We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little Place”
Review of Si Bon

Si Bon
Reserve with OpenTable
Si Bon is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 103 Restaurants in Rancho Mirage
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Belgian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Rancho Mirage, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice little Place”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We went there with my brother and his wife and had a very nice dinner. Food is very good, and very fresh. We were there in off season, but in high season the tables are too close together so it hard to have a nice conversation with your table, without the other table hearing the conversation. Owners are very nice and are trying very hard to make people happy.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Claudia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    134
    31
    13
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Desert, California, USA
Level Contributor
79 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great saucier!”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

The food at this fairly new bistro is delectable, especially the sauces. The special for the evening was sole stuffed with lobster and a lobster sauce which was delicate but flavorful. The same for the cold cucumber soup - a nice refreshing treat on a hot summer's evening. Service was good and everyone was very friendly and eager to please. It was nice to see the chef-owner come out and visit with diners. The only negative - just a slight one - is the ambience. It's rather sterile - marble-topped tables, no table cloths, plain chairs, lots of hard surfaces which make the noise level high. Otherwise, very pleasant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MirageLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Wells, CA
Level Contributor
76 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Terrible service, food ok”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I decided to invite a friend who had lived in Belgium to try out this new place in Rancho Mirage for lunch. Big mistake. Our server was a mean-sprited older man (I'm an older man, too, so I can say that). He was rude and gave TERRIBLE service. I ordered a diet coke (which, by the way, came as a unopened can and a glass of ice for $2.00!!!) and my friend ordered water. When they brought the coke (by another pleasant waiter/busboy), my friend asked the original waiter where his water was and in a very rude way, said "It's coming!" We assumed it was coming from Bruge! Finally the water came in a bottle (no extra charge for that, thankfully). We ordered two open-faced sandwiches. They came and they were pleasant looking and tasted ok with a little side-salad. The original waiter never came back and asked how everything was. The other waiter/busboy was very pleasant. Though the food was ok - not great, I could not recommend this place. There are better "French-style" restaurants in the area that want your business. Obviously we had irritated this old waiter by our presence. Go somewhere else!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CraigIndianWells_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Mirage, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

This new place is incredible. There have been several local write-ups, and friends told us this was great so we went there for lunch and are glad we did. It was crowded, so the word is out. I ordered off the daily specials board and had cold cucumber soup that was fabulous, and cold Scottish salmon that was: a) a very, very large portion; and b) the best I've ever had. My wife ordered off the menu and got seafood crepes that she loved. Can't wait to return for a waffle dish!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barloj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hidden Hills
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A welcome addition to Rancho Mirage dining!”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

A friend told us about this new restaurant at Country Club and Monerrey. It turned out to be a Belgian bistro that has some unique takes on dining. As an appetizer I had soft shell crab on a Belgian waffle. There were several dishes with the "waffle" theme, from appetizers through the main course, through dessert. For main courses our table of six had two fish entrees, two hamburgers, a Belgian chicken and a lobster salad. Everyone enjoyed their entrees. Si Bon is reasonably priced and on our evening there, the patio seating was delightful. Definately worth a try.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Russ B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Si Bon also viewed

Palm Desert, California Desert
Palm Desert, California Desert
 
Palm Desert, California Desert
Palm Desert, California Desert
 

Been to Si Bon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing