We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“No Corporate Rate” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunrise Hotel & Suites Rancho Cordova

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sunrise Hotel & Suites Rancho Cordova
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Rancho Cordova
Certificate of Excellence
West Sacramento
2 reviews
“No Corporate Rate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

I was there on business and I had my Amex Corporate card in hand. This hotel does not give Corp rate unless you apply ahead of time...Red tape.
Hotel was nice, limited closet and dresser dwarer space. Breakfast was nice, fresh omlettes cooked to order are included

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Louis Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    79
    37
    17
    13
See reviews for
74
31
16
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

I stayed here a couple of nights in May, 2014 and I would definitely stay here again if in the area. I thought it was a good value overall.

What I liked:

Nice front desk staff
Pool--Outside
Hottub--Outside
1 block from the Gold Line Train to downtown Sacramento or Old Town Folsom.
Right off the 50 at Sunrise
Just 1.5 miles from an entrance to the American River Bike Trail.
A few blocks from Thai Smile Cuisine --a local mom and pop I liked a lot--you will smile afterwards.
A few blocks from In and Out Burger on Sunrise.
In a cluster of other hotels like Holiday Inn and Marriott if you like to hotel bar hop.
Seemed generally safe but don't leave valuables showing in your car since its right off the highway.
Spacious Rooms.
Extremely! comfortable beds.
Large showers.
Living room area.
2 Flat screen TV's
Excellent full breakfast for free 6 to 9 am only--get your A out bed! It's worth it!
They will make you a complimentary custom Omelet at breakfast! Egg whites too!
Quiet and restful place.
Cold refrigerator in the room. Micro in the room.
Easy free parking.
All doors except main reception requires card key entry.

What I did not like:

1) I have stayed at many a hotel and motel in my time including Hyatt's and this one has housekeeping issues I can tell you for sure.

Details:

Upon entry to the room, it was made up--but dirty--not just from the last customer--generally dirty build-up over the course of time. Dirt in the corners in the bathroom, heavy dust on walls behind the living room TV, a long hair from someone else on the bath towel over the sink (I have not had hair close to that long since college LOL), counter in the bathroom was sticky from the last customer--I just took a wash cloth and cleaned it up myself--some of it was soap that dried forming a hard film that needed more rubbing to remove it. Basically--you did not want to look too close in this room and I tried to avoid looking and touching. I was busy and had business to get to at the Capitol, so I washed up and headed back out.

The next day, I left the room at 10.30 in the am and put out the "please make up my room" sign. I return at 7 pm, sign is on the door, and no one came to make up the room!! What?!

I called down to the front desk, she was very nice, apologetic, and sent the housekeeper up in 5 minutes. Housekeeper knocks and says to me, "not sure why they sent me here--what can I do for you?" I told her, and she quickly refreshed the room.

They really should keep a list of which rooms have been serviced so they don't miss rooms. Again something is wrong on the housekeeping end.

I checked out the next day.

2) The other thing that puzzled me was regarding Oatmeal at breakfast. The first day they had fresh great hot oatmeal! Love it! The next day, no oatmeal. I ask and was told that they switch off oatmeal for biscuits and gravy every other day. What?

That is like taking away someone's fruit and giving them a candy bar!

DO NOT remove the oatmeal from breakfast please--this should be there every morning. It's the last thing that should be removed! from breakfast. It's like not giving you towels in the room--you don't do that.

I told the front desk at check-out that I was not happy about this.

The other thing regarding breakfast is that closed sealed cups of yogurt (Dannon) are better than a giant unmarked vat of yogurt like they had--I did not like many people handling the spoon and putting it back into the yogurt vat.

3) They really need a digital signal coming to the TV's. They are using analog into modern flat screen LCD's and the picture is as clear as watching TV over a rabbit ear antenna in an apartment in the 1970's . Get the picture? Do something about this--it's so sad.

Room Tip: There are inside rooms that face the pool, and those that face the parking lot so you can watch your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is a very nice place to stray. We've stayed here for the last 7 years, every time we come to Sacramento. They have excellent service. On our last visit they had over booked and didn't have the room we had requested so they upgraded us to a suite. No restaurant on site but they do have a lounge/bar that serves food. Rooms are VERY clean and well appointed. There is an outdoor swimming pool with a large patio area with umbrella tables. Very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelgirlSanJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

I spent just one night here, but got a good look at the property throughout. Obvious to say that Rancho Cordova is a 15-20 minute drive from Sacramento, so it's not quite central but still convenient and the price is usually very good. As others have said, the property is not at typical Hyatt level. While my room was updated and generally new, the bathroom, with cheap and old tile, looked like something from a 1980s motel. The buildings are huge, with long, dark corridors, and look like a suburban apartment complex, complete with screaming kids in the pool. The neighborhood and people around certainly did not inspire any confidence in leaving the car outside either. Breakfast was hit-and-miss but actually far better than the Hyatt Place nearby: freshly-made omelettes were about the only really fresh thing to eat, but they were great and done with a smile. Overall, even considering the price of the room, I'd stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eab2124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

I stayed at this hotel as the Marriott next door was sold out. Though MOST Hyatt House properties are purpose-built and very nice, this particular one felt like it was acquired from Holiday Inn and then just re-named. The colors were dark brown and white, the hallways dimly lit, the whole place was, well, creepy. To add to the creepy factor, the bathroom door closes on you by itself, and in the middle of the night, there was a weird clicking (some bug? animal?) in my room that moved around. I finally turned on the light to investigate, only to find the bottom tucked in part of the sheets to be soaking wet. That was it. No more sleep for the night. I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mezso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tahoe
Level Contributor
95 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

As a Hyatt Diamond member who's seen a few Hyatt properties, I'm a bit surprised that Hyatt chose this non-standard property to bring into the fold. The rooms are old, oddly furnished, and strangely painted and decorated. The property is below normal Hyatt standards in terms of construction quality. Breakfast is good, though, as are room rates, at least for Hyatt rewards members. I've stayed here two or three times in the past, and may stay here again, but the rooms are too non-standard for me to look forward to.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank MovnOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atascadero, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Check in was very quick and the staff was very friendly and efficient. Our room was clean and larger than expected. The bed was comfortable. Tiles in the bathroom were broken and some areas and times areas need painting. Was good value. Breakfast included and.was average.

Room Tip: Good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank COATES6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rancho Cordova
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rancho Cordova Inn
0.1 mi away
Sacramento Marriott Rancho Cordova
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Sacramento/Rancho Cordova
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rancho Cordova Sacramento
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rancho Co...
#10 of 17 in Rancho Cordova
3.5 of 5 stars 223 reviews
2.9 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Rancho Cordova
Comfort Inn and Suites Rancho Co...
#11 of 17 in Rancho Cordova
4.0 of 5 stars 107 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Sacramento Rancho Cordova
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Hotel & Suites Rancho Cordova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Hotel & Suites Rancho Cordova

Property: Sunrise Hotel & Suites Rancho Cordova
Address: 11260 Point East Dr, Rancho Cordova, CA 95742-6232 (Formerly HYATT house Sacramento/Rancho Cordova)
Location: United States > California > Rancho Cordova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Rancho Cordova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrise Hotel & Suites Rancho Cordova 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The HYATT House Sacramento/Rancho Cordova blends cozy chic with the convenience of guest-empowered travel thru intelligent design, stress-free service and free-flowing amenities. Its 158 smartly designed guestrooms + suites feature flat panel TVs, MP3 docking stations and waffle terry bathrobes while free details include cook-to-order breakfast, Starbucks brewed coffee and WI-FI throughout. Sample small plates, sip and socialize at the HBAR or relax and unwind on the outdoor pool patio with cabanas and lounge seating. Conveniently located just 11 miles east of downtown Sacramento. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Sunrise Hotel & Suites Rancho Cordova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Sierra Rancho Cordova

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing