We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, not so great service”

Las Casuelas Nuevas
Reserve with OpenTable
Las Casuelas Nuevas is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 103 Restaurants in Rancho Mirage
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Via Florencio
Transit: Bus stop two blocks away.
Description: The Delgado family welcomes you to try their family recipes and new creations while enjoying their award winning atmosphere, cuisine, patio and of course margaritas. There are seven private dining rooms to accommodate groups large and small. Come and experience the spirit of Mexico in the heart of Rancho Mirage. Reservations are recommended.
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food, not so great service”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Have been going to this eatery for many years, the food is always good as are the margaritas, but this past Friday night our server barely noticed us (3 couples) while spending most of his time on a table of young ladies.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joaquin d, Owner at Las Casuelas Nuevas, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Thank you for sharing the details of your stay with us. I have shared with our team the importance of excellent customer service to everyone. Please accept my sincere apology as I know we are much better than what you encountered and would be happy to discuss with you in more detail if you’d like to reach me at lcnuevas@aol.com. We look forward to better serving you in the near future and hope to welcome you back to Las Casuelas Nuevas very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    192
    81
    19
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very good food, service and atmosphere”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Las Casuelas Nuevas provides a really pleasant atmosphere with both indoor and outdoor seating. I was in the area for the BNP Paribas Tennis tournament, so the restaurant was very busy. This may have had an impact on the level of service being provided, but overall I was very pleased with the service. The restaurant offers a good variety of choices on the menu, and everyone in my party found their dinner selections to be very good. During the months of the year, especially when the weather is pleasant outside, I would strongly recommend reservations.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kbs01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
263 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Pleasant Atmosphere, Nice Outdoor Seating, Generous Portions”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

On a visit to my mother, who winters in Palm Desert, my adult daughter and I were looking forward to a good Mexican dinner. Being from Vermont, we assumed the food would be good being that Palm Springs, Rancho Mirage, Palm Desert, et al are so close to Mexico. There is a old saying: "If you have expectations, expect to be disappointed!" My family and I have worked and travelled throughout Mexico, Central and South America so we are familiar with the infinite variety of good food from South Of The Border.

Verdict: While Las Casuelas Nuevas has a pleasant atmosphere, nice outdoor seating, and generous portions, we regret to report that we were not blown away by the food. It wasn't inedible, it just wasn't great. I've had great fish tacos all over world, including the USA, and these were just not noteworthy.

Perhaps if we had a drink before or with dinner we would have felt different...or perhaps the kitchen was short staffed... or perhaps the main chef was off the night we ate there...or perhaps are expectations were too high...

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GlobalVillage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joaquin d, Owner at Las Casuelas Nuevas, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We are disappointed to learn of your dissatisfaction while dining at our restaurant. We can assure you that we take great pride in our authentic cuisine and food quality for which we are known. We take your comments seriously and have shared them with our staff. We do hope that you will visit us again, so that we may demonstrate our high standards of excellence and authentic food we strive to offer to each of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Good service; but forget about the happy hour deals”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We arrived at 5:30 which may help to explain why service was prompt. To take advantage of happy hour prices for drinks and appetizers, you have to sit at the bar, indoors. why would you want to do that when you are going to eat dinner outdoors on a lovely evening? well, the happy hour prices are about 60% less than the prices outdoors.
dinner was tasty and service was good. the excellent mariachi band starts up at 6:20 and roams around the premises.
there is lots of parking but in season, reservations are mandatory as this is a popular place.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tennisjazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joaquin d, Owner at Las Casuelas Nuevas, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
With so many restaurants offering Happy Hour specials, we are pleased to know that you chose Las Casuelas Nuevas as your Happy Hour destination! And it sounds like you have frequented our restaurant before and understand how busy we can be during peak times of the year, and also peak times of the day – especially outdoors on our beautiful patio. That’s why we offer a significant discount during Happy Hour inside at the bar. We have tasty Fish Taco’s, delicious Chile Relleno, and as you mentioned our Happy Hour values are the Best in the Palm Springs Valley!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
619 reviews
298 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“don't miss the churros”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

went here with a huge group for a business meeting and had excellent service and food. liked the margarita (not the best i've ever had, but good), the guacamole and salsa were excellent, and the chimichanga was also really good. the thing not to miss is the desert. their churros are filled with custard and are some of the best I've ever had. in the restaurant you are actually sitting outside, which is very nice on a comfortable night.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mja1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Casuelas Nuevas also viewed

Palm Desert, California Desert
Rancho Mirage, California Desert
 
Rancho Mirage, California Desert
Palm Desert, California Desert
 

Been to Las Casuelas Nuevas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing