We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reserve on line for a substantial discount!”

Westin Mission Hills Resort -Pete Dye Course
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This world-class Westin Resort complex is home to two superbly crafted championship courses: the Dye track features olive, pine and palm trees that screen the upwards of 70 bunkers, and the Gary Player track extends 7,062 yards from the championship tees.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
91 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Reserve on line for a substantial discount!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Great course! Scenic with a challenging layout. Though the green fees can be substantial, reserve online for a discount.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank lanit50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    41
    17
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
124 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“too many sand traps for my wife, but I liked it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

We got discount tee times, and enjoyed a round here. Course well maintained with very true putting greens. Fairways are generously wide. Starter was a bit of a jerk but all other staff here very friendly. We fell behind a hole and the marshall had to ask us to speed up which we did, and then he came out to thank us. Good mix of elevated greens, tees and water features. I would definetly play it again

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank cabojim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“not worth the full price”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

While the service is excellent, you play the golf course. As a 4 handicap golfer, I was very disapointed in the condition of the course.

I played, October 20th, after the late summer "make over" or overseeding whatever you wish on . The greens are extremely slow, were not cut and very fuzzy. A majority of the tee boxes were spotty with barespots. The fairways were simply ok, nothing special, sometimes lacking in grass. The areas next to the greens were mowed so inconsistantly....either way to tight or in some cased the mower missed. The rough near the greens could be 1" deep or 6 " deep right next to each other do too mowing errors. The bunkers had grass growing in them.

In short, this course is worth $30-$50 at best considering the condition.

Never pay the full rate for this track.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank dan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newhall, California
Level Contributor
126 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Beautiful property. Attentive and friendly staff. My husband took a lesson with Barry and thought it was very helpful. We had a lot of fun golfing!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Darkdivine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
“Great Golf”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

This is a pretty course but the drink cart does not come around enough considering they do not have coolers of water on the course.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Truthbetold970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Westin Mission Hills Resort -Pete Dye Course also viewed

 
Rancho Mirage, California Desert
Rancho Mirage, California Desert
 

Been to Westin Mission Hills Resort -Pete Dye Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing