We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My colleague from Chicago and I enjoyed a magnificent dining experience 12/9/11 at Fleming's. THE best!”

Fleming's Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Fleming's Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 103 Restaurants in Rancho Mirage
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $80
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: East Veldt Street
Transit: The SunBus has a bus stop on the corner of Bob Hope & Hwy 111
Description: Fleming's Rancho Mirage, CA is an ongoing celebration of exceptional steak and wine. We are located at The River, across from the Rancho Las Palmas Resort, in the Coachella Valley near Palm Desert.
La Quinta, California
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“My colleague from Chicago and I enjoyed a magnificent dining experience 12/9/11 at Fleming's. THE best!”
Reviewed December 10, 2011

My colleague is from Chicago and he asked which Desert steakhouse I would recommend since I have lived here for four years. If you know Chicago, you know they have a surplus of fabulous restaurants so, without hesitation, suggested Fleming's at The River. I was not sure if he would be overly impressed since he has so many fine dining options, and high expectations due to where he lives. I was mistaken! He was thrilled with Fleming's from the start, hostess opening the door as we arrived, our drinks at the lounge, dining experience, desert, and warm thank you from Patrick Milsop, the manager, as we left.

Operating Partner, Patrick Milsop, who I have encountered on dozens of visits to Fleming's, and Operating Chef, David Burke, are a phenomenal team of restauranteurs. The lounge bartenders are very professional, friendly, and fun. We were seated promptly for our reservation in a large, intimate, comfortable booth, had THE most amazing server (I believe his name is Greg and if you are fortunate enough to be seated in his section, you will be treated like royalty!).

We ordered appetizers, wine, filets, and delicious Fleming's signature potatoes side dish (be prepared to share the sides, generous portions and the cheesy Fleming's potatoes were divine!), and desert to share. We also ordered two deserts to go and we enjoyed the ultimate fine dining, and magnificent atmosphere, service, and attentive staff. Mr. Milsop stopped by guests' tables to personally ensure their satisfaction, and hold him in the highest regard.

There was a very large group celebrating in a private dining room, and overheard them as they made their way out, raving about the fabulous service, and food. If you want the best in the Desert, choose Fleming's. You will enjoy the best on every level. Bravo Fleming's!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SoCalSiren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    63
    29
    22
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beaumont, California
Level 6 Contributor
385 reviews
226 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Delicious food, delightful service”
Reviewed November 27, 2011

This is our wedding anniversary week-end and we just got home from a short out-of-town trip and decided to try a local restaurant - Fleming's Prime Steakhouse at The River in Rancho Mirage, California. We knew it was part of a chain but did not know that the "small plates" are actually enough for a late meal with one of their fantasitc ceasar salads. Our server, Erin, offered to take our picture and took as many as I wanted to get the perfect anniversary photo. The"half-n-half" onion rings and shoestring potatoes was a great side - and so plentiful we left some, the ahi is the best ever,

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GJean1565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCal
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very poor service and way overpriced food - wont go back again”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We had an AMEX coupon for $50 off and heard that this was a good steakhouse so we decided to try it. We forgave the waiter when he got the first two strikes in not getting the salad order correct - dressing was asked for on the side and with blue cheese crumbles. It came with dressing on and no blue cheese crumbles. But then when they gave the wrong order to two of us - person who ordered the filet medium got the medium rare and the person who ordered med rare got the medium. Luckily for hte restaurant they realized early and swapped instead of two people sending dinner back. There was NOTHING more on the dish than the drab looking meat and both people thought it was mediocre for a whopping 39!! I ordered the pepper NY steak and although it tasted good,it was overcooked and i had to send it back. The side potatoes were pretty good. The Happy Hour Pomtini was not very good but at least they gave us the Happy hour prices at a table. Lighting was very poor and the place was pretty empty. The waiters seemed to be having more conversation with each other than looking in on the customers --- the few customers there were.....We had to ask several times for refills on water and ice tea. What are these people serving for $40 plates with NO SIDES OR SALAD????? dont they realize if you are going to pay that much that you should get excellent service and great food cooked the way you want it? The manager was very nice and had decided to comp the pepper steak and after we told her about all the other issues she covered the entire bill except the liquor which we used our coupon for. There are too many people out of work to have to deal with newbee waiters who dont know how to take care of customers - we told the manager we would not be back. I hate to have this kind of situation but felt entirely that it was warranted - if they want to charge that much they better invest in some training and testing of their staff.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CalGalSoCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,073 reviews
643 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 420 helpful votes
“Not so good prawns!”
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Visited here again on our recent trip to try out the 5 for $6 till 7 & managed to get a very poorly tummy with the prawns. Won't be going back again as I really suffered the next day which wasn't great as we were travelling to Scottsdale!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank McAnnie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Mirage, Ca
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Tender, tasty steak that was only exceeded by the service.”
Reviewed August 25, 2011

For a chain restaurant, Fleming's provides the highest-quality service of any restaurant I know. You feel as if you're in a family-owned, single-location restaurant. The waiter, server and manager were very attentive and also helpful in food advice.

The only negative I have found at Fleming's is their wine mark-up, which is excessive. I purchase a lot of wine privately and know that they are marking up the wine 3-4x its cost. Wines-by-the-glass should not typically be in the $14-22 per glass range. Fleming's should objectively look at their wine list, which features superior brands, and reprice the wines-by-the-glass, as well as some of the more commercial bottles. This move would make the restaurant much more attractive by being more affordable.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mikegennet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fleming's Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar also viewed

Rancho Mirage, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
 
Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
Rancho Mirage, Greater Palm Springs
 
Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
 

Been to Fleming's Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing