We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK~”
Review of Si Bon

Si Bon
Reserve with OpenTable
Si Bon is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 103 Restaurants in Rancho Mirage
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Belgian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Belgrade, Montana
Level Contributor
730 reviews
498 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
“Just OK~”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We went with high hopes. The food was good but the service was very slow! Our server Franses Elloitt, was pleasant enough but there was obviously not enough help to serve the amount of customers they had.
The host I think, was asked a question by a seated customer and quickly "blew them off" saying the server will be right over. No accomodation taken into consideration from what we could hear or see. No customer service by him at all!. Our food came hot, it was tasty, though we were not very impressed. Both of us are experienced foodies, world travelers and experienced cooks. There was just something missing.
I had Crepes with Black Forest ham & Gruyere Chhese, it had a salty reduction of possibly chicken gravy poured over the top. My husband had Corned beef Hash & eggs which were good. The Belgium friend potatoes were very nice. We will give it one more try and see if it's any different , perhaps for dinner.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffreyshapiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    134
    31
    13
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
McLean, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A taste of Belgium in the desert”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Picture this. A perfect morning--blue sky, temps about 80. A table outdoors, shaded just enough by a big umbrella. A charming gentleman with a little accent making you feel as if you are the most important guests the restaurant has ever served. Cold water served out of lovely carafes. Coffee to die for. And then....breakfast is delivered and it includes Belgian waffles topped with a mango cream sauce and carmelized fresh berries and the crispest, tastiest bacon that has ever passed your lips. That is Si Bon. We ate breakfast there twice in the week we found it, and lunch once. Lunch was delicious, too, but oh--those waffles. Make the effort to go to Si Bon. You won't be sorry!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert
Level Contributor
63 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Awesome Salad Nicoise”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Really enjoyed having lunch here with my husband. It was definitely a girls lunch out place with many table filled by ladies groups. In addition to the salad, I had a watercress soup that was delicious. Pricey but very high quality ingredients. I thought it was worth it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CocoPalmDesert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Belgian Experience”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

This small restaurant at the end of a strip mall has some delightfully different dishes on the menu. Unique to the area are the items served on a thin waffle rather than a croissant or bread.
Nice daily specials on the blackboard. The place is busy and noisy and still working out some of the issues of a rather new location. Recommended for both lunch and dinner.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ang2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PALM SPRINGS, CA
Level Contributor
274 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“GREAT SECRET!”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Some dear friends suggested we meet them and try this fun little place, so why not? GREAT food, wonderful service and a very nice, clean atmosphere. The Chef who is Belgian came over to introduce himself. Probably the BEST beef stroganoff I have ever had. Don't forget to get the chocolate mousse too!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Si Bon also viewed

Palm Desert, California Desert
Palm Desert, California Desert
 
Palm Desert, California Desert
Palm Desert, California Desert
 
Palm Desert, California Desert
Palm Desert, California Desert
 

Been to Si Bon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing