We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,069)
Filter reviews
1,069 results
Traveler rating
580
302
120
45
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
580
302
120
45
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfull kitchenpremium villabedroom villawasher and dryergolf courseeast poolpalm springsthe main hoteltime sharebbq grillstarwood vacationmain poolcovered parkingqueen bedseasons grillparking feehotel pool
Filter
Updating list...
907 - 912 of 1,069 reviews
Reviewed November 22, 2010

We have just returned from a 2 week stay at this resort .All and all a successful vacation with a few glitches. The resort advertizes itself as a non smoking resort yet we were driven indoors by smokers above us and beside us. Why not designate a couple of smoking areas like the parking lot by building 40 and perhaps a couple near the main barbeque areas.. A lot of resorts are now taking this approach so that non smokers and asthmatics alike can enjoy the great outdoors without being driven inside by inconsiderant smokers .

The Bed was Heavenly, the unit needs a few upgrades .carpet pretty threadbare and didn't look very clean. We purchased decent wine glasses and a small bamboo chopping block, Some there hasn't figured out that Glass chopping block destroy the edge of the Knives.. Thats why we bought s Knife sharpener cause you couldn't slit your throat with their knives even if you tried.

The TVs are ancient we couldn't watch DV DS that we brought from Home because the color was so bad. I Understand they are being replaced next year-why wait for spring Do it Now !

That said, the resort is gorgeous, with lots of water features and exquisate landscaping which was constantly being tended. The front desk and concierge rated from barely acceptable to very good. depended who was working. When I asked at the front desk if there was some way I could get my web check boarding passes I was told we don't do that.. so I tried another approach and went to the Concierge desk and was told of course we have a business center and showed us the way. The same lady who didnt tell us that they had a business center also didn t know anything about the neighborhood or where any thing was. We discovered if we went in the A.M a charming lady of Mexican heritage went out of her way to help.. if we went in the afternoon a heavy set American was almost rude
So theres the good and the bad.. we had a wonderful holiday and now we know what to expect look forward to our next stay there.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yucatanLover_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMMoran, Manager at The Westin Mission Hills Villas, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2010

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent visit. We are so glad that you had a nice visit with us and we look forward to taking care of you on your next visit! Thank you for your suggestions about designating smoking areas, the kitchen knives and the televisions. We do our best to find a balance with smoking areas and will continue to work with our resort Board of Directors to be sensitive to all. We have a process in place to shrpen kitchen knives and I have visited with our Housekeeping Director to share your comments with him. Like you, we'd love to replace all the televisions right now, however, this is a 6 figure project and the money is set aside in 2011; we'll have all units completed in the first quarter. Our team will continue to work to ensure that we provide consistent service; I am disappointed that we let you down in a couple of areas. We use feedback such as yours as gifts and our teams take their service personally, and we have shared this with them. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us and again, we look forward to the opportunity to serve you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2010

We would absolutely stay here again! We did encounter one problem when we checked into our room, we noticed used towels, a water bottle and that someone had sat on the bed. It seems that someone had checked out and then used the room again later in the afternoon. We called the front desk to report this and immediately the villa operation manager Jeff Gluch was knocking on the door. He took care of the situation and moved us to another identical premium villa just 2 doors down. He also gave us a $60.00 credit at the villa to use at the lounge or the 2 restaurants on the premises. Everyone from the check in with Bill to the consierge Robin were accommodating and friendly. I would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CallieCapeCod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMMoran, Manager at The Westin Mission Hills Villas, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2010

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at our resort! We truly appreciate your comments and feedback. Please accept our apologies for what took place when you arrived. I am glad that Jeff rectified the situation immediately so that you could get back to getting your vacation started and enjoying the resort. I will share your comments with Jeff, Bill and Robin, as they will be thrilled that they were able to make such a positive impression on you. Thank you again and we look forward to serving you on your next visit to the Westin Mission Hills Resort Villas!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2010

Pro: The rooms and furnishings seemed fairly new, the bed was very comfortable and everything worked. The staff at the front desk and the concierge were very patient, friendly and helpful. There are five well-kept pools, ranging from small and quiet to huge and frolicking; one has its own bar and another is made for length swimming.

Palm Springs (actually one of a series of grown-together independent cities along the highway) offers a lot to see and do, with some excellent shopping, acceptably good dining and good scenery and hiking trails. The nearby reservation has some idyllic oases, well worth the admission cost. Although we did not golf there, there are supposed to be over 100 course in the immediate area. There is good dining (El Gallito is outstanding if you like Mexican food).

The Thursday night street festival is also worth seeing - about six block of vendors, artists and musicians.

The 'tram', a cable-car going up a nearby mountain, is also well worth doing, but be warned - it drops at least 20-30º on your way up; if a breeze comes up, it can be cold! Take a jacket and wear long pants.

The resort is rather large, but there is a very convenient shuttle service. On our arrival, one of the drivers, lacking other passengers, took the time to give us a guided tour - very friendly,

Con: Rancho Mirage, the city in which the place is actually located, essentially consists of a series of gated communities, with all shopping places carefully camouflaged. Make sure you know where you are going because it's easy to spend a lot of time driving around looking for a gas station or something. Outside Rancho Mirage, things are more open and easy to find.

Unless you plan to dine out a lot, ask for a kitchen as the kitchenettes are tiny.

While the rooms were clean enough, there was a singular, curious ineptitude in the housekeeping system. When we checked in, we noticed that the blender was broken and that we were missing a dinner plate. We reported that to housekeeping and in due course somebody showed up with a new blender - only. He seemed surprised to hear that we were missing a plate but promised to bring one. Instead, the next day, we got four extra towels which would have been added to our bill had we not told the desk we had not asked for them. The third day, we noticed we were missing the pancake flipper and the kitchen scissors; when we reported those, we also asked for some more hand lotion and for the missing plate. We never got the lotion, but we did get *four* plates. Eventually, somebody also showed up with the flipper (in the end, we gave up on the scissors - and the non-functioning can-opener). There were salt and pepper shakers - both factory-empty. (If there is some concern about liability or something, why provide them at all?)

It was puzzling - these were not lazy people, nor stupid ones. If anything, they were trying really hard to meet our requests, but it seemed that they and we were always just a half-wavelength off frequency.

Oh, final point, for those who like to frequent Duty Free on the flight out, don't believe the concierge when she tells you that there are four duty free shops in the airport. There aren't - not even one.

All in all, nice place. Just pack your own coffee filters, salt and pepper.

Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank TrexN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMMoran, Manager at The Westin Mission Hills Villas, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2010

Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know about your experience. We appreciate the detail and are glad that you enjoyed your visit to the desert! We appreciate and value your feedback on our housekeeping department. We are better than this and will learn from it. Thank you again and we look forward to serving you again on your next visit to the desert!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2010

The villas are spacious with the most scenic views. The villa was clean, the staff courteous and helpful. The villa manager Jeffrey Gluch was especially accomodating. There were many pools to choose from and easy to get to either by walking or shuttle service.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boyntonbeachclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMMoran, Manager at The Westin Mission Hills Villas, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2010

Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know about your experience at our resort. We are thrilled that you had such a pleasant stay. We especially appreciate the comments about Jeff. He does a great job taking care of our guests and always goes the extra mile to ensure complete satisfaction; we will be sure to share your comments with him. Thank you again and we look forward to providing you with another memorable experience on your next visit to the Westin Mission Hills Resort Villas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2010

First off I would like to say that we are owners here at the Westin Mission Hills Villas. We are also owners at Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas in Maui and Westin Laguanmar in Cancun. We normally travel quite a bit locally and otherwise. Like most the last two years have been challenging for us financially so all of our vacations have been to the Palm Springs area as we live in So Cal. We have had more fun staying local and going to the Westin Mission Hills Villas than when we go to Maui. Yes, we love Maui, but going to the Westin Mission Hills Villas has been so much fun with our family and friends. Our group this June was 60 people. We buy getaways on Interval for about $300 for the entire week for our family and friends. Cant beat that!
Now for the super postive review... The staff here is what makes this place. Throughout the years several members of staff have helped us, but Ester is the one who just goes beyond any service we have ever had. When I arrive I am greeted like a friend. Everyone at the front desk is so helpful and friendly. The pool attendants are awesome! We know them well and they greet our family in the same way as the front desk. They work so hard in that hot sun. Whether we have a cabana or we are just poolside they make sure we are taken care of all day. Honestly, I could go on and on about the staff.
The rooms are great. We get first floor rooms that open to the grass, streams and bridges. Each large one bedroom has their own BBQ's. The bedrooms are large. The bathrooms are large. It is just so comfy.
There is a walkway that goes from the villas all the way down to the end of the main hotel and is just great for jogging and walking in the morning. It is just gorgeous.
We go to the main hotel at night and have some cocktails at the lobby lounge area. Great spot to end the day. In the winter they have an outdoor firepit that they spark up. Of course several members of our group go golfing and just really wont shut up about it after because they have so much fun.
Agua Caliente is at the corner and has a great lounge with live entertainment and super cheap cocktails! I mean cheap.
I could really go on and on. This place is just our most favorite place. It is local and everyone can find a way to go with the great getaway prices we get from Interval. I am thinking that 2011 will be an even bigger group. We love the Westin Mission Hills and just really thank the staff for the years that they have given us in making awesome memories!
The only thing that I think they are missing is... a daily drink special. At least one or two daily signature drinks that are on special for $5 or $6. Westin Kaanapali does it. They have one drink that is on special all day. I just went to the new Westin Desert Willow and they had two drinks on special all day for like $6. We want to support the hotel and spend some money there, but with drinks at $10-$14 we just cant (sorry).
Again, the place is great, the staff is great and we just love it!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappySoCalTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMMoran, Manager at The Westin Mission Hills Villas, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2010

Thank you very much for the feedback and especially for the comments about Ester and our pool attendants! Our team prides itself on providing personalized and instinctive service and I actually remember Ester talking to the entire team about your impending visit and room needs. We will share your comments with her; I know she will be thrilled! We truly appreciate you taking the time to provide details of your visit and the team looks forward to serving you again on a return visit to your home resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews