We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had such a good time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Rancho Mirage
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 31, 2014

We come from Montréal Canada and exchanged our week in Orlando for a week in Rancho Mirage to celebrate my birthday. We had a villa in Building 31 FACING the golf course and on the second floor...since we had my daughter and son in law with us we had the adjoining lockout. CLEAN COMFORTABLE AND UP TO STANDARDS... The maids and employées were always smiling and every time we needed some info or help there was someone there for us... We used the ADULT ONLY pool on the hôtel permises and it was soooo peaceful... Never had to wait too long for a shuttle... We ate at the Pizimini restaurant (the hotel's restaurant) and the four of us enjoyed our dinner(we had différent dishes)... We booked a tour called PALM SPRING LIFE TOUR, A DESERT VORTEX ADVENTURE, and we were EXTREMELY SATISFIED... THE TOUR GUIDE, THE SITES WE VISITED, THE LUNCH, ALL WAS VERY GOOD AND UP TO OUR EXPECTATIONS... I EVEN GOT A BIRTHDAY PRÉSENT... We HIGHLY recommend it... We also went aboard the PALM SPRINGS AERIAL TRAMWAY... What an expérience... We had a wonderful stay and enjoyed every moment... We highly recommand this resort...
J and G Thiessen

Room Tip: Second flour and FACING the golf course was perfect for us
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Jocelyne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan K, Manager at The Westin Mission Hills Villas, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Jocelyne M, thank you for sharing your great experience at our resort. I am so happy to read that you had such a good time with us in the desert. Also, thank you for choosing to stay with us to celebrate your birthday!!! We hope to have the opportunity to host you again at the Westin Mission Hills Resort & Villas. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (935)
There are newer reviews for The Westin Mission Hills Villas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

367 - 373 of 935 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2014

Being a Starwood multiple owner we looked at the 2 resorts in Rancho Mirage, Mission Hills and Desert Willows (about a 5 minute ride down the road). We chose this place as the Desert Willows site had pools with a large water slide and we thought that this one would be quieter, but not so.

We had planned activities the day we arrived so we arrived at the resort about 10:30 PM. We had a 2 bedroom lock-off on the second floor overlooking the golf course, which is at the back of the property. To start things off none of the first set of keys worked in any of the two doors. The Parking is terrible and especially at night you end up far away from your room. Bye the way that night there was no breeze and the temperature was about 94 degrees as registered in the car on the way in. After finally getting keys that worked I looked for the MarketPlace to get some wine so we could relax after a long day. I believe that this is the only Starwood resort that does not have it's own MarketPlace, At this resort the MarketPlace is at the adjacent Westin hotel 0.3 miles down the path.

We were lucky to get a ride on a golf type cart to the hotel. When we were dropped off the driver told us we could catch a ride back where we were dropped off. After we purchased some items we went out front that was now totally vacant with a sign on outside desk to dial 0 for assistance. I called and explained that we were looking for a ride back to the villas. After waiting 15+ minutes we just started to walk back. We finally got a ride only a block or two from our room.

The stairway and the hallway on the second floor of our building were covered with debris that was there the entire week we were there. On the Saturday that we checked out they finally hosed it down.

You get a number of messages during the week about events at the main lobby. Part of the message from the concierge was that she was there to assist you with any activities. Later that week we were looking to go to the San Jacinto Aerial Tramway. The site suggests buying tickets on-line. When I went to the lobby and asked I was told to use the business center if I wanted to print off tickets.

Overall the room was okay, but was not that clean. One night I decided to use the hot tub. When I started to rinse it out there was considerable dust that we had to wash down the drain. After it was filled and started to run more dirt came out of the jets. They do wipe down the main table tops, but the shelves below have a coat of dust on them. We used the washer & dryer later in the week and the area between them had dirt that had to have been there for many years.

Some of the quirks of this resort. The single small bottles of shampoo and conditioner are free, but if you want more they charge you for them. They also have a policy that there are absolutely no late check-outs which is at 10 AM. I have stayed at a number of other Starwood resorts and if you see a maid and ask for anything they load you down with amenties, but hot this resort. They have a hard wire for the internet, but it didn't work so I just used the much slower wifi. For owners it is free, but if you are not an owner check out the fee.

One day we stopped by the Desert Willows resort. This is a much newer resort very close to this one and they have ample parking. The Desert Willows is immaculate. We walked out to the pool and to our surprise it was extremely quiet with about 1/2 the people around the pool. Looking at the StarOptions (owner costs) they are the same so I imagine the costs for non-owners would be similar.

Room Tip: Go the the Westin Desert Willows Resort instead
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ralph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan K, Manager at The Westin Mission Hills Villas, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Ralph G, thank you for sharing your comment about your experience. Please accept my apologies for all the challenges with your stay. I will share all your comments with our team so we can evolve and deliver the experience we, and all our owners expect. At your convenience, I would enjoy the opportunity to connect with you and offer a more personal apology, and learn more about your experience. Once again, thanks for your feedback and I look forward to connecting.

Jonathan Karp – Director of Operations
Jonathan.karp@westin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We spent one night, two days at the Villas (building 45). Everything was excellent. The room was modern, new and fresh. We went to both pool areas were very nice. Our kids, 10 and 15, enjoyed the slide at the Villas pool the most. We will come back next year.

Within one mile there are plenty of grocery stores: CostCo, Sams Club, Super Wal-Mart and Vons.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room, close to the stairs. Ours was in the middle -between the staircases. It...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TravelJunkySoCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan K, Manager at The Westin Mission Hills Villas, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2014

TravelJunkySoCall, thank you for writing about your experience with us here at the Westin Mission Hills Resort & Villas. I am so happy to read that you and your family had a fantastic stay with us this summer. Thank you for sharing your great experience and we look forward to seeing you again next year. Be Well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Having exchanged my timeshare many times in the past, I would say this was one of the better exchanges. The 2 bedroom exchange for us was a premium one bedroom unit with the connecting lock-off one bedroom unit. This worked out perfect for my teenage sons who basically had their own unit to themselves. Yes, some things need repair as others have commented, but it's nothing drastic. The units are very clean and the grounds are well cared for. The pool and slide were a big plus considering the temps were into the 110's while we were there. The bbq grill on the patio was also a big plus. Overall, we were very happy with our stay.

PS - the beds are amazing!! Very comfy. I am a light sleeper. I had no trouble sleeping each night!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank PhilipT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan K, Manager at The Westin Mission Hills Villas, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2014

PhillipT, thank you for sharing your great feedback about our resort. I am thrilled to read that you had a pleasurable stay with us as well as choosing to exchange your timeshare and stay with us. Also, I am glad to know you enjoyed our Heavenly Bed!! Thanks again for sharing your comments and we look forward to seeing you again at Westin in the future. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

The wife and I got away on a 'babymoon' before the baby comes and we just wanted a replace to relax an unwind. This resort was all of that. The service staff was friendly and they went out of their way to make us happy. They upgraded us to a premium villa and all we did was ask. We will be returning here. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rcampbell34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan K, Manager at The Westin Mission Hills Villas, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2014

Rcampbell34, thank you for sharing your experience at our resort. I am so happy to read that you had a great visit with us. Also, congratulations on your soon-to-be newest member to your family!! Thank you for choosing to unwind with us for your babymoon and we truly look forward to your return!! All the best and Be Well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for approximately 10 days at the westin villas and had the most helpful staff encounters. Concierge staff especially Donna was so helpful with everything. Front desk manager Alex was also great! Marketing manager Kelly made my daughter feel special on her birthday. I can't say enough about how the staff treated us and we will surely return.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan K, Manager at The Westin Mission Hills Villas, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2014

Kim S, thank you for sharing your great experience at the Westin Mission Hills Resort & Villas. I am so thrilled to read you received the best customer service ever! Thank you for recognizing Donna, Alex, & Kelly for making your time with us a memorable stay. We will celebrate your comments with the entire team. Thanks again for the great feedback and we look forward to seeing you and your family again. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

do not pay attention to the negative reviews of this resort - for the price (we paid $85 plus parking for a suite with a kitchenette), it doesn't get any better. spacious rooms, great pool, fantastic game room, excellent food, wonderful grounds with b-b-ques and trails...everything you need on premesis. i've been coming to the desert for 40 years and this is the best, most affordable place i've found to enjoy the warmth of the desert with a family.

Room Tip: upstairs is always better in case of loud neighbors. and bring a cruiser bike or razor scooter to ge...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BOB760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan K, Manager at The Westin Mission Hills Villas, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

BOB760, thank you for sharing your great experience at our resort. I am so happy to read that you had a great visit with your family and enjoyed all the amenities of the resort. Thanks for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again at the Westin Mission Hills Resort & Villas. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rancho Mirage
3.4 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
1.0 mi away
Agua Caliente Casino Resort Spa
Agua Caliente Casino Resort Spa
#6 of 8 in Rancho Mirage
592 reviews
0.5 mi away
Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
3.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Rancho Mirage
7.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Mission Hills Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Mission Hills Villas

Address: 71777 Dinah Shore Dr, Rancho Mirage, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92270-1603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Rancho Mirage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#2 Green Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#4 Business Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rancho Mirage
Price Range: $144 - $416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Mission Hills Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Mission Hills Resort & Villas is nestled in the Coachella Valley at the base of California's San Jacinto Mountains in the secluded desert oasis known as Rancho Mirage. As a AAA Four Diamond-rated resort, this world-class golf and spa destination promises infinite rejuvenation. Nearby, a mecca of cultural, historical, shopping and outdoor adventure awaits you. Enjoy spacious one and two-bedroom villas with fully equipped kitchens, washers and dryers, private balconies or patios, separate dining and living room areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Mission Hills Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Mission Hills Villas Hotel Rancho Mirage
Westin Mission Hills Hotel
Westin Rancho Mirage
Rancho Mirage Westin
The Westin Mission Hills Villas Rancho Mirage, CA - California Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing