We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RIP OFF for families during the last weekend of September”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Rancho Mirage
Certificate of Excellence
West Covina, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“RIP OFF for families during the last weekend of September”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We have reservations for this weekend and we made them EXCLUSIVELY because of their Splashtopia Waterpark. We just discovered that the waterpark is closed because of yearly maintenance. Keep in mind that this"yearly maintenance" was not disclosed online when we made the reservations for our first vacation at this resort. Consequently we called the resort and tried to at least get a refund on the resort fee, but of course this was met with a "No, but you can come back again." Really, ruin a vacation and expect us to return....NEVER. Try not to advertise something that doesn't exist!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank Colleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RanchoLasPalmas, Manager at Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Colleen C,

We deeply regret that the repairs at Splashtopia impaired your experience so drastically. Please know that while we have no choice but to invest time in maintenance for the slides in order to keep them safe and in optimum condition, the time frame this year was a little out of the ordinary. The company that comes in and takes care of the facility for us advised that the work would have to be completed immediately after a very busy summer of high usage. In years past we have been able to have them take care of the slides in early December when the weather is less pool friendly and we have fewer travelers staying at the resort. Please accept our most sincere apologies and feel free to contact our Guest Service Director at GuestExperience@Rancholaspalmas.com for assistance in resolving this matter for you. We want our guests to feel like Rancho Las Palmas is a second home and that our staff is like family, it is not acceptable for a guest to ever feel unappreciated and we would delight in the opportunity to make this right for you.

Sincerely,
Rancho Las Palmas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,789
    940
    453
    220
    151
See reviews for
1,842
556
45
669
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I have not even checked into the "resort" yet, and I have had about the WORST customer service I have ever encountered! I booked my trip through Expedia.com, based on the "family atmosphere" advertised. Twenty-four hours before my trip, I discover that the cornerstone of my vacation, Splashtopia, will be closed for ANNUAL MAINTENANCE. Why wasn't this on the website? If it is annual, shouldn't this notice be provided to potential guests? I was even told, by an employee, that they received (email) notice of the closure ONE WEEK AGO! I booked this trip over one month ago. When I asked for a cancellation, or even a change of date, all I was told was about the FEES associated with my change of plans. I DIDN'T SCHEDULE THE MAINTENANCE dates to conflict with my trip!!! My children are heart-broken. I was even told that there would be no credit- no remedy to the situation. Talk about putting the customer LAST. Now I have to pay additional fees to go to the pool at Morengo, so that my children feel that they are having a vacation, too. I am so glad that my husband coordinates golf tournaments for a fortune 500 company and has lots of business associates. I will have him raise a banner to EVERY COMPANY with which he does business to STAY AWAY from any bookings at Rancho Las Palmas for any golf outing. I am also glad that I work in academia; I can definitely make sure any institution in our consortia STAYS AWAY from booking this property as well. I love Palm Desert, but this is definitely not worth the heartache. I will be canvassing the internet to post reviews on this property to EVERY site available to the public. I HOPE that I can say something positive after my visit; but the precedent has been set for an AWFUL CUSTOMER SERVICE EXPERIENCE. I might be only "one guest" on the phone; but, in reality, I am legion.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 888DeDe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Great pool area for families and adults. Good food at the restaurant and bar. Outdoor seating for cocktails with live music. Good sized rooms with pool or golf course views. 27 hole golf course nearby. The River Mall area with restaurants, bars and movie theaters just across the street. Reasonable rates available during summer months.

Room Tip: Choose a room with golf course or pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank extinguished
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

the staff is great! we had a very pleasant time with their help! the front desk was a little wait, when we got there, by the pool the waiter went out of his way to bring us an extra tray to make it easier to eat for our kids by the pool, he had a smile whenever he saw us, at the blue ember restaurant after ordering my 2 years olds melt down kicked in & the waitress was so nice to move our food outside by the music that she was calmer.. thank you for extra work.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miraldaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliso Viejo, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

QUICK VERSION: Perfect first family vacation - I CAN'T WAIT TO COME BACK.

My husband and I have been reluctant to go on vacation since we had our daughter. However, now that she is nearly 2 years old, we were desparate need of a family vacation. All I wanted was a place that had a lazy river, all else was icing.

When we arrived at RLP, we were greated and happy to see what a beautiful resort it was. Not only was it easy to find, but the place felt like a resort without feeling like I needed to be too dressed up. (I dislike it when I have traveled for 2 hours to then feel like I am underdressed or that my car-wrinkled clothes make me feel self conscious - - and I wasn't disappointed upon arrival!) The lobby was beautiful, there were clearly marked directional signs as to where the spa and boutiques were.

When I made my online reservation I was offered the 'upgrade' and when we arrived I ended up declining the upgrade becasue I didn't think our upgraded room was all that much better for the $9. In the end it still stayed on our bill, which was easily correctible, but we did have to tell them again.

Upon getting into our room, I was soooooo happy. The room was gorgeous, there was plenty of room for my husband, daughter and me. We immediately created a play area for our daughter with all her toys and then hopped into our swim suits. We dashed over to the pool and it was crowded but perfect. The Lazy River was more glorious than I could have asked for, the water slides were really fun, there was a baby beach with real sand and sand toys that my daughter had so much fun at and the weather (albeit, not RLP's responsibility) was perfect. This truly was an amazing vacation.

We went back to our room and took a nap. Then walked around the property. In the Internet Cafe, we ordered a pizza and our daughter found the two iPads and watched her favorite shows. Around dinner time, we drove around and found tons of little places to eat and shop. That night, our bed was just so cozy and the black out drapes were a nice touch.

The next morning we went back to the Splashtopia, and found it even more crowded and people were saving chairs, which was annoying even though there are signs saying not to save seats (not RLP's fault) but we found a chair, hung out in the baby beach until it was time to go home.

I CAN'T WAIT TO GO BACK!!

Room Tip: I didn't go for the "upgraded" room and we were happy. We had a view of the golf cour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PamelaOfTheSailors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed the weekend of September 22, 2012

Extremely unsatisfied with cleaness, poor and un-helpful staff. I stayed in the executive suite with smelly and dirty furniture. Patton furniture along with pool area furniture was very dirty. Not what you expect from a resort. Some of the staff was very nice and some rude and incompetent.

Hint Rancho Las Palmas Resort, If you are going to overcharge your guests then supplement it with great service.

Room Tip: I would never recommend this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johns Creek, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Traveling with 2 adults and a toddler is not always easy and as our plans en route from San Diego to Big Bear changed, we were not sure what we would do, but we found an excellent deal for this resort online! We stayed two nights in a basic king room with a golf course view. There is an extra daily fee for Splashtopia, parking, and something else, which we expected.

The room was quite spacious, with a nice bed, large tv, lots of space for clothes. There was a small couch, table and desk chair. The bathroom was a good size with a separate vanity for women to get ready; this was very handy. The mango lotion from the spa was lovely too! We were on the first floor with a patio overlooking the golf course. It was early September, so there were not many players in the middle of the day, while we sat during our son's naps. Also, when we first entered the room, there was a strange smell and I still can't describe it. I almost think that it was meant to smell floral, but it made me gag, so housekeeping was nice enough to send some sort of air purifier. We left it on while we went to dinner and it was much better that evening.

We ultimately decided on this hotel versus the Marriott because of the water slides and lazy river. There are two water slides and a nice splash pad for toddlers surrounded by a lazy river. Off to the side of the river is a zero depth entry play area with a sandy beach. Just a few steps away is the large, main pool too. We really enjoyed Splashtopia and my 15 month really became a water baby! The one down side to the whole stay was (and we didn't know this prior) that they had just started their "winter" hours, which meant Splashtopia didn't open until 11am and closed at 5pm. This was really unfortunate, especially for families whose children are up very early and that only gave us just over an hour to enjoy the splash pad and lazy river before we had to give our son lunch and then his nap, which then left us only an hour in the afternoon to enjoy it again. On Friday it opened at 10am, which helped, we just pushed nap time back as much as we could. The main pool is open something like 8am-8pm, so we hung out there until the rest opened.

Included with our room was a $50/day breakfast credit at Bluember. It wasn't too hard to spend that either! The French Toast was delicious, but I would skip the eggs Benedict. We did not eat dinner or lunch at the resort. We did the micro brew happy hour one of the evenings. The bartender was great and recommended a nice local place to eat. Everyone was really nice and friendly, but I do have to point out that one of the lifeguards, who was out all three days, spoke a little loosely around the young children- foul language and a random conversation about politics with another life guard.

We sat under some of the 'conversation' areas near the bar in the early evening, otherwise, it was too hot to be outside for too long. Rancho las Palmas really has several restaurants and shops, so there was no need to drive all the way into Palm Springs. The resort is very sophisticated but caters to families at the same time. It was a nice blend. You feel like you are at a top resort (which you are), but can relax with your children.

I am so glad that we were able to stay here. It was my first time in SoCal and I hope to return again soon. I probably won't even look at another resort, this one has everything we need! I don't know what it is like to stay over the weekend or during a very busy period, but I am sure it would be just as nice as our visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kasens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rancho Mirage
2.5 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
4.1 mi away
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
#1 of 8 in Rancho Mirage
926 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Rancho Mirage
2.7 mi away
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
6.7 mi away
La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa

Property: Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
Address: 41000 Bob Hope Drive, Rancho Mirage, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92270-4416
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Rancho Mirage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#2 Family Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#2 Business Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rancho Mirage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Omni Hotels & Resorts, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho Las Palmas Hotel Rancho Mirage
Rancho Las Palmas Resort And Spa
Rancho Las Palmas Resort Spa
Rancho Palmas Resort
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa Rancho Mirage, CA - California Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing