We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service, Food not up to Par for Famous Dave's”
Review of Famous Dave's

Famous Dave's
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great Service, Food not up to Par for Famous Dave's”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I love bbq, and I love Famous Daves, but to be honest I didn't find the food at this location to be up to the standard of other Famous Dave's that I've visited, I ordered the brisket platter which was a bit dry, luckily they have all those great sauces to choose from. The service was excellent by a very friendly and attentive staff.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chicag0_Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    23
    17
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Covina, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Loved the food here, will definitely come back. We stopped in for dinner and were really impressed with the taste of the food, very good.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alta Loma
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Great B-B-Q tri-tip, chicken - we love the FEAST. Bread pudding is enough for 4 people and oh so good. You can mix your sauces for interesting flavors. Fun atmosphere, get's very busy. Service is ok.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Mar, California
Level 6 Contributor
611 reviews
345 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 369 helpful votes
“BBQ the way it should be, Excellent”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Stopped here for lunch on the way back from Las Vegas, as we know this restaurant was conveniently located just off the I-15 freeway. We have eaten at several Famous Dave's around California and have never been disappointed. The ribs are some for the best I've had around the country, let alone in California. The pulled pork is also very good, as is just about everything on the menu. The variety of BBQ sauces offered just complements the food and adds to the meal. The service is terrific and helps make this an all around excellent dinning experience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food and drinks”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Famous Dave's in Ontario - Rancho Cucamonga (LA) is perfect for the non-picky hamburger and mexican food lovers. The restaurant is nice, clearly prefered by the local people but not too crowded, not pretentious in the cuisine and service but just fine in price and atmosphere.
I was there as a solo business traveler and chose to sit at the bar, got some good selection of beers, tasty food, and a nice chat with a nice staff. Even the manager was out serving some people, and it seems that the staff-to-manager relation is quite friendly there.
A perfectly enjoyable restaurant, clearly recommendable to everybody.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank miroingen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Famous Dave's also viewed

 

Been to Famous Dave's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing