We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
Nearby Hotels
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa(Rancho Mirage)(Great Value!)
$139
$125
Omni Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$56
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa(Rancho Mirage)(Great Value!)
$215
$144
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$99
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$76
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$229
RitzCarlton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Welk Resorts Palm Springs(Cathedral City)(Great Value!)
$127
$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,037)
Filter reviews
1,037 results
Traveler rating
557
293
120
45
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
557
293
120
45
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfull kitchenpremium villabedroom villagolf coursewasher and dryereast poolpalm springsthe main hoteltime sharebbq grillseasons restaurantstarwood vacationparadise poolmain poolcovered parkingqueen bedkiddie pool
Filter
Updating list...
712 - 717 of 1,037 reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stay at the Westin Mission Hills Villas every year. We come from Pittsburgh, PA for 2 weeks of steady sunshine and excellent service.

Maria Kelly at the Front Desk has treated us like a King and Queen! Teresa Gonzalez at the Pool provides no-stop service all day while enjoying the sun. If you need something, ask, and they provide for you. Check out the Monday and Wednesday Market in the Lobby of the Villas. Nice to get fresh produce for the week. See Barbara Colby Jems, a custom made local Jewelry designer. Very unique items hand made by Barbara.

We walk along the cart path each morning for a sunshine filled morning walk, then enjoy the Gym for a final walk/workout. All the treadmills have built-in TVs, iPod connections for a superb workout experience.

The Villas has spacious rooms with very comfortable beds. Our Villa has a grill outside on the porch and a full kitchen. Eat in or Go Out, it is like home away from home. If you are a golfer, you love the two professional golf courses on property. Even in September it is hot but never unbearable. Plenty of shad and umbrellas to get out of the sun after being in the pool.

Room Tip: Choose a room near the golf course to avoid service truck noise on the driveway side. Bring some bread to feed the numerous ducks on property! Nice treat for the kids and adults alike. Both large pools have water slides on it for kids and adults. Bar service available poolside.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villas_Dave, Director of Operations at The Westin Mission Hills Villas, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Hello “Brian R”
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. Your notes and the pictures are a great representation of how we look to provide a personal, instinctive renewal for our guests, especially those that return year after year! We are especially grateful that you have identified Maria and Teresa, they are true service superstars and your comments allow us the opportunity to recognize their efforts towards great service day in and day out.
Thank you again for sharing with our global community, we look forward to seeing you again next fall or maybe after the snow gets too deep in Pittsburgh.
While we respect the anonymity of TripAdvisor if you ever need assistance with your travel plans please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly.
Sincerely,
Dave W
dave.williams01@westin.com
760-770-8257

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My husband and I have stayed here for several years, trading our time share property for this location. The best thing about the villa are the larger units that have the king size beds - there are also smaller units with queen beds that can be joined to the larger units creating a two bed room (I think they call them "lock-outs" since they can be rented separately). The larger rooms are over 800 square feet with a full kitchen and feel more like a condo. The a/c works very well and the ceiling fans are utterly silent. The beds are comfortable.
The property is very lovely. Ask for an upstairs unit if stairs don't bother you in a building directly next to the golf course, ie. not set back. The views over the course and up into the Santa Rosa mountains are great from the decks.
The grills work well. The workout room has been updated recently.
Definately rent a car and see the area. The Thursday night street fair in Palm Springs and the weekend morning "flea market" at the College of the Desert in Palm Desert are a must. Also, there are great restaurants, and shops.
The only negatives we have experienced were having a hard time getting housekeeping to bring extra towels (they only clean once during a week stay), and the onsite restaurant is nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juno100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMMoran, General Manager at The Westin Mission Hills Villas, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thank you very much for telling us about your experience! We truly appreciate your thoughts and feedback and especially, your attention to detail, not only on the resort, but the local area as well. We'll visit with our housekeeping team about the towel service, thank you! Lastly, we appreciate your comments about the restaurant. We keep striving to improve the experience in Seasons Grill, have added breakfast and room service as well. Our chef continues to improve the menu, offerings and our goal is to make this an experience that everyone can enjoy, either for a quick bite, lunch or dinner. Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit to the resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The villa we stayed in was very big and nicely decorated. The full kitchen was well stocked with everything one would need for cooking (although we didn't.) The bathroom was really big with a nice multi head shower and hand held shower to boot. The bed was big and comfortable, and there were two fireplaces in the villa.
We used the Brisas pool in the hotel side. We tried the main pool in the villa side once and it was not as nice as the Brisas pool. It was nice to have the luxury of this choice.
The staff was great - very accomodating and pleasant.
There were two issues aside from the pool. One was the hard sell to attend a sales presentation for buying a time share. And the other was when they tried to tack on a $15.00 per night parking fee which was not mentined anywhere on the web when we booked the place.
I would definately recommend this to friends.

Room Tip: Get the larger villa with the King Bed
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marmot65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMMoran, General Manager at The Westin Mission Hills Villas, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Thank you very much for telling us about your experience! We're glad you had a nice visit and that you enjoyed the amenities at both resorts and that you found the staff friendly and accommodating! I appreciate the feedback about the "hard sell" on attending a presentation. I'll share this with the sales leadership team. Please accept my apology for not having the parking fee disclosed on the site you used to book your reservation. If you would please send me a note with which site it was, i'll address it right away. My e-mail address is jim.moran@westin.com. Thanks again and we look forward to serving you on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

What you see in the pictures is what you get in there. Luxury, Clean, Awesome service. The only drawback is that people can smoke near the pool which when you have kids is little bit bad. Other than that friendly people and have no bad experience.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arbi_baghdanian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMMoran, General Manager at The Westin Mission Hills Villas, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your experience! We're thrilled that you had a great experience and our teams looks forward to providing you with the same on your next visit! I appreciate the feedback about the smoking. Our property is mostly smoke fee, with the units, pool areas, restaurants and most public areas non-smoking. If someone was smoking in one of these areas and our team missed it, please accept my apology. We train the team to address these things when they see them. Thank you again and we appreciate the opportunity to respond to your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed in the Mission Hills Villas the Week of September 15th 22nd. My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay. From the two main pool options, to the spacious rooms, everything about the resort made us feel at home. The only reason I didn't give the resort 5 stars is because the food selection is average and the prices reflect what I would expect to pay at a Westin and the spa leaves a lot to be desired. Neither of these should deter a couple or family from choosing the Westin.

Room:
We stayed in room 3121, the most western building of the Villas. The location is perfect for access to either the hotel or villa main pool and looks out onto the Pete Dye golf course. We walked the Villa property a lot and also liked the rooms that faced the ponds/gardens. The room is a one bedroom first floor room with a walkout patio. Every part of the room was comfortable, our only complaint is that you could hear the people upstairs sliding their glass door open and closed, but that's splitting hairs.

Accessibility:
There is plenty of parking right next to this unit, but covered parking is at a premium. We used the shuttle service to get around the property from time to time, but if you don't want to wait, it's just as easy to walk as everything besides the tennis courts or spa are about a 5 minute walk from this location.

Pools:
The pools are great. Lots of chairs and umbrellas. This resort absolutely caters to families so if you're going to be bothered by kids, they have a VERY SMALL adults only pools. Each of the main pools has a separate slide and hot tub and the villa pool has a splash area for the toddlers. Each of the main pools also has cabanas, but only the villa pool cabanas have TV's and refrigerators.

Spa:
The massage was good, but the rest of the facilities need to be upgraded. For the price they are charging I'd recommend that you go over to the JW Marriott, it s a much nicer spa. The waiting room had more brochures than reading material. The eucalyptus sauna had no eucalyptus, and the rest of the area was nothing better than average.

Misc:
Make your one visit to the concierge to get your food or spa vouchers if you want, but otherwise they don't offer much help. They don't know about any of the specials at the golf course and it's easier to make restaurant reservations on Opentable.

All and all it's a very good resort, we're looking forward to going back.

Room Tip: Rooms toward the West are better for access to both the main pools. We enjoyed our first floor suite.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stlsig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMMoran, General Manager at The Westin Mission Hills Villas, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Greg G, thank you very much for taking the time to share about your experience with us! We're glad that you had a nice visit and certainly appreciate your attention to detail! I'll be sure to share this with our teams so they may better understand what we are doing well and what opportunities we have to improve our product and service! Thank you again, we appreciate your thoughts and our team looks forward to serving you again on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews