked alongside our heads with a beach ball or having to migrate to another area because people were constantly shoving. No courtesy, whatsoever.
3) LOUD & NOT RELAXING: I decided to relax a on the chairs by the pool but it seemed like no matter how hard I tried, with all the people and the children's screaming, there was no way to even try to enjoy my trip.
4) EXPENSIVE: For the amount of money you spend per night, you would assume AT LEAST their food would be somewhat worth it. Lunch for 3 people included 2 Caesar salads (which were whatever), 2 cokes(ice filled up to the rim with a few splashes of coke), a distasteful "pina colada" and a smoothie was $75. You tell me if that's worth it.

Don't get me wrong, I wasn't expecting it to be all that peaceful considering that it's a family resort, but it was one of the worst trips I've ever taken. If you're going to spend a large amount of money, I recommend staying at the JW Marriot which is about 2 miles away or any other hotel. I don't know if it was this crowded due to the fact that it's in the middle of summer, but if you're still planning on going, don't have too high expectations.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank laaala399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rancho Mirage
4.2 mi away
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
#1 of 8 in Rancho Mirage
4.0 of 5 stars 801 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
4.3 mi away
Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa
3.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Rancho Mirage
The Ritz-Carlton, Rancho Mirage
#2 of 8 in Rancho Mirage
4.5 of 5 stars 692 reviews
2.8 mi away
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa

Property: Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
Address: 41000 Bob Hope Drive, Rancho Mirage, CA 92270-4416
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Rancho Mirage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#2 Spa Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#2 Family Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rancho Mirage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho Las Palmas Resort And Spa
Rancho Las Palmas Hotel Rancho Mirage
Rancho Las Palmas Resort Spa
Rancho Palmas Resort
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa Rancho Mirage, CA - California Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing