We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Delightful Place!”

Las Casuelas Nuevas
Reserve with OpenTable
Las Casuelas Nuevas is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 103 Restaurants in Rancho Mirage
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Via Florencio
Transit: Bus stop two blocks away.
Description: The Delgado family welcomes you to try their family recipes and new creations while enjoying their award winning atmosphere, cuisine, patio and of course margaritas. There are seven private dining rooms to accommodate groups large and small. Come and experience the spirit of Mexico in the heart of Rancho Mirage. Reservations are recommended.
Branscomb, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A Delightful Place!”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

My wife & I ate dinner here tonight. We had previously been here just for drinks. I can't say enough good about this place! The staff was friendly. The drinks were awesome. The food was outstanding! We asked for mas caliente salsa & were brought some flaming jalapeno based salsa.
I had the shrimp fajitas & my wife had chile rellenos. Both entrees were perfect. We will be sure to eat here again next time we visit the Palm Desert.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bombero-redbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    192
    81
    19
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
SLC, UT
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Ambiance”
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Although the food is certainly delicious on its own, it's the atmosphere that makes this place special. Make sure to sit outside when possible. Portions are large and everything we have had over the years has been very good. Try making your own combination to sample several different items.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ryliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Never, EVER going back...”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Made a res for 7:15 seated by 7:30. At 8:15 not everyone had their beverages and no food order taken yet. When we complained to the manager, he accused us of lying about the time we had arrived at the restaurant, saying he had walked by our table 20 mins earlier and it was empty. Very strange way for a complaint to be handled. Other issue, our 27 year old daughter visiting from Europe was denied bar service because she did not know she had to have ID with her to prove her age. We all knew the legal age limit to be 21, but were not aware that anyone that looks under 35 must be carded. As a tourist how would one know that? Not arguing the law - just suggesting that the 2 seconds it would take on the phone when someone calls in for a reservation, to say just that would prevent a lot of aggravation for everyone. We left annoyed, went to a much nicer restaurant, had no issues and a great evening.
Have been to this restaurant many times since the late 70's and other than some service issues occasionally had never experienced anything quite like it. When someone at our table said she had been a loyal customer for over 35 years, she was told that 'things had changed since the 80's"! Clearly. Because the manager was so extremely rude we would never consider going back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmloves2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fun place”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I like mexican restaurants that are loud, crowded, serve strong margaritas and good spicy food. Las Casuelas Nuevas gets 1 of the 3 right. Four stars for the atmosphere, sit outside under the trees, it's a big party! Dishes (combos) are nothing special, edible, tasty but pretty average americanized mexican food. I thought the Patron Fiesta size margarita was a safe choice for a good strong hand-crafted margarita. Wrong! It was underpowered and tasted mostly like sweet and sour mix. Should have called exactly what I wanted in it. I'll know next time. Tableside guac not worth the price. Very busy during spring break, been here in mid summer and the place was kind of dead, too hot to sit outside.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tptripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whiterock
Level Contributor
102 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“We've never had a bad experience yet!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We enjoyed a wonderful evening, celebrating a birthday. It is always a busy place, but whether you choose dining inside or out, you will enjoy the ambiance. It was a Saturday evening and they had live mexican music that serenaded the tables, it was enjoyable to listen to. Every table is started with home made salsa and fresh warm taco chips, you can add guacamole for a fee, it is really tasty. The menu has a great selection of authentic dishes and always delicious. We prefer the combination plates and they are always a good value. My favorite dishes include chicken enchiladas and ground beef burrito's, the fajitas are also good, the combo dinners include rice and choice of beans. For a nominal price you can add a generous size portioned salad, both the green and house salad were fresh and delicious and large enough to share. Their Margarita's are amazing, I prefer them on the rocks, the double size is big but if your going to be there for a couple of hours, more economical than ordering A second small size. We opted out of dessert as we were so full! They cater well to large groups as well. They are celebrating their 40th anniversary this year, they certainly are doing something right, you will not be disappointed!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elsalita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Casuelas Nuevas also viewed

Palm Desert, California Desert
Rancho Mirage, California Desert
 
Rancho Mirage, California Desert
Palm Desert, California Desert
 

Been to Las Casuelas Nuevas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing