We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great spa resort in a great location for a quick getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Agua Caliente Casino Resort Spa
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Rancho Mirage
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 8, 2012

My friend and I was looking for a quick getaway over the holiday weekend. We needed a location that was scenic, included great amenities and was a short drive from Los Angeles. Well, Agua Caliente met our expectations, and then some!

In addition to having an on-site casino, the hotel had a great variety of eateries, a sprawling pool area, and a nicely decorated hotel room. But, the spa was the best part. There were private pool and jacuzzi areas designated for spa guests, which were truly delightful. The facility and services were topnotch, while the rates were reasonable. However, if we wanted to around activity, we were a short walk away from the casino or the general pool area.

Agua Caliente was a short drive from Palm Springs Tram (a must see), downtown Palm Springs, and The River (a shopping promenade). For this being my first time in the desert, (it did get hot), I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Msflny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (607)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

461 - 467 of 607 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2012

My daughter was married Sunday, Sept. 2, at the Orthodox Church which is only a three minute drive from the Agua Caliente. We picked the hotel for the reception mainly because the first time we visited the church in February we walked out of the church and looked around. The casino was all we could see so we decided to check it out as a reception venue. Good decision. Although I was a pretty stressed out mother of the bride, everything went beautifully. The event lawn is a world away from the casino - very lovely atmosphere. The tables were set up on the lawn and looked great. We ordered the barbeque buffet off the banquet menu - a good value for 85 guests- the food was really the best we've had at a wedding - so many compliments and good choices for every guest from those on gluten free to vegetarians and of course regular omnivores - everything was really tasty. We received so many compliments on the food from our guests. The buffet included cookies and brownies - I only tasted one cookie and it was really good. You need to bring in your own wedding cake, or in my daughter's case, wedding pies. But the catering staff displayed the pies beautifully. Rick and Vickie, the banquet managers were excellent - they do know what they are doing. My husband selected the wines from the house menu and they were very good. My daughter and her bridesmaids got their hair done for the wedding at the hotel Spa - Alison was amazing in doing all four girls' hair beautifully.
This was a destination wedding of sorts as no one lived closer than Long Beach and many, including the bride and groom and both sets of parents came in from over a thousand miles away. Many of our guests, as well as the bridal party, stayed at the casino hotel all weekend. They all liked their rooms. My husband and I stayed in an executive suite the night of the reception and it was a beautiful room (actually two rooms plus a very big bathroom). The wedding couple had a similar suite on the 9th floor on their wedding night and they loved it. Weddings are expensive but I do think we got good value for our money. Nothing is perfect but I definitely recommend the Agua Caliente as a wedding reception venue.
I"ll add photos later.

Room Tip: in the summer there are loud events at the pool on Friday nights. On those nights the rooms on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kerwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised by how nice the rooms are. They're very clean, roomy, and modern. The staff were all friendly and attentive, too. Agua Caliente is a great weekend getaway spot for our family of 3 since it has a bit of everything for each one of us to enjoy. I get to enjoy the nice rooms (I'm very particular about where I stay). My daughter gets to enjoy the swimming pool and the children's museum that's a couple of miles away. And my husband gets to gamble. There are several dining options onsite as well. The buffet is pretty good. It's not as fancy as some of the Vegas buffets, but it suits our needs and isn’t too pricey ($25 on weekends).

Another positive is the swimming pool. Although it's a pretty standard pool (i.e., no slides, lazy river) it doesn't get so crowded that you can barely move. During our stay in August we went to a nearby hotel to visit some friends and their swimming pool was a zoo. I was so glad to be able to return to the more serene surroundings at Agua.

They have pool parties on Friday nights from 8pm – 1am. (Not sure if this is just during the summer time.) We stayed on the 10th floor overlooking the pool and it was pretty loud. The front desk person did tell us about the party and the possible noise. We didn’t mind the noise since we go to be pretty late, so it wasn’t an issue for us. If you’re a light sleeper and go to bed early, then I highly recommend avoiding rooms on the pool side on Friday nights.

We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Isabellasmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Checked in at about 12 midnight on 8/24 and requested an extension for checkout until 12 noon the following day but was flatly denied by a front desk personnel named Sema or Selma. Can't understand the denial, when a friend staying at another room was just given an extension until 12noon. Explained that we just needed a little bit more time to get ready and pack, considering that we checked in very late. Paid $239 for the room for less than 12 hours and could have spent less for a much better treatment at other premier hotels in the area without the added aggravation. Sad first stay at the hotel. Just sent a letter to Robin Stone and Mark Averett of Agua.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank s g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I'll begin with the positive....having stayed here many times the pool and surrounding grounds are lovely. If you are lucky enough to get a room on a high level with balcony overlooking the pool and mountains the views are stunning. The lower level rooms on the pool side are just too noisy with music at the pool going all day.and with pool parties on the weekends during the summertime. The rooms on the non pool side have views of the parking garage and freeway. The Java coffee house has great coffee drinks and pastries but a word of caution the rooms no longer have any coffee makers in them so if you are a morning coffee person you will need to get dressed and head downstairs for that first cup of morning coffee. The negatives with our stay were numerous this time around....sad to say. Our confirmed Pure allergy free room with balcony must be requested by the high rollers because we were bumped and not able to get the room we had booked a month in advance for a special birthday weekend celebration. If you like to play the slots beware the non-smoking area has most of the machines turned off. You will most likely be playing in the smoking area. If that doesn't bother you'll have fun with a good assortment of games to play. We ate dinner in the Steak House one evening and had to wait patiently for about 20 minutes before anyone would seat us. The hostess just left her post...so after waiting and waiting I walked in and asked a server if he could seat us. No, we needed to wait for the hostess to return. The restaurant was nearly empty at 5:30 when we arrived. Dinner was good but the wrong wine was served to us.....we ordered an Cabernet but were served a nice chilled white wine. We just went ahead and drank it but not sure how that was misunderstood by the server. We've decided to give this resort a miss from now on and will head toward the San Diego area to stay and play. We have received much better service at other resorts/casinos. I did write the hotel about my experience but never head back from them...again not good customer service.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cdgillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

I was skeptical to come here due to a prior visit to their other property in Palm Springs, which is god awful. Agua Was wonderful! Clean, fun, friendly... Everything the other propert wasn't! Only thing that could use some work is the pool atmosphere.... Maybe different music or a larger pool with lazy river.... Like Morongo :)

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Noahskultety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We took a quick trip June 2012, never been to the desert so we chose this hotel based on location and amenities. I would recommend staying here, easy to get to from the airport. Valet parking was great unfortunately our car was black with black interior so always cool when they brought it up for us. If you call ahead 10-15 min. before leaving your room the car will be waiting for you. Staff was very helpful and always willing to point you in the right direction with a map in hand.

Rooms were clean, very modern and all around lovely. Sometimes the wait for the elevetor was a bit longer than expected. Restaurants we ate at were all good, only missed the coffee shop. Pool bar restaurant closed early so if you want to eat there check on the times. Pool staff was great always willing to help you with drinks to your chairs as well there was poolside service. For extra charge you can rent a cabana for the day, might be a good idea if you are planning a day at the pool it was very hot!! Keep your sandals on the pool deck heats up and stays hot even in the shade.

Casino area was fun, lots of 1 and 2 cent machines. Not like Vegas, no dice games or complimentary drinks in the state of California. They do have Craps and Roulette that they play with cards. If you book through Expedia they offer a coupon book so take advantage of it. Casino can be smokey at when busy, being a non smoker I find this drives me out of the casino when I just can't take it anymore.

Note, June is not a prime time and found some of the artivities, restaurants etc were downsized, shortened hours or closed. Would definitely recommend the Pacifico restaurant on El Paseo. We enjoyed the street fair in Palm Springs on the Thursday night. The Tram ride up the mountain was definitely worth the time. Be prepared to do a little hiking at the top, nice views of the valley. During this time of year we found the temperature to be very pleasant, no jackets required still very warm. We had been warned that there can be a significant change in temperature due to the elevation change, at the bottom it was 43C at the top 28C closer to our typical summer day so we found it very nice.

Palm Springs airport is very small, we had a 2 1/2 hour delay in our flights there isn't much to do or see. Starbucks and one Restaurant that we were lucky enough to get seats at the bar to wait out our time. It is quite small but staff was great. Dont go to early if you can get away with it or have a good book to pass the time.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lovin2travelCalab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rancho Mirage
1 mi away
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
#1 of 8 in Rancho Mirage
965 reviews
4 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Palm Springs/Rancho Mirage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rancho Mirage - Palm Spgs Area
5 mi away
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agua Caliente Casino Resort Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agua Caliente Casino Resort Spa

Address: 32250 Bob Hope Dr, Rancho Mirage, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92270-2704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Rancho Mirage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#4 Spa Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rancho Mirage
Price Range: $152 - $488 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Agua Caliente Casino Resort Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the pleasures of a luxurious, four-diamond destination are yours at Agua Caliente Casino Resort Spa in Rancho Mirage, California. Our beautiful 16-story resort includes our wildly popular casino, and has pools and well appointed cabanas, an exceptional spa, and a state-of-the-art concert theatre. Located only seven miles from Palm Springs International Airport and 130 miles east of Los Angeles off I -10 and Bob Hope Drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Agua Caliente Casino Resort Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agua Caliente Hotel Rancho Mirage
Agua Caliente Casino Resort Spa Rancho Mirage, CA - California Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing