We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty Meal and Great Surroundings”

Babe's Bar-B-Que Grill and Brewhouse
Ranked #3 of 103 Restaurants in Rancho Mirage
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Preston, Lancashire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Tasty Meal and Great Surroundings”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We went for a late lunch at Babes. We were travelling from the Uk and had been dying to try a BBQ restaurant and weren't disappointed.

All the servers wear cowboy hats and the interior is decorated similar. From bronze pigs heads as lamps to the huge potrait of wild mustangs on the walls it is like a western experience.

My daughter had a strawberry lemonade which was served authentically in a jar and was very tasty made with real strawberrys. We started with a seafood salad and chose the combinations lunches and chose the St Louis Ribs and the Beef short ribs with a choice of two sides. All the food was delicious and well cooked, the only problem was there was too much!! But that wasn't a problem as our excellent server provided us with boxes to take the rest home.

All in all we were really pleased with Babes and would definately go back again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sassystoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    336
    286
    122
    44
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Mirage, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The worst restaurant manager”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Visited for lunch and ordered fresh fish sandwich which only had one small piece of fish inside a stale bread after the waiter told us it will have two pieces- politely asked for the manager who
very rudely told us not to ever come back to babes since this is a food loss for the restaurant.
After I asked him how he could talk to us like that he again very rudely informed us that this is the last time we are allowed in babes because of our frequent complaints and that he can say
that because it is his restaurant. WARNING -do not complain more than twice in this place or
they will tell you to leave and never come back! I think they have some serious food quality
issues and definitely no morals - shame on this rude and totally unprofessional establishment!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
158 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Second Visit to Babe's”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I was in the mood for a burger so I decided to give Babe's another try. It was the best burger I've had in ages and the fries were really good. I haven't tried the barbeque but the people at the next table were trying to figure out how to ship a case of the sauce to their house--so it must be pretty good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LarryGentry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good BBQ”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We took a party of 8 into Babes on Memorial Day...no reservations and only a 15 minute wait. Service was a little slow, but expected on such a busy day. Food was tasty, value was good, everyone seemed to have something a little different, so I'll breakout the "excellents". The baby back ribs, the beef sandwiches, the chicken cob salad, turkey chili.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
150 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Go for the house cole slaw!”
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

We had a pleasant meal here. It was some sort of beer promotion and my husband enjoyed a discounted home brew. He had BBQ pulled chicken which was served on 2 buns with sweet potato fries. I had the salmon @ $23. It was a very generous serving. Moist but well done. It was served atop their house made, really delicious fruity cole slaw with bits of orange, dates and nuts in a vinegrette dressing. (It can also be ordered as an upgrade for $2) I opted to have a double serving of sweet potato for my 2 sides since nothing resembling a healthy vegetable was available. I asked them to leave off the butter/pecan topping but they did not It was a lot of potato but tasty and very well cooked. Sorbet for dessert. Our waiter Jacob was extremely attentive The patio is quieter than indoors even though it is on highway 111. Traffic not a problem

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bon1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Babe's Bar-B-Que Grill and Brewhouse also viewed

Palm Desert, California Desert
Rancho Mirage, California Desert
 
Rancho Mirage, California Desert
Rancho Mirage, California Desert
 

Been to Babe's Bar-B-Que Grill and Brewhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing