We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family and kids friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Rancho Mirage
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Excellent for kids. Intense pool environment. They are very cool about alllowing you to throw pool friendly balls in the main pool and lazy river. Live and let live attitude. Great for family fun water activities. They have a great "baby beach" area, with an abundance of "stripper mom's" garnishing attention accompanied by their loud beer swilling en vogue husbands. They stay in their own little world with their kids, so it was "all good"!!!! Great prople watching!!

Room Tip: Close to Spashtopia or near quiet gardens? It's your call, everything is close. I bring ear plug...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rezonator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RanchoLasPalmas, Manager at Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

Dear Rezonator,

Thank you for sharing the details of your recent trip! We like your 'live and let live' summer attitude and are happy you had so much fun splashing around in the pools and people watching. We appreciate your Room Tip and the time you've taken to review your experience!

Sincerely,
Rancho Las Palmas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,679)
There are newer reviews for Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,028 - 3,034 of 3,679 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2012

This is a beautiful, Spanish-style resort in a great location. We were there in mid-July, 2012 and the weather is hot. The amenities, rooms, facilities are great. But too many families with kids (does everyone have 4-5 kids?) and drunk "girls weekend" types. I spent my time in the adult only pool (which had several kids present) and some drunk women with an inflatable version of the male anatomy. Unfortunately, the other pools were packed with kids. Other than the pool situation, the hotel is a great place to stay and the rooms are nice with many having golf course views.

Room Tip: All hotel rooms are in two story buildings. The second stories have better views, more privacy and n...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RanchoLasPalmas, Manager at Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

Dear Rick N,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Very happy to hear of your enjoyment of the rooms, amenities and the views! It is no doubt that we have a great many families on property during the summer, however we fervently try and prevent the adult pool from becoming anything other than that. We do apologize that the situation was not immediately addressed and that your relaxation was interrupted.. Already we have brought this to the attention of the Director. Your feedback is important to us and we appreciate you choosing to stay with us this summer!

Sincerely,
Rancho Las Palmas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Great customer service and the staff was very polite. My mother and I attended a conference at this resort and each department from Valet to Front Desk to Housekeeping were professional and friendly. The Palms Cafe had a variety of food which included breakfast, lunch , dinner and snacks. The rooms were large with a huge bathroom that included a vanity with stool that made it easier to complete makeup and hair. The room also had a nice patio which was nice for early morning breakfast or just enjoying the view before bed.

Room Tip: Let the front desk know if you would like to be close to the lobby.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandrikka H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RanchoLasPalmas, Manager at Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

Dear Sandrikka H,

We are so pleased you and your mother enjoyed your time at Rancho! We love hearing of great customer service offered, across the board, from our staff. And it's great that you took advantage of the many delicious offerings from Palms Cafe, as there truly is something perfect for any time of day! We are happy to have provided a comfortable sanctuary for you to retreat to after a long day; and a place to enjoy your mornings, too! Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We hope to see you again!

Sincerely,
Rancho Las Palmas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Nice but not 4 star. $100 food credit goes really fast with high food prices. It can get really crowded so that its hard go find a tube for the lazy river. Kids really enjoyed the water slide. Plenty of life guards to watch the kids. Food service at Blue Ember restaurant was incredibly slow. Room service was $25 for one French toast with juice. Staff really nice people. I asked for late check out and was told it would be $40 for one hour. They have an adult pool that wss a nice relief from the noise until some folks brought in their kids. As far as i could tell they were not asked to leave. Might check out the competiton next time.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for room nearest pool if you have kids.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank darlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RanchoLasPalmas, Manager at Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

Dear darlos,

We appreciate your feedback and the time you've taken to review your stay. We are happy to hear that your kids enjoyed Splashtopia and do recognize the competition for tubes can be stiff at the busiest times. The service level you received at bluEmber will certainly be addressed, as we are continuously striving to improve. As for the adult pool experience that involved children, we don't like hearing that one bit and apologize that it wasn't handled in a manner in which to remedy immediately. Thank you for bringing your family here this summer and we do hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Rancho Las Palmas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

This is a very enjoyable place for families with children. It is also nice for couples in the evening at the dining areas. The temp was 114 and the pools were a bit packed. Still wasn't uncomfortable. Plenty of room. Drinks are around the pool but you night want to wear your sandals/flipflops because the ground will burn your feet just walking to get them. Rooms were very nice except for the bathroom doors are a little on the unprivate side in the rooms. However, everything else was very accomodating to our needs. The night dining has a band playing outside the restaurant BLue Ember which setas guests around a firepit with a relaxing and enjoyable ambiance. Definately worth having a nightcap by the fire. There was a movie on Friday night at the pool. OK. So the kids were having fun. Next time I go I would probably like to try a different place for my husband and I to enjoy alone. Ohh, and if you dont like noise between 8-10pm dont get a room by the poolside. Otherwise you are good to go. Enjoy your trip. Wonderful servers in the Blue Ember. Dinner was delicious. Except the spinach salad. Didnt care for it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Regina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RanchoLasPalmas, Manager at Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2012

Dear Regina F,

Thank you for sharing the details of your trip! We are so happy you chose to celebrate a birthday weekend with us. Great tip about bringing your sandals around the pool - as the temperatures reach above 100, the pool decks can get quite hot. The music and atmosphere at bluEmber are one of our favorite aspects of the property and we are pleased you found all-around enjoyment there! We hope to see you again for a future celebration!

Sincerely,
Rancho Las Palmas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Our family of 4 arrived at Rancho Las Palmas on a Sunday July 1st around 6pm. The resort grounds are beautiful! We checked in and upon arriving in our room I quickly noticed a musty smell, the carpet was damp to my bare feet in spots. I am not sure if this was from the guest before us, or I am hoping maybe they had cleaned the carpets and they were just not dry yet! I had high expectaions that were not met 2 full size beds, the chair in the room had at least 6 "spots" on it. No, we did not sit in that chair! I know there are a lot of families with children that stay here but I would hope they would at least spot the chair after each stay...and cobwebs up above the TV! We were in room 1110.
Anyways, we went to check out the pool and the grounds were covered with trash, really covered. Almost like you dont want to take your flip flops off at the pool! It was late on a weekend so maybe they couldnt keep up with the trash??? Monday morning the pool grounds looked clean although both times when going to get towels the person that checks out the towels was no where to be found...the brunch for breakfast at the Blu Ember was very pricey, $75 for 2 adults and 2 kids ages 9 and 12. The alternative for breakfast was to leave the resort or a casual walk through coffee stop, no sit down.
After checking out we stayed at the pool a while, I went to purchase a Icee for me and my boys at the poolside Snowcone/Slurpee place well, after waiting at least 10 min in line they say they only take room key credit or credit cards. Since we had checked out I had no key and only had cash...what a bummer! But like I said before the grounds were beautiful! I should mention that after reviewing my credit card statement today they charged me an unknown charge on my card. I have put a call into the resort and emailed them and have not heard back yet!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hawaii555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RanchoLasPalmas, Manager at Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

Dear Hawaii555,

We appreciate the time you've taken to review your experience and for bringing some very important issues to our attention. The cleanliness and comfort of our guests' rooms are of the utmost importance and we will forward this information on to the director. And we will gladly alert the staff of your billing issue and expedite correspondence. It's great to hear you enjoyed the beauty of the property and we would like to thank you for choosing to bring your family here!

Sincerely,
Rancho Las Palmas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

There is something very inviting about Las Palmas. While the setting of Rancho Mirage can enthrall anyone looking for relaxation, you might think that this family friendly hotel would be spoiled with the sound of kids screaming while enjoying the many pools. That is not the case.

When I want to relax, I want to relax and the adult pool allows that. This hotel is also pet friendly and while the rooms may need a slight refurbishment, there is something very relaxing and home like that offer a respite from the many kids that inhabit the grounds. Is it the golf course? The spacious grounds? The overall desert setting? I think they all contribute to a hotel that provides just what you want when you want to relax.

And if you want, it's only a short trip to Palm Springs for a little more excitement when you are too relaxed.

Room Tip: Rooms that aren't adjacent to pool would provide the least amount of noise.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dbalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RanchoLasPalmas, Manager at Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

Dear dbalex,

Nothing pleases us more than to here of a wonderfully relaxing stay from a guest. We are happy we could provide that certain something for you. We strive to create the very best experience for all guest types, and it sounds like you found the perfect solace at the Tranquility pool. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and we hope to see you on your next desert getaway.

Sincerely,
Rancho Las Palmas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rancho Mirage
2.6 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
4.1 mi away
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
#1 of 8 in Rancho Mirage
937 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Rancho Mirage
2.7 mi away
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
6.7 mi away
La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa

Address: 41000 Bob Hope Drive, Rancho Mirage, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92270-4416
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Rancho Mirage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#2 Family Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#2 Business Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rancho Mirage
Price Range: $219 - $487 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Omni Hotels & Resorts, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho Las Palmas Hotel Rancho Mirage
Rancho Las Palmas Resort And Spa
Rancho Las Palmas Resort Spa
Rancho Palmas Resort
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa Rancho Mirage, CA - California Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing