We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall decent”
Review of Si Bon

Si Bon
Reserve with OpenTable
Si Bon is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 103 Restaurants in Rancho Mirage
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Belgian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
48 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Overall decent”
Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

Went with friends a party of four without a reservation for Sunday brunch. Was seated immediately.
Good food and decent service

Helpful?
Thank JN_172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    134
    31
    13
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
514 reviews
242 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Poor service but good food”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We were 20 minutes seated before our wait staff came by and she immediately explained they were understaffed. You need reservations so they should have been properly staffed. Food was really good as was the price for what you got. We'll try again to see if service has improved.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lesliebauman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palm springs
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great menu, then disappointing service/food”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We heard that Si Bon was a wonderful restaurant from friends who visited it for lunch. They brought back the menu and we were so excited by the wonderful dishes on that menu. We booked immediately for dinner. Our experience was unfortunately not as exciting as what we experienced reading the menu. Pros: clean restaurant, nice family vibe, small and intimate although tables are close together, and the menu options are outstanding to read. Great Chilled Cucumber soup, bread, and brussel sprouts in the salad. Cons: Brussel Sprout sald was to have maple bacon, but there were only two tiny pieces of bacon that showed up. Service was poor: plates were literally dropped in front of us with no concern for placement on the table. The Liver and Onions was drenched in a brown sauce that obscured the flavor of the liver. The Wiener Schnitzel was hard on the outer edges, and also obscured by heavy brown sauce. Vegetables (except for one carrot) were wilted and mushy. The waiter was nice and obviously experienced, but the men who brought the plates to the table were not customer-friendly. People at the table next to us had problems also. Not sure if we will go back. For $78 for two people it was pricey for what we got. Will put in another review if we do...hopefully more positive.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Mirage, California, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“POOR Service …. good FOOD...”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

This is the second Time we have been to Si Bon with friend's and The service is terrible. We sat there and waited for our waiter to at least address us, and that he would be with us. we finally had to flag someone down and ask who would be helping us. The same happened both time.
I think that is the biggest complaint I really have. The service staff is not well trained I believe. There was plenty of staff there. But It really makes me not want to go any longer, even if the food is OK.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sogoodcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
445 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“C'est Si Bon”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Si Bon feels like a family affair; it has that well-loved, friendly, warm feel that makes one imagine generations of family working in the kitchen and in the dining room. I don't know if that is the case, but keep up the feel Si Bon because it works.

The food - Belgian inspired - is quite good; the mussels and fries always make a perfect meal (with a green salad added in). It's hard for me to choose anything else but the mussels; however, tasting bits of my friends' meals suggests that most of the menu is dependably good.

The wine selection is limited but reasonable, both in the choices and the prices.

Service is professional, but with that friendly family feel that makes you feel quite comfortable.

If the look is a bit strip mall - well it is essentially a strip mall - the atmosphere is helped by the comfortable volume of a full dining room and a perfectly pleasant patio.

I don't think you can go wrong here - Si Bon is always a good choice.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Si Bon also viewed

Palm Desert, California Desert
Palm Desert, California Desert
 
Palm Desert, California Desert
Rancho Mirage, California Desert
 

Been to Si Bon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing