We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheepherder Bar & Grille - CLOSED

Sheepherder Bar & Grille
11275 Folsom Blvd., Rancho Cordova, CA 95742
916-638-4584
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Sunrise Blvd
Transit: Sunrise Blvd. Light Rail
Chico, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We were in town for the day and tried the Fire Rock for lunch. I guess it had recently changed from the old Sheepherder about 4 months ago. The food was very good. It looked like they had live music on the patio in the evening (at least on the Saturday we were there). I would have liked to have checked that out, but didn't have time. Anyway, I would try it again next time I'm in Rancho Cordova.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BidwellRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Sheepherder is now FireRock in Rancho Cordova”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Went for Mothers Day Brunch! We had reservations but still had to wait ~ 30 min. Food was fine, the buffet was so disorganized, it was ridiculous. There was a woman (guest) standing next to me that saw oreo cookies on a plate for dessert. She made the comment to the wait staff 'I am paying $32.00 for brunch and you're putting oreo cookies out on a plate?' -- not worth the $$$
They need to get their act together and fast !

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JenDal1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cordova, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food, good atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

A little pricey but you get what you pay for and there is a good sized menu. Very friendly wait staff.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rog G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“It is now FIRE ROCK Grill & you must try!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

This is now Fire Rock Bar & Grill; under new ownership, however the former owners are being jerks about getting this info changed on social media! The website link will take you to an art framing site which is an irrelevant business of the former owners'. Frustrating.. Anyhow, Fire Rock is great with a fantastic happy hour that goes from 3-7pm on Mon-Sat. I have not yet tried their dinner menu but hear that it is delicious as well! Give them a try :) The friendly owners greeted each guest and the staff is wonderful. Relaxing ambiance. We had a superb experience at FIRE ROCK, not Sheepherders!!

Helpful?
5 Thank chickenalaqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

The restaurant was nice. The place was a nice size. The food was great too. You get great portions. The service was excellent

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sheepherder Bar & Grille also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing