We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personal Service”
Review of Shame on the Moon

Shame on the Moon
Ranked #8 of 103 Restaurants in Rancho Mirage
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Redmond, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Personal Service”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

As titled, the personal service is above and beyond ordinary. First time as guests of friends, and when you arrive there is a welcome placard on your table welcoming you by name.
the staff makes you feel like your table is the only one they are serving.
Food is excellent and prices vary but they also offer a special price if ordered at specific times, like an early bird special, and the staff also mentions it.
Next time we are in the area we will have reservations made ahead of time.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ezboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    114
    46
    18
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
high river
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wish we'd found it sooner!”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Halloween 2012 --tried Shame on the moon for first time after hearing from others that it was very nice good food etc etc. Well thats an understatement it was EXCELLENT. the summer menu had loads of great options. the four of us each had a different item and everyone was very pleased-- best Nicoise sald Ive ever had. The portions- even tho it was a lower priced set menu for the summer - were just right.
and the martinis well dont order a double you wont need it theyd have to just bring the bottle and some ice! The bread was hot from the oven crispy on the outside and tender and flavorful on the iside. The Malbec was a great choice too.
Waiter Marty was great.
No tricks here - definitely aTREAT will happily return many times in the future.
Charlotte Jackson High River Alberta / Palm Desert residents

The only reason I checked VG on atmosphere was that we were inside and it was a full house so a bit noisy to visit with all the chatter but no reflection on the decor, cleanliness etc etc it was immaculate and decore very tasteful - will try to get terrace reservation next time

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jazzchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
379 reviews
224 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Surprised and delighted”
Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

My sister in law made the reservation for the four of us so we could enjoy the summer special 3-course meal. I did not expect adequate portions and outstanding foor and service, but that is what we got. My husband and I enjoyed the experience so much, we made a reservation for the following evening so we could take our friends. The host asked if we wanted a table in the garden room or the main dining room. Since we found the main room to be noisy we asked to see the garden room. It is much more quiet and we are hopeful we will have the same or better experience tonight.

Helpful?
Thank TucsonTeeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux City, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great Ambiance! Good Service! Great Food!”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I do believe reservations are a must - you can even order up the table you want. What a delight. Our server "David" was fantastic and attentive to detail. Recommended an awesome wine and, no, it wasn't the most expensive. a side note to the previous poster :The Summer Special is for Monday thru Thursday. Regardless, the food is fresh, great flavor and wonderfully presented. The outside dinning is so fun and relaxing. I will be back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank back2mac09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hidden Hills
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“These are good people”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I was just there last night. We had a table of six on the terrace. It was a quiet table where we could all talk. They were still having their "Summer Special" menu which was salad/soup, main course, and dessert for $19.95. What a deal!!! Our waiter was terrific. One of the things I liked most was that when the check came and we gave them two cards, they brought the credit slips back with a handwritten note on the tip line saying "Inc". I have been burned a few times before when I failed to note that the tip had already been included in the bill, but this was the first time I have seen it written on the credit card receipt. This was really a great touch which makes Shame on the Moon a great experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Russ B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shame on the Moon also viewed

Rancho Mirage, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
 
Rancho Mirage, Greater Palm Springs
Rancho Mirage, Greater Palm Springs
 
Rancho Mirage, Greater Palm Springs
Rancho Mirage, Greater Palm Springs
 

Been to Shame on the Moon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing