We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Aggrevating management style and sloping food quality”

Babe's Bar-B-Que Grill and Brewhouse
Ranked #3 of 103 Restaurants in Rancho Mirage
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Bar, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hawaii
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Aggrevating management style and sloping food quality”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

We are locals and have frequented this restaurant for years. Originally absolutely great food, however over the past years the first sign of trouble has been the service. You will not be able to order a full rack of ribs during lunch hours, and do not dare to ask for dinner menu even just minutes before 5.
Recent visits have also been dissapointing on the food side. Our last order of Saint Louis style ribs was terrible and the to-go-order was also filled wrong despite frequent inquiries to ensure at least the BBQ sauce would be included - of course it wasn't.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Petra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    330
    280
    119
    43
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cathedral City, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Tender Ribs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

The ribs are tender and smoked just right. I prefer the St. Louis style ribs and baked sweet potato with maple walnut butter. They have great food and extremely fast service. The staff is always friendly and makes sure to bring complimentary sherbert at the end of the meal.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Phillyz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coopersburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
655 reviews
484 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Great beer, but pretty light on the BBQ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

After spending weeks in Atlanta and Memphis, this week is a west coast venture. Seeing a brew pub within walking distance to the resort I figured to give it a shot. The beer is a homerun, tasty, served cold and more importantly served in the proper glass. My server was right on top of things, friendly, knew when and when not to stop by the table and handled the order perfectly. Coming from two great BBQ states I figured let's try and west coast version. Well, the pork ribs were okay, but I could match them with my smoker, the beef short ribs on the other hand were worth the stop. The slaw needed any type of seasoning, salt, pepper something. The fries were fine and the desert was tasty. All in all, I would due to the beer stop here again, although this time I would do a sandwhich or maybe a salad.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wkrupa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coopersburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good beer, not earth-shattering BBQ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

I didn't think I would find great BBQ on the west coast but I wanted to try, esp since I hit Memphis and Atlanta the weeks before theis venture. The beer no doubt are winners, tasty, served in proper glasses, and meeting expectations. The pork ribs were decent, the short ribs were better, the slaw needed seasoning, and the fries were decent. It is a place I would go back to for the beer, but change up on the food and move more towards a salad or sandwhich; all in all it is a place to eat at at least once.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wkrupa7586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
112 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“The best hamburger!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

My husband has had a burger or two in his life and he swears this place made the best burger he's had in awhile. We also had some of their beer which was excellent. Good place to hang out and talk. The wait staff was friendly and funny.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc_and_Tracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Babe's Bar-B-Que Grill and Brewhouse also viewed

Rancho Mirage, California Desert
Rancho Mirage, California Desert
 
Rancho Mirage, California Desert
Palm Desert, California Desert
 
Palm Desert, California Desert
Palm Desert, California Desert
 

Been to Babe's Bar-B-Que Grill and Brewhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing