We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for families, lots of kids”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Rancho Mirage
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great for families, lots of kids”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We have been coming to Westin Mission Hills for five years now, but this was our first time in the Villas. We enjoyed the extra space, the large balcony and the kitchen. Every staff member we encountered was very friendly. Housekeeping was kept very busy sweeping up the sand from the windstorms (those ladies work hard!!) yet the room was always tended to and very clean. This resort has increased their attention to families and young kids. There are many activities for them (bouncy castle, rock wall, water guns in the pool) so there are many of them here. The main pool is like Disneyland, but the east pool is lovely and serene (until about 3 pm when the main pool is full and the kids come over to the east pool). Our kids are teenagers now and our son really appreciated the basketball hoop at the west end of the hotel. The Caliente Breeze from the pool bar is delicious and David has remembered us and greeted us with a welcome and handshake since the first year we started coming here. If you are looking for a resort for families this is the place. If my husband and I choose to come to Palm Springs by ourselves, we may look at a different property.

Room Tip: We were in building 40, right next to the main pool, 30 second walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MKLong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan K, Manager at The Westin Mission Hills Villas, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
MKLong, Thank you for the great review of our Resort. I am happy to read that you and your family had an enjoyable visit and enjoyed the extra space in our villas. Also, thank you for recognizing David at the pool bar. As a resort, we simply love seeing guests’ comeback again and again!! Thanks for the great comments and we hope to see you again at the Westin. Be Well
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    256
    107
    40
    22
See reviews for
340
323
26
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carmel, California
Level Contributor
175 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

We accepted a promotional offer from the Westin Mission Hills Villa to spend four days in the desert. The experience was average at best. Parking at the facility is a nightmare. There just isn’t enough for the number of rooms. The result was long searches and walks. The rooms are decent in size, but the room to room noise level is much too high. The king size bed we were offered but then wasn’t available would be appreciated. Breakfast service in Season’s was extremely slow despite being almost empty the two mornings we were there. We were happy we had a promotional deal and had not paid full price.

Room Tip: Ask for a golf course view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TominCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan K, Manager at The Westin Mission Hills Villas, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
TominCA, thank you for sharing your feedback about your experience at our resort. Please accept my apology for not exceeding your expectations during your recent stay. There is no excuse for the series of opportunities that you experienced. I will share your feedback with our team so we can review our procedures and service-correct. Additionally, I would enjoy the opportunity to connect with you personally to learn more about your experience as well as offer a more personal apology. If you wish to discuss, it would be great to connect. Thanks again for your feedback and hope I have the opportunity to win back your trust. Thanks and Be Well.

Jonathan Karp
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We had the pleasure of staying at the Westin Mission Hills Villas for our second March break in a row. We stayed in a Premium King Villa that was very clean and we were very happy with all that it had to offer (full kitchen, washer/dryer, oversized shower, large soaker jacuzzi tub, private deck with a bbq etc).

The staff were great! They continued to exceed our expectations. Everyone was smiling, polite, and went out of their way to ensure that we were having a great vacation. A special thank you to Vitality and Patricia!

There were more than enough amenities to keep our large group busy. We visited at least three of the pools, used two of the gyms, played in the open green spaces, took advantage of the free arcade, and played a few of the local golf courses. This place allows you the opportunities to remain as busy as you want to be.

We look forward to our next visit to the Westin Mission Hills Villas! I would definitely recommend this property to family/friends/co-workers.

Room Tip: Ground level units allow you immediate access to the green space, while the upper units provide addi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Table43Vancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan K, Manager at The Westin Mission Hills Villas, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Table43Vancouver, thank you for your great feedback about your experience at the Westin Mission Hills Resort & Villas!! I am thrilled to read that you had another great vacation and our staff was able to exceed your expectations. Thanks again for your great comments and we look forward to serving you and your family again for another renewing experience. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Very comfortable accommodations. Super friendly staff. We stayed in a 1 bedroom villa room. the full kitchen and spacious living area made it easy to settle in for a five night stay. The grounds are pretty and well kept. The pools were great. There is an excellent walking path for an easy three mile walk. I think this is a great place for a family get away.

Room Tip: A garden view room is nice. If you are near any of the ponds expect to have ducks visiting you regu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Workerbee22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan K, Manager at The Westin Mission Hills Villas, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Workerbee22, thank you for sharing your experience at our resort. I am happy to read that you found our Westin to be comfortable and friendly. I am glad to know you had an enjoyable visit and we hope to serve you and your family again at the Westin Mission Hills Resort & Villas. Be Well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
1 review
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We just returned from another amazing family vacation at the Westin Villas. This was our 4th year staying at the Villas and each year our experience gets better and better. The service during our stay exceeded our expectations. The staff went above and beyond to make our stay extra special and the rooms were very clean and well suited for our family. The grounds are kept in immaculate condition and there are numerous activities for the kids to do.
We vacationed with 5 other families and thanks to Westin staff members Vitaliy and Patricia, we were all located within the same building. This allowed all of our kids (ages 1-12) to play in a safe and convenient location, while allowing us parents to enjoy some "adult" conversations. Some of our highlights were daily walks to the arcade, workouts in the gym / runs around the resort, spending some quality time at the pools, participating in the "fastest slide competition", golfing at the local courses and enduldging in some pool side beverages. Our group even organized our own Westin Villas scavenger hunt. This allowed us to explore all of the areas of the resort and provide some good laughs.
We are already talking about coming back again next year. Thank you to all of the amazing staff at the Westin Villas Resort Mission Hills

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan K, Manager at The Westin Mission Hills Villas, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Mark H, thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at the Westin Mission Hills Resort & Villas! I am so happy to read that you and your family(s) had another outstanding vacation. We love reading great feedback like yours and we will share your comments with our team. Thanks again for returning and we all look forward to seeing you again next year! Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

For those who haven't tried Starwoods Vacation properties, these villas have kitchens and living rooms.

The layout among all the villas I've been to are almost all identical. What makes this property one of my favorites is the well-maintained desert landscaping, the location (easy to get to Palm Springs, casinos, etc.), and the easy connection to all of the amenities of the attached Westin Resort.

I can't give this 5 stars like a Ritz Carlton or a Four Seasons, but if you're looking for considerably more space than the typical hotel room (and save a bunch on breakfasts and some dinners), this is a great choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor facing the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SheMakes3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan K, Manager at The Westin Mission Hills Villas, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
SheMakes3, Thanks for your great review of our resort. It is truly great when owners and guests can take full advantage of what our entire Westin resort has to offer. Thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again that the Westin Mission Hills Resort & Villas. Be Well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Going to the Westin for the very first time was something I was worried about. I had ways herd up and down reviews of them. Though after staying I must say it certainly does deserve two thumbs up. Front desk was quick poliet and helpful. Witch is what I needed after having two children in the car for 6 hours. What I must say is the pool experience was wonderful! The pool attendants were aboslutly marvolous. The Fun Team not only provided activities to keep the little ones entertained, but also connected with us on a personal level. I must give credit to these workers who stood out to me the most. (Breanna, Vincent, and William) weather it was doing an activity or moving am umbrella they always had a smile. The restaurant as well was wonderful with delicious food! I now know when it comes to the Westin I won't have to think twice!!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catrivers02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan K, Manager at The Westin Mission Hills Villas, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Catrivers02, thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with us at the Westin Mission Hills Resort & Villas. I am so thrilled to read that you and your family had an outstanding time with us. Also, thank you for recognizing our Fun team and specifically Breanna, Vicente, & William. We will share your feedback and celebrate with our team. Thanks again for your feedback and we all look forward to seeing you again in the future. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rancho Mirage
3.4 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
0.4 mi away
Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa
4.1 mi away
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Rancho Mirage
7.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa
4.3 mi away
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Mission Hills Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Mission Hills Villas

Property: The Westin Mission Hills Villas
Address: 71777 Dinah Shore Dr, Rancho Mirage, CA 92270-1603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Rancho Mirage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#2 Green Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#4 Business Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rancho Mirage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Mission Hills Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Mission Hills Resort & Villas is nestled in the Coachella Valley at the base of California's San Jacinto Mountains in the secluded desert oasis known as Rancho Mirage. As a AAA Four Diamond-rated resort, this world-class golf and spa destination promises infinite rejuvenation. Nearby, a mecca of cultural, historical, shopping and outdoor adventure awaits you. Enjoy spacious one and two-bedroom villas with fully equipped kitchens, washers and dryers, private balconies or patios, separate dining and living room areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your The Westin Mission Hills Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Mission Hills Villas Hotel Rancho Mirage
Westin Mission Hills Hotel
Westin Rancho Mirage
Rancho Mirage Westin
The Westin Mission Hills Villas Rancho Mirage, CA - California Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing