We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Rooms were great, everything else, not so much” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Agua Caliente Casino Resort Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Agua Caliente Casino Resort Spa
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Rancho Mirage
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Rooms were great, everything else, not so much”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

We weren;t expecting much from the room and were very pleasantly surprised! Very modern, clean and new room, huge bathroom with amazing tub and shower, room itself very large. After calling the hotel directly the day before, I was told the only thing they had available was a suite for over $300/night! Checking the website, they had a "pet-friendly" King room for $134/night. A little hesitant, but went ahead and booked it. They charge you an extra $60 per pet you bring on top of that, but not if you're animal free. They do, however, charge everyone and extra $12/night as a resort fee. Parking, however, even valet, is complimentary. I have 2 large dogs at home, so I'm not at all sensitive to pet hair, smells, etc, but neither of us noticed that dogs were ever in the room. We're both very allergic to cats, however, but no reaction. At check-in, they never even asked us if we had a pet, so I even wonder if this was indeed one of the pet-friendly rooms.
The casino, which we have been to many times, is nice, if not small. It's is, however, extremely smokey, so much so that we couldn't even stay in it more than half and hour at a time! We didn;t eat in any of the restaurants or use the pool or spa. For a 1-night stop-over in Palm Desert it was fine, but not sure I'd want to stay much longer. It's about a 10 minute drive down to Highway 111 where all the good restaurants, shopping, movies etc. is. If you're not into gambling, I'd stay somewhere else for sure.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hannahytaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    159
    47
    30
    25
See reviews for
102
215
36
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Verne, California
Level Contributor
104 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

This hotel is clean and well maintained. The rooms are spacious with separate shower and plenty of amenities. The pool is crystal clear with lifeguards. Plenty of lounge chairs and cabanas. The spa is excellent and very clean. The only negative was the smoke on the casino floor. On our room floor there was no evidence of any smoke. The food was excellent in the steakhouse and in Walters. We have been back several times.

Room Tip: ASk for an upgrade. all the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lulu120639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

We stayed last week ( Feb. 8-11 ) at Agua Caliente for 3 nights. We stayed in an executive suite. Everything was fully comped including dinner in the Steakhouse which was absolutely superb. What has changed is the pricing of the food. Room service now charges more than the same meals at the Waters Café. The prices for room service went up quite considerably. Our usual room service breakfast used to cost a total of $37 including tax and tip. Now the exact same thing costs $48. Our usual breakfast is 2 omelets, 2 glasses of milk and an order of pancakes. They also raised the prices in the Waters café but not very much. It is still very good and fairly reasonable. This doesn't affect us because all of our food is comped but I thought it would be of interest.

Our stay was great and we came out ahead on gambling. I won my 5th Royal Flush in 3 months on Video Poker.

Room Tip: Get a room with pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnSocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2012

Agua Caliente is a case of ‘different strokes for different folks’. If you are a smoker and gambler then my guess is that the hotel would be heaven for you. If you aren’t, then I would recommend that you look elsewhere. We spent one week in the hotel because we were attending a conference nearby and it was the only hotel that could accommodate us. Whilst the rooms and bathrooms are adequately sized, modern and neat, the hotel itself was a complete let down.

The moment you walk into the reception area you are hit by the strong smell of cigarette smoke wafting over from the open plan casino area. It was a standing joke between the six of us staying in the hotel that you had to take a deep breath of the ‘fresh’ air as you entered into the hotel. You honestly cannot walk into or out of the hotel without the stench of cigarette smoke seeping into your hair and clothing, not to mention the intrusion of incessant slot machine noise.

Not one of our group ate in the restaurants downstairs because of the cigarette smell but there were plenty of top quality restaurants to explore downtown – for example the trendy Tommy Bahamas and the ambient Agua Pazza Bistro.

The complementary valet parking was well organized and the staff was friendly. The hotel gym is small but adequate, although you have to walk past the restaurants to get there. There is no tea or coffee-making facilities in the room, which for me is a must-have in a hotel. Room service is relatively quick (25 min) and the food is adequate. Business facilities in the hotel is very poor. After 1,5 hours of trying to print a pdf document to fax to the UK, we gave up. The business facility staff did not know the international dialing code out of Palm Springs and could not assist us with our fax. On a positive note, wifi internet access is free of charge and available throughout the hotel.

Not one of our group would ever recommend this hotel or stay there again. Other members of our group stayed at the Westin Mission Hills, where the conference was being held, and it is by far a better choice of hotel. If you are a guest looking for a high class hotel experience then this is not the hotel for you. Gamblers and smokers, enjoy...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SagMoonTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Puente, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2012

Let me share my experience with you,i have been to all the casinos in this area and never have i sat on any of there stools at the slot machines, that have scared the living daylites out of me, almost every casino stool takes you down , and you feel like if you are going to fall to the floor, now i could understand if it was a couple of them but it was almost everyone of them.so i had to play standing up most of the time,and let me comment on there staff, the worst ever, not friendly not helpful,the waitresses pass you by so quickly with there looking downward ,as you are calling out to them to get you a water.they totally ignore you.I use to love going to this casino.but because of my recent experience .i will not be going back ,me not even any of my friends or family.WOW , how this place has changed.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank diana o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Osos, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

Rooms facing Palm Springs have awesome views, the pool area is packed with palms & a bonfire at night. When you get a spa service they feed you fresh fruit & there's a private pool for spa guests. Highly recommend the Baja tacos & milkshake that comes in a chocolate cup at Waters Cafe.
Checking in, & room service were amazingly fast & all staff was so helpful with a smile. We can't say enough. Stayed 4 nights in January 2012, & now another night in Feb.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PalmTreez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

Just got back from a 2 night stay at Agua Caliente Resort & Casino. Hotel is four Diamond AAA rated and the room was excellent. Very clean and has a huge soaking oval tub with separate shower. They even have a small flat screen TV in the bathroom. Both nights were comped so my stay were free. The room we had was fairly huge with double beds. They even have a PURE air unit in the room to purify allergens and dust. They have a buffet, a steakhouse, Waters Cafe , Poker Deli and a Java Caliente coffee shop. Only tried the coffee shop for beverages since I brought some food with me. Nightime entertainment at their lounge with a live band on Friday and Saturday starting at 9 pm til 1 am. Gambled both nights mostly slots. Didn't have any luck Friday night but recouped all my losses on Saturday and Sunday morning. Great stay for both nights and will come again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank funseeker888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rancho Mirage
0.9 mi away
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
#1 of 8 in Rancho Mirage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
1.1 mi away
Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
4.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Rancho Mirage
The Ritz-Carlton, Rancho Mirage
#2 of 8 in Rancho Mirage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
4.9 mi away
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agua Caliente Casino Resort Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agua Caliente Casino Resort Spa

Property: Agua Caliente Casino Resort Spa
Address: 32250 Bob Hope Dr, Rancho Mirage, CA 92270-2704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Rancho Mirage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#4 Spa Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rancho Mirage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Agua Caliente Casino Resort Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Agua Caliente Casino Resort Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agua Caliente Hotel Rancho Mirage
Agua Caliente Casino Resort Spa Rancho Mirage, CA - California Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing