We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK unless you want a beer”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Yard House

Yard House
Ranked #5 of 103 Restaurants in Rancho Mirage
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Yard House is an upscale-casual eatery known for great food, classic rock music and 180 taps of imported, craft and specialty ales & lagers. Whether you’re in the mood for a grilled burger and a pint of your favorite ale, or seared ahi and a chilled martini, Yard House has something for everyone. Yard House is the perfect place to unwind and take a break - meet old friends for happy hour, or make new ones, celebrate a special occasion, or gather your family for dinner.
Santa Barbara
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“OK unless you want a beer”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

We went to Yard House after a day of watching tennis at Indian Wells because of the selection of beer. Ordered our favorite beer, which we only can get in bottles, and was told it was not carried at the Yard House. Looking at the beer menu saw the tap beer that is a local (Santa Barbara) favorite, and saw the beer we originally ordered two lines above! Pointed this out, and was ordered along with the Guacamole, which we were assured would be quick.

The Guacamole was quick, but not the beer. After a long wait the waitress came back to say they were out. Ordered the beer we usually order in Santa Barbara, and tried to ignore our thirst.

Our salads came next (we had not touched the Guacamole yet), but after a second long wait the waitress came back to tell us they were out of our second choice. Ordered a common beer to be sure we would be served, and 1/2 hour after we sat down we finally were served our beer.

As far as the food goes, the Guacamole was inedible. It was a chopped refrigerated avocado that had lost all flavor. The salads and mains were mediocre. All in all, a terrible meal.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SBSilky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yard_House, Guest Relations Manager at Yard House, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Hi SBSilky - We are devasted to learn that you had such a frustrating visit. Please accept our most genuine apologies. We would like to try to turn this back around. Please contact us at guestservices@yardhouse.com. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    232
    65
    26
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
EDMONTON
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

The food and service were excellent. You aren't always sure when you return to a place whether you will enjoy it as much the second time. We certainly did.
We had sliders and fries and they were delicious. My husband enjoys the beer sampler 6 pack.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank cherbinedmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Brydges, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beer, beer, and more beer!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband loved it! Over 150 different types of beer to chose from. I skipped the beer and had sangria instead ~ yum! Service was great and the food was good. Definitely worth a visit!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anniversary0828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Party of 8”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

After traveling all day we were starving and anxious to have a drink. We were seated promptly (which made us happy) and then totally ignored for what seemed like eternity. When we finally received our dinner we all enjoyed our selections.
Then we waited forever for our checks! Yikes! Despite all of this the food was good and we would certainly go back. Hopefully the service that night was not the norm.

Helpful?
Thank Georgia924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yard_House, Public Relations Manager at Yard House, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Hi Georgia928 - Yikes is right! This is certainly not the dining expectation we want to deliver and we are truly sorry for the failures. We'd like to try to make this right. Please contact us at guestservices@yardhouse.com. Kindest Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton
Level Contributor
117 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Casual dinner with friends”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

The restaurant is situated in a very new and clean shopping and entertainment complex. We were seated immediately, offered drink in a timely manner. Without a doubt they have more beers on tap than any other establishment I have ever been to. So, beer selection...awesome. Service,great. Food, disappointing. The appies crab cakes were dry and salty. The Gorganzola burger was bland tasting and very greasy. This is a great place to try new beers, but grab a bite before you go.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brookdj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yard_House, Guest Relations Manager at Yard House, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Hi brookdj1 - How disappointing to hear that your meal was so far from our standards and your expectations. Please accept our heartfelt apologies. When time allows, would you please email us directly at guestservices@yardhouse.com? We want to try to redeem our reputation as we just feel terrible for the letting you down. Kindest Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yard House also viewed

Rancho Mirage, California Desert
 
Rancho Mirage, California Desert
Palm Desert, California Desert
 

Been to Yard House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing