We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good”
Review of Naan House

Naan House
Ranked #83 of 103 Restaurants in Rancho Mirage
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
Ranco miarge
1 review
“Not good”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Me and wife went here on Saturday night and we ordered paneer chili spicy and it came out so sweet and garlic naan barely had any garlic on it . Not recommend

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 89luc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    9
    6
    6
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“We'll Be Back”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We chanced to come across Naan House on the very first Sunday night the restaurant was open and found it very quiet although we understand that it is sometimes hard to get a table at other times. We enjoyed extremely attentive and friendly service. Perhaps this was because word hadn't spread about Sunday night openings or perhaps this is the way guests are always treated.
First impressions were very good with divine aromas from the kitchen and immaculate white tablecloths and brown napkins on all the tables. Pappadoms came with two condiments as a complimentary appetizer before the meal. Two of us shared one order of chicken tikka masala, one order of vegetable korma, two orders of naan, and a large plate of rice. Our preference was for mild and the dishes came quickly, beautifully seasoned, and delicious. The portions were generous for two and boxes were provided to pack the extras for lunch the next day. We will definitely be back again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Just2LetUKnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great restaurant addition to the Valley”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

This is a small, family-run establishment. The service is quite good and they appear to be trying very hard to please their customers. I've now been there three times -- once for dinner and twice for the lunch buffet. They charge an additional $2.00 for the weekend buffet, although I didn't see much of a difference from the mid-week selection.

The chicken curry is quite good. The chicken is moist and the curry sauce has a good flavor without an overpowering curry taste. I also enjoyed the mushroom masa very much. This dish had more punch to it. The only disappointment has been the tandoori chicken. The pieces are small and dry. The naan bread is very good.

Dinner cost about $25 per person with two entrees, naan, rice, beverages. The items we ordered would not be on the buffet, so it was a nice change. The buffet is an excellent value where the rice, bread, and soft drink is included in the price.

Overall, I like this restaurant and will visit frequently. I just wish they would work on the tandoori chicken. If they did, I'd be there every week.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelswithdiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathedral City, California
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent choice for Indian cuisine”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

I love Northern Indian cuisine. Lots of vegetables and not greasy. Very spicy foods aren't my favorite though and I was most pleased that they cheerfully made my chicken tikka masala a little milder. That's one of my favorite dishes and it was as good as I've ever had. The garden salad I had on the side not so impressive. Nothing was wrong with it, just a little generic and industrial and not up to the standards of the rest of the meal. The restaurant is fairly new and the decor will be filled in. All in all a very, very nice family run establishment. An excellent choice for Indian cuisine. If you're looking to try something new stop in. Great food, thanks. I'll be back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank psppete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food and excellent service”
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

This place just opened across from Costco in the Rancho 16 parking lot. The food is delicious, especially the naan. We had chicken karma and another chicken dish (muttar paneer?). Service is very attentive and welcoming. We'll be back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Salagator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Naan House also viewed

Cathedral City, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
 
Rancho Mirage, Greater Palm Springs
Rancho Mirage, Greater Palm Springs
 

Been to Naan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing