We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,069)
Filter reviews
1,069 results
Traveler rating
580
302
120
45
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
580
302
120
45
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfull kitchenpremium villabedroom villawasher and dryergolf courseeast poolpalm springsthe main hoteltime sharebbq grillstarwood vacationmain poolcovered parkingqueen bedseasons grillparking feehotel pool
Filter
Updating list...
906 - 911 of 1,069 reviews
Reviewed December 5, 2010

I don't usually write a review that is negative unless I really feel things can be improved by the management and maybe they read these reviews!!! We traded our Mariott property into this resort. I have always admired the Westin properties that we have stayed in the past. However, this property just didn't make one feel welcome. It was almost as if we were being penalized for not being a "Westin" owner. Our first encounter with this feeling was at the check-in. We were told we basically couldn't get any of the requests we had made for our room (even though I had been earlier told on the phone to request certain things and there would be no problem). The receptionist had either an attitude or just didn't know her job as she had us wait while she made several phone calls to see where they would "put" us. We told her that we didn't have to check-in right away and would wait for a better room location to come up. She then offered us two different rooms and for us to look at them and tell her which one we preferred. We did so and she told us they would call us when the room was ready. After an hour or so we received the call and when we got to the reception desk the wrong room was being assigned to us. We explained that this was not the room that she had told us was ours and we were then told that room was only half cleaned. We told her we would wait. We did and got into the correct room which was in a very nice, quiet location and very nicely decorated, etc. We enjoyed our week stay in a 2 bedroom villa (another couple joined us during the week). The pools, grounds and restaurants were all to our likings. So, at check-out we received our bill and noticed a $190 charge for golf. We did not play golf at the resort. When we called on this we were told to come to the reception desk when we were leaving and it would be immediately credited. Yea, right!!! I don't know why the people that you are first meeting at this resort don't know their job. We were told we had to go to the golf pro shop and have them look up their records for the date of the charge. This is not located in the same area and we wondered why the reception desk and the pro shop couldn't just handle it themselves. We went to the pro shop and yes, they couldn't find any where that we had played golf. Seems our room was charged in error, but their computer was down and they couldn't credit us. So back to the reception area as the pro shop called them and told them to credit us at the check-out. Okay, they had no idea how to credit us and said the adjustment had to come from the pro shop!!! I finally had to say that I was only going to pay my bill minus the $190 and would not allow them to charge me. If they did I would be putting a dispute on my card. It finally ended that she only charged me for our stay. Just very frustrating as it took us over an hour to check-out. We did enjoy our week in the desert, but will stay at our Marriott properties for now on.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ilava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMMoran, Manager at The Westin Mission Hills Villas, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2010

Thank you very much for your feedback and informing us of your arrival experience and issues with your bill when you departed. Certainly this is not indicative of that which we educate and train our team on, and we will learn from this and improve. We are glad that you found your unit to your satisfaction and that you enjoyed your stay; we only wish that we had delivered on the front and back end. Again, your feedback is a gift and we will share this with our front desk team so that we do learn from it and improve the service that we offer. Thank you again and I am confident that we would change your mind about our resort should you be inclined to provide with with another opportunity to serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2010

We have just returned from a 2 week stay at this resort .All and all a successful vacation with a few glitches. The resort advertizes itself as a non smoking resort yet we were driven indoors by smokers above us and beside us. Why not designate a couple of smoking areas like the parking lot by building 40 and perhaps a couple near the main barbeque areas.. A lot of resorts are now taking this approach so that non smokers and asthmatics alike can enjoy the great outdoors without being driven inside by inconsiderant smokers .

The Bed was Heavenly, the unit needs a few upgrades .carpet pretty threadbare and didn't look very clean. We purchased decent wine glasses and a small bamboo chopping block, Some there hasn't figured out that Glass chopping block destroy the edge of the Knives.. Thats why we bought s Knife sharpener cause you couldn't slit your throat with their knives even if you tried.

The TVs are ancient we couldn't watch DV DS that we brought from Home because the color was so bad. I Understand they are being replaced next year-why wait for spring Do it Now !

That said, the resort is gorgeous, with lots of water features and exquisate landscaping which was constantly being tended. The front desk and concierge rated from barely acceptable to very good. depended who was working. When I asked at the front desk if there was some way I could get my web check boarding passes I was told we don't do that.. so I tried another approach and went to the Concierge desk and was told of course we have a business center and showed us the way. The same lady who didnt tell us that they had a business center also didn t know anything about the neighborhood or where any thing was. We discovered if we went in the A.M a charming lady of Mexican heritage went out of her way to help.. if we went in the afternoon a heavy set American was almost rude
So theres the good and the bad.. we had a wonderful holiday and now we know what to expect look forward to our next stay there.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yucatanLover_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMMoran, Manager at The Westin Mission Hills Villas, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2010

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent visit. We are so glad that you had a nice visit with us and we look forward to taking care of you on your next visit! Thank you for your suggestions about designating smoking areas, the kitchen knives and the televisions. We do our best to find a balance with smoking areas and will continue to work with our resort Board of Directors to be sensitive to all. We have a process in place to shrpen kitchen knives and I have visited with our Housekeeping Director to share your comments with him. Like you, we'd love to replace all the televisions right now, however, this is a 6 figure project and the money is set aside in 2011; we'll have all units completed in the first quarter. Our team will continue to work to ensure that we provide consistent service; I am disappointed that we let you down in a couple of areas. We use feedback such as yours as gifts and our teams take their service personally, and we have shared this with them. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us and again, we look forward to the opportunity to serve you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2010

We would absolutely stay here again! We did encounter one problem when we checked into our room, we noticed used towels, a water bottle and that someone had sat on the bed. It seems that someone had checked out and then used the room again later in the afternoon. We called the front desk to report this and immediately the villa operation manager Jeff Gluch was knocking on the door. He took care of the situation and moved us to another identical premium villa just 2 doors down. He also gave us a $60.00 credit at the villa to use at the lounge or the 2 restaurants on the premises. Everyone from the check in with Bill to the consierge Robin were accommodating and friendly. I would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CallieCapeCod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMMoran, Manager at The Westin Mission Hills Villas, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2010

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at our resort! We truly appreciate your comments and feedback. Please accept our apologies for what took place when you arrived. I am glad that Jeff rectified the situation immediately so that you could get back to getting your vacation started and enjoying the resort. I will share your comments with Jeff, Bill and Robin, as they will be thrilled that they were able to make such a positive impression on you. Thank you again and we look forward to serving you on your next visit to the Westin Mission Hills Resort Villas!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2010

Pro: The rooms and furnishings seemed fairly new, the bed was very comfortable and everything worked. The staff at the front desk and the concierge were very patient, friendly and helpful. There are five well-kept pools, ranging from small and quiet to huge and frolicking; one has its own bar and another is made for length swimming.

Palm Springs (actually one of a series of grown-together independent cities along the highway) offers a lot to see and do, with some excellent shopping, acceptably good dining and good scenery and hiking trails. The nearby reservation has some idyllic oases, well worth the admission cost. Although we did not golf there, there are supposed to be over 100 course in the immediate area. There is good dining (El Gallito is outstanding if you like Mexican food).

The Thursday night street festival is also worth seeing - about six block of vendors, artists and musicians.

The 'tram', a cable-car going up a nearby mountain, is also well worth doing, but be warned - it drops at least 20-30º on your way up; if a breeze comes up, it can be cold! Take a jacket and wear long pants.

The resort is rather large, but there is a very convenient shuttle service. On our arrival, one of the drivers, lacking other passengers, took the time to give us a guided tour - very friendly,

Con: Rancho Mirage, the city in which the place is actually located, essentially consists of a series of gated communities, with all shopping places carefully camouflaged. Make sure you know where you are going because it's easy to spend a lot of time driving around looking for a gas station or something. Outside Rancho Mirage, things are more open and easy to find.

Unless you plan to dine out a lot, ask for a kitchen as the kitchenettes are tiny.

While the rooms were clean enough, there was a singular, curious ineptitude in the housekeeping system. When we checked in, we noticed that the blender was broken and that we were missing a dinner plate. We reported that to housekeeping and in due course somebody showed up with a new blender - only. He seemed surprised to hear that we were missing a plate but promised to bring one. Instead, the next day, we got four extra towels which would have been added to our bill had we not told the desk we had not asked for them. The third day, we noticed we were missing the pancake flipper and the kitchen scissors; when we reported those, we also asked for some more hand lotion and for the missing plate. We never got the lotion, but we did get *four* plates. Eventually, somebody also showed up with the flipper (in the end, we gave up on the scissors - and the non-functioning can-opener). There were salt and pepper shakers - both factory-empty. (If there is some concern about liability or something, why provide them at all?)

It was puzzling - these were not lazy people, nor stupid ones. If anything, they were trying really hard to meet our requests, but it seemed that they and we were always just a half-wavelength off frequency.

Oh, final point, for those who like to frequent Duty Free on the flight out, don't believe the concierge when she tells you that there are four duty free shops in the airport. There aren't - not even one.

All in all, nice place. Just pack your own coffee filters, salt and pepper.

Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank TrexN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMMoran, Manager at The Westin Mission Hills Villas, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2010

Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know about your experience. We appreciate the detail and are glad that you enjoyed your visit to the desert! We appreciate and value your feedback on our housekeeping department. We are better than this and will learn from it. Thank you again and we look forward to serving you again on your next visit to the desert!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2010

The villas are spacious with the most scenic views. The villa was clean, the staff courteous and helpful. The villa manager Jeffrey Gluch was especially accomodating. There were many pools to choose from and easy to get to either by walking or shuttle service.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boyntonbeachclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMMoran, Manager at The Westin Mission Hills Villas, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2010

Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know about your experience at our resort. We are thrilled that you had such a pleasant stay. We especially appreciate the comments about Jeff. He does a great job taking care of our guests and always goes the extra mile to ensure complete satisfaction; we will be sure to share your comments with him. Thank you again and we look forward to providing you with another memorable experience on your next visit to the Westin Mission Hills Resort Villas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews