We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lobsta Time”

Rudy's Hideaway Lobster House & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Rudy's Hideaway Lobster House & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hazel @ US 50
Transit: Light rail stop is located one block away.
Folsom, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lobsta Time”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Very much enjoyed a dinner at Rudy's last week with friends. Being in the mood for Atlantic Lobster, and with Rudy's having a Lobster special on the menu for the month of September (chowder or salad, Atlantic Lobster, and choice of potato for $21.95), 10 of us met for dinner. The service was very good, attentive, but not overly so. The food was very good. My lobster was cooked perfectly (and I know my lobsta). If you are in the mood for Atlantic Lobster - and eating one in Maine is not an option, this is the place!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kerri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    55
    17
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Galt
Level Contributor
157 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good place for Maine lobster”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Just a passerby for 50 years, we decided to try Rudy's for lobster on a Friday for lunch. We were greeted at the front door and seated instantly; not many customers. Walking through the older style, seafood place one is transported back the 50's-60's. That is part of the charm. Neat old tables and art. Older, bar crowd and customer base appeared to be the order. Our waitress Robin was helpful and attentive. My wife and I ordered the full lobster. Garlic mashed taters were only available at dinner. We wondered if two dinners would be too much (we are not big eaters) it wasn't. Not much meat there. The clam chowder was my favorite part 5outa5. Good overall, we wouldn't drive 40 minutes to go again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sonnybear47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sacramento
Level Contributor
186 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Remember-it's a lobster place!”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Having beeen in Maine last year, and reading about another year of record harvest we thought we would do the Thursday night lobster special. Rudy's is an old school lobster place. Once you are inside you could be in Atlantic City, NJ for all you know. We began with a well made martini and a bottle of local sauvignon blanc (Boeger) and the calamari. The calamari is strips of squid, no tenacles, the cocktal sauce could use a kick. I've had better. The one pound lobster was great, served with clarified butter. We chose coleslaw instead of carbs and it was delicious. I have been told by others, order lobster and you can't go wrong. They were right. and go when it's on special- a real bargain. Chocolate mousse, the old fashioned creamy style, very good. Our server, Brandi, was a delight!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ucddoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
69 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good seafood and service, but ambiance lowers rating”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Greeting and order taking: Took order in reasonable amount of time.
Food preparation time: Reasonable.
Food quality and taste: Very good
Service overall: Very good. Very friendly and helpful staff.
Portions: Decent size. May have some to take home.
Time of day: Went for dinner.
Prices: Good
Customers: Mostly older local people the time I visited.
Location: For someone on business trip, not very familiar with the area
it seemed to be in low-rent area.
Ambiance: Seemed dated, and bit dingy. Reminded me of the local seafood places in Maine and New England. Not much on decor, but good food, Owner should spend some money on sprucing up the place.

I liked food and service. People I was with did not like their food, and did not want to ever go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wimike999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemoore, California, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thank you for such a WONDERFUL TIME.”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This Place is Older but has Great Charm. My Parents use to love to eat here when I was very small. Now in my 50's I had a chance to introduce this Restaurant to my Friends. We had Ronnie as our waiter and he was so Pleasant. We had the Lobster and Prime Rib. Cozy inside / Older Outside. Nice Dining space and Our dinner was so Nice and Tasty we will be back again and again. Thank You.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RosesAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rudy's Hideaway Lobster House & Bar also viewed

 
Rancho Cordova, CA
 
Rancho Cordova, CA
 

Been to Rudy's Hideaway Lobster House & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing