We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“classy”

Wally's Desert Turtle
Reserve with OpenTable
Wally's Desert Turtle is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 103 Restaurants in Rancho Mirage
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $27 - $75
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Rancho Las Palmas
Transit: A public transit stop is directly across the street.
Description: Wally's Desert Turtle is NOW OPEN for our Thirty-Ninth Season and we are honored to announce the return of our celebrity Executive Chef Pascal Lallemand. With a focus on "farm to table" and sustainable practices, Wally's Desert Turtle takes great care in sourcing the finest ingredients from local vendors and are proud to support ranches, farms, and fisheries that practice earth friendly and ocean friendly methods of production. The finest local ingredients, classic service, and exceptional surroundings always make for "A Great Night Out" at Wally's Desert Turtle.
Lake Forest, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“classy”
Reviewed June 17, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

great food and wonderful service. We happened to be ther the on night in the month when they have a 3 piece band and it made the evening very enjoyable

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank happytravelerjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    37
    28
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Oldie but a Goodie”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Restaurants come and go and truly great restaurants stand the test of time. Wally's Desert Turtle is one such experience. The first time I went to Wally's, I was with a customer who practically drug me to the restaurant some 20 years ago. We recently returned to Wally's after some 5-7 years since we were last there. Wally's lived up to every expectation. Food is phenomenal and service outstanding. We had a table of six people and it was refreshing to once again have all of the entrees arrive at the same time and presented by a wait staff of three people with pride and smiles. We had a full sampling of the menu from fish to pork to steak and desserts all around. Nothing fell short of expectation. Don't get me wrong, Wally's is not an inexpensive restaurant but then you get what you pay for and Wally's does not come up short in any way.

Give it a try when you are in the area. People are very friendly and the dinner area very clean and elegant. Tables are spread out so you can actually carry on a conversation over dinner without having to shout. That is kind of rare these days. Don't forget to order the soufflé! You have to order ahead with your main course and it not something to pass over. Enjoy!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A a great birthday at Wally's”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We loved Wally's. The staff and management provided speacial attention and focused on delivering a great experience. We loved that fact the Wall's uses organic ingredients and grass fed beef and lamb. We will be back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jtciii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A talented chef and staff.”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Palm Springs Restaurant week tempted us to visit Wally's. The table service was completely professional, and a nice menu was prepared by a talented chef who presents lighter, healthier selections. The roasted steelhead trout was delicious. Many of our fellow diners seemed to be from the Reagan era, but our dinner choices were definitely from the 21st century. Well worth the investment.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ycomtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Wells, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great, but not worth it !”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Well, don't go there if you're really hungry, otherwise, prepare to spend on 2 main entrees !
Very good food quality, but is it worth it, honestly ? No.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ronnie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wally's Desert Turtle also viewed

Rancho Mirage, California Desert
Rancho Mirage, California Desert
 
Palm Desert, California Desert
Palm Desert, California Desert
 
Rancho Mirage, California Desert
Rancho Mirage, California Desert
 

Been to Wally's Desert Turtle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing