We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a "4 Star" hotel, but still a nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sacramento Marriott Rancho Cordova
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Rancho Cordova
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Castro Valley, CA
28
Reviewed October 2, 2005

My family travels quite a bit and we have stayed in many different types of hotels, motels and B&Bs. This Marriott has a 4 star rating in the AAA Travel Gude. Compared to many 4 star hotels in which we've stayed, I would have to 4 stars is extremely generous for this property.

RESERVATIONS: I initially contacted the hotel directly. The reservationist seemed a bit put-off from the beginning. When I asked for a room with 2 queen sized beds, I was told there weren't any available, which I found odd considering Rancho Cordova is mostly a business area and has very little weekend foot traffic. When I asked if they had any breakfast specials, I was informed there weren't any of "those deals" left either. I called back to the 1-800 worldwide Marriott reservation desk and was again told there were no queen beds. After I made my reservation, the clerk asked me if I would like to upgrade to the "breakfast special." for $15 more. I told her I thought there weren't any left and she said, "Oh there are plenty of specials available." so I upgraded. (And I'm glad I did.)

When we arrived at the hotel, the front desk clerk saw that we had 2 adults and a child and asked if we would like a room with 2 queen beds. I told her we would and explained what happened when we originally asked for 2 queen beds both times we called. She and another desk clerk looked confused and then started chuckling. They both said they couldn't understand WHY we would be told there were no queens available because they had plenty. They also didn't understand why we were told (at first) there were no breakfast specials available.


ROOMS: Our room was very spacious and well-appointed. The only two problems...one bed had dried food on the white down blanket and the shampoo in the bathroom had been opened and used. We told the front desk, who sent housekeeping up. Housekeeping replaced the wrong bed blanket, even though it was obvious it was the only bed that had been used at that point. There was also some trash on the floors from the previous occupants.

FACILITIES: Upkeep could be better. We noticed quite a bit of litter and trash lying around the 8th floor that still wasn't picked up by morning. Also, the walls are quite thin and we could hear conversations and people coming in and out of the elevator. The advertised "heated pool" was downright frigid and my daughter, who will swim in most any temperature, decided not to use the pool because it was too cold.

SERVICE: Other than the reservation problems, the service was impeccable. Front desk and restaurant staff were extremely nice and helpful. The hotel had a list of recommendations to local restaurants so we tried one of them. We were not disappointed.

FOOD: We had an early dinner and wanted a snack later that evening. We were told room service ended at 11:00 p.m. and it was listed as such in the book in our hotel room. When I called down at 10:00 p.m. for room service, we were told it ended at 10 and both on-site restaurants were closed.

The next morning, we had breakfast at the Cafe Del Sole. It was definitely worth the $15 upgrade. There was a plentiful breakfast buffet with fresh fruit, cereal, bacon, eggs, potatoes, toast, bagels, etc. They had a chef who prepared lavish omelets and fresh waffles. Breakfast also came with tea, coffee and fresh-squeezed orange juice. Absolutely delicious.


OVERALL: With the exception of the reservations and small details, we had a very nice stay at this hotel and recommend it to anyone passing through the area.

Oh yes...all rooms that end in odd numbers face the parking lot and not the freeway, which is a DEFINITE plus!!

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (490)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

469 - 475 of 490 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2005

This hotel is right on the freeway - but they do everything to make you avoid feeling like that. The pool area has waterfalls and is very updated, clean and attractive. Our room was spacious and very clean and updated. It wasn't noisy at all. The restaurant staff was so nice - we had a big group and they accomodated us every time.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CSL929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2005

I was a little nervous about staying here because it is close to a major freeway and many busy streets, but it is like an oasis in the middle of the jungle. We found the hotel to be very quiet, the rooms were very nice for a Marriott and the lobby/pool area was really quite nice. We ordered room service in the morning and everything was exactly how we ordered. The beds were so comfy too! I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mattandcindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2005

This hotel exceeded our expectations. It was beautifully decorated, the staff was very friendly and the pool area was complete with three waterfalls. The morning breakfast included custom omelets, fresh waffles, melons, fried potatoes, bacon, sausage, cereals and fresh squeezed juices. We highly recommend!

If you have a feather allergy, please note that the pillows and comforter are "down". The hotel is happy to swap out the feathers for fiberfill pillows and regular comforters.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SoCalFamily2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2005

While the service was very good and the room nice it was incredibly noisy. Walls seemed very thin, could hear people talking in normal tone of voice in the hallway and street noise was very loud even across a parking lot and from the third floor. Overall not a restful stay.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mdcbooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2005

Friendliness, cleanliness, and attention to detail prevailed at this location. My wife and I were visiting relatives in the area and obtained an attractive weekend rate for our 4th-floor room. Upon our arrival on Friday evening from Orange County after seven hours of driving in busy traffic, we observed many high-school kids in the lobby, on the elevator, and in the hallway. We both thought that we might be in for a noisy night. We learned that the students were participating in a nearby rowing tournament. Well . . . at 9:45 PM, we overheard a coach address some of the students in the hall. "You must be in your rooms at 10, lights out at 10:15." The students never had been real noisy, but at 10 PM the place was silent. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DaveAndBetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Oakland, CA
453
Reviewed April 9, 2005

This is a nice hotel for the price. Very clean, large spacious rooms. Not what I would call stylish, like a W, but good. Best described as 'typical Mariott'. Staff is pleasant enough, but then again, I am not particulary demanding. Great big pool. Room service food is very good. Considering the area's slim pickings, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rancho Cordova hotels
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Sacramento/Rancho Cordova
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Rancho Cordova Inn
1.7 mi away
Courtyard Sacramento Rancho Cordova
Courtyard Sacramento Rancho Cord...
#9 of 17 in Rancho Cordova
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Rancho Cordova
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Sacramento/Rancho Cordova
1.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rancho Cordova
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sacramento Marriott Rancho Cordova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sacramento Marriott Rancho Cordova

Address: 11211 Point East Dr, Rancho Cordova, CA 95742-6239
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Rancho Cordova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rancho Cordova
#4 Business Hotel in Rancho Cordova
#6 Family Hotel in Rancho Cordova
Price Range: $112 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sacramento Marriott Rancho Cordova 3.5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Sacramento Marriott Rancho Cordova Hotel, whether you are visiting on business or traveling for pleasure, our Rancho Cordova hotel is sure to exceed your expectations. Ideally located this Rancho Cordova hotel, is an elegant 4 Diamond property that offers a distraction-free suburban location. The State-of-the-art meeting space, elegant guest rooms, Starbucks and award winning restaurant - Formaggio- make the Sacramento Marriott Rancho Cordova hotel ideal for work or play. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sacramento Marriott Rancho Cordova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sacramento Marriott Rancho Cordova Hotel Rancho Cordova
Marriott Rancho Cordova
Rancho Cordova Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing