We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistently excellent”

Kobe Japanese Steak House
Reserve with OpenTable
Kobe Japanese Steak House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 103 Restaurants in Rancho Mirage
Price range: $19 - $55
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Frank Sinatra
Description: Welcome!!! Exit bustling Highway 111, pass the waterfall, cross the red footbridge over the golden koi and enter the delightful world of Japanese dining at Kobe Japanese Steak House. Experience the excitement and distinctive flavors of our authentic Japanese teppan-yaki ("iron plate cooking"), prepared right at your table by knife-wielding chefs. Located in a replica of a Japanese country inn, Kobe is best known as the home of beautiful kimono-clad servers and the most talented teppan chefs in the desert, serving the highest quality and most flavorful beef, seafood and poultry available in Southern California.
Keller, Texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Consistently excellent”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We have been going to Kobe since the mid 80s and have seen management change as well as some tweaks to the menu but it has always been a fun and delicious experience. The chefs are entertaining, the service is quality and the food is simply tasty with the option to go as economical or extravagant as you would like. We don't get down there like we used to when we lived in Orange County (Live in Texas now) but every time we get out to the Desert we reserve at least one night for Kobe. This time we took our two year old grandson for his first trip there and he had a blast watching the chefs and then feeding the koi in the out door pond. We just love this place!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rtkai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    48
    25
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great food & entertainment”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

It's a yearly tradition to celebrate my birthday and my father's birthday at Kobe's. This year we had a party of about 12 people include 2 toddlers, 1 child, and 9 adults. There is something for everyone on the menu and the food is delicious. I always pick a surf & turf meal (steak and prawns or lobster). The steak is tender and moist and the shellfish is lemony and light. \

Everyone enjoyed the "show" that the chefs put on while they cook your meal. The toddlers stared in awe while the chef lit an onion fire and made choo-choo noises like a train. The chef even got one of toddlers to almost catch a bit of shrimp that he tossed in the air.

Since we had 2 birthdays we got 2 slices of cheesecake with a candle and the waiters all came over and sang a loud rendition of "happy birthday" to my dad and me.

A couple of tips:

They do offer an "Early Bird" menu Sunday-Thursday from 5pm (opening) to 6pm, but this does not count on holiday weekends. We went on President's Day weekend so this menu was not offered.

Parking is valet only

It can get smokey in there when all of the grills are going, so your clothes and hair can smell like smoke.

Everyone had fun and enjoyed their food!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CtheGlobe77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quakertown, Pa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Family celebration”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We took our grandsons and family for a celebration to the Kobe Japanese restaurant.
Restaurant in lovely garden setting with a fish pond and wooden bridge.
THis restaurant provides a show along with dinner. The boys loved the twirling knives,the chopping knives, the celebratory beating of the drum.
But beware...since we had a large party, We had booked for 5:30 .
We planned to make the early bird special, advertised on their web site.
When we got the menus we inquired about that.
"Oh no", the hostess laughed, long weekend. Regular menu only.
The boys loved the steak, my prawn tempura was terrific.
T he restaurant was booming!
Draw your own conclusions!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladner, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Never had a bad meal...”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We've gone to Kobe countless times and we've never had a bad meal! We always sit at the tepanakyi tables and usually with other people because there's not that many of us and it's always fun! We usually go for the early bird menu and we have never had any bad food or service! The cooks are always so playful and fun as long as you are the same back to them! We have always had great service and food! Such a great atmosphere and such a beautiful building!
Love this place!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not family friendly, staff was rude, not impressed.”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

To start, there is no baby changing table, hostess was very rude and not caring, food tasted ok. Price was high. Chicken Katsu was good but rice was undercooked. Teriyaki beef was tough. Miso soup aas good. Salad was very watery and so were the sauces. Sushi roll was good. They charge full price for kids drink. 1.50. Shared concerns politely and got the response of "who cares". Bill for three at lunch was 37.00. Not really much food for the price. Poor rating comparing to other Japanese style restaurants around the country.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yeoza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kobe Japanese Steak House also viewed

Palm Springs, California Desert
Rancho Mirage, California Desert
 
Palm Desert, California Desert
Rancho Mirage, California Desert
 
Rancho Mirage, California Desert
Rancho Mirage, California Desert
 

Been to Kobe Japanese Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing