We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't ever go back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Rancho Mirage
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 6, 2007

We made the mistake of booking here instead of the hotel. Filthy room does not even come close to describing this place. The locks on the door were broken. The bed is rock hard and the only thing "heavenly" about was leaving.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wine2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (942)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

892 - 898 of 943 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2007

We traded our Cabo San Lucas studio through Interval International for a one bedroom unit at Westin Mission Hills Villas. We were very pleased with our unit. The staff was able to fill my request for a view, second story and away from the common areas. Housekeeping came in the middle of the week to replace the towels and toiletries. They provided us with start up kit for the kitchen which included laundry detergent as each unit has a washer and dryer. Only the two bedroom units were equiped with a barbecue, but there was a barbecue in the common area near our unit which we used once and enjoyed our steak outside on our private patio. We were only "bothered" with time shares sales pitches when we visited the consierge in person, who constantly wanted us to sign up for a hour and half presentation, which we did not. When I called them from my room, they were very helpful and provided me with good information regarding restaurants, attractions, etc. and did not say anything about the time share presentation. We spent most of our time around the "adult" pool; however, the hotel won't call it that; they just say it is their "quiet" pool. Never saw any children around as there is another pool for them which includes a water slide. We spent one afternoon at that pool and enjoyed the pool side service which is not available at the "quiet" pool. The pool and hot tubs were always working and very clean. Spent every morning walking around the property on the jogging path. Property is very clean and well maintained. Did not eat at any of the property restaurants, but each had patio dining. Parking was plentiful and free. They provide an internet kiosk (fee based) for those who don't bring their laptops. There is a DVD player in each unit and a movie rental kiosk in the lobby. These are very pricy, so I would suggest bringing your Blockbuster Video membership card if you plan to rent a bunch of movies for the evenings. I would return to Westin Mission Hills Villas.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Wildlife1Alaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2007

Just returned from a 4 night stay at a villa on the first floor. We checked in at night, and due to the lateness of the hour for our 2 young kids, we decided to order room service. There was no room service menu in our room and we had to wait 45 minutes just to get the menu, then another hour for the food, which was inedible and very costly. ($71 for a way-overcooked hamburger, 2 PBJ sandwiches, a corned beef sandwich and 4 drinks).

At the same time, we realized we needed a rollaway bed and it took 3 phone calls and again, over an hour wait for the bed. Then it was delivered with no pillows, nor were there any extras in the room for the pullout couch bed. All this for $450 per night!?!

On the phone before check-in, we were told that there were no laundry facilities on the premises. Well, the first closet door we opened-voila!-a washer and dryer. The hotel's own staff does not seem to realize that there is a distinction between the villas and the hotel!
At times it was very difficult to get ahold of the front desk. And anytime I went there in person, there was a wait, as there was only one attendant.
The concierge service was quite brusque-they were very unhelpful in helping my husband arrange a rental car for a biz trip he had to make to Anaheim during our stay. And watch out for the 'welcome packet' they try to give you...it is a thinly veiled attempt to get you to buy a time-share.
On the plus side-the room was clean and spacious, even though there were some hoppy, cricket-like things on the floor. The grounds are beautiful too.
If overhead noise from the second floor bothers you, make sure you ask for the second floor, not the ground floor, as the noise was quite loud at times.
I would imagine that for the price, there are better options...unfortunately the Marriott was under renovation, which is what led us to the Westin in the first place. But I would not stay here again.

Stayed: February 2007
5  Thank NewJerseyNancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2006

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank breezykeezy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2006

Stayed: October 2006
3  Thank golfette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2006

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ManzanitaDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2006

  • Stayed: September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SoCaliforniaFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rancho Mirage
3.4 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
0.5 mi away
Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa
4.1 mi away
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Rancho Mirage
7.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa
4.3 mi away
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Mission Hills Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Mission Hills Villas

Address: 71777 Dinah Shore Dr, Rancho Mirage, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92270-1603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Rancho Mirage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#2 Green Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#4 Business Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rancho Mirage
Price Range: $189 - $470 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Mission Hills Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Mission Hills Resort & Villas is nestled in the Coachella Valley at the base of California's San Jacinto Mountains in the secluded desert oasis known as Rancho Mirage. As a AAA Four Diamond-rated resort, this world-class golf and spa destination promises infinite rejuvenation. Nearby, a mecca of cultural, historical, shopping and outdoor adventure awaits you. Enjoy spacious one and two-bedroom villas with fully equipped kitchens, washers and dryers, private balconies or patios, separate dining and living room areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin Mission Hills Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Mission Hills Villas Hotel Rancho Mirage
Westin Mission Hills Hotel
Westin Rancho Mirage
Rancho Mirage Westin
The Westin Mission Hills Villas Rancho Mirage, CA - California Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing