We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed Phil’s BBQ Meats and Meals”
Review of Phil's BBQ

Phil's BBQ
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $7
Description: At Phils BBQ we combine the best barbecue, legendary service, and the biggest value to create a fast, casual, and fun experience. Our baby back, beef, and chicken dinners all come with your choice of sides, our most popular are the fresh cut fries and colossal onion rings! The full service bar features the tastiest craft beer in SD and tickers surround the restaurant so you can keep up with all your sports. We also cater! Phil's bbq has been awarded best bbq catering in SD year after year.
Restaurant details
Description: At Phils BBQ we combine the best barbecue, legendary service, and the biggest value to create a fast, casual, and fun experience. Our baby back, beef, and chicken dinners all come with your choice of sides, our most popular are the fresh cut fries and colossal onion rings! The full service bar features the tastiest craft beer in SD and tickers surround the restaurant so you can keep up with all your sports. We also cater! Phil's bbq has been awarded best bbq catering in SD year after year.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Our BBQ Luncheon was quite delicious, fresh tasting, and the wait staff was very friendly and helpful. The clean environment added to our very enjoyable meal. When in the Rancho Bernardo, CA area or traveling on Interstate 15 Freeway, do make a stop. You will be glad you did.

Date of visit: June 2019
2  Thank PTO09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (132)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 132 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2019

Love this Phils. My husband and I go to Phil's several times a month, love the service, the food and the wait staff, especially Kim, who is excellent and a lot of fun. We always eat in the bar, as we are young seniors and like to avoid large family groups when it is just the two of us. Our standard order is baby back ribs to share, dry, not a fan of sauces no matter the restaurant on our ribs, veggies and for my hubby the sausage. We find this restaurant always accommodating, upbeat and if you are a sports fan the bar has multiple and I mean lots of TVs with different sports games running non stop. Always a great way to end our busy day and have an excellent meal.

Date of visit: June 2019
1  Thank maggiephotonut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2019 via mobile

Would have rated a 1, but the beer selection was good. Perhaps it was a bad day for the restaurant, but the beef ribs were the worst I have ever had. Shoe leather comes to mind. Did have the chicken/rib platter and chicken was palatable. Sauce is well below average.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank 459edm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2019

We ate here while staying in Rancho Bernardo. When we got here the line was to the door. You have to order at the counter. The line moved quickly and there is plenty of seating inside. My wife had a chicken sandwich and ordered a side of potato salad and I had a combo meal with 4 ribs and a 1/4 chicken with 2 sides ( I choose baked beans and cole slaw). The sides were considered small on the menu but in fact were good sized. The meat was well cooked and seasoned and the best part is that the meal didn't cost an arm and a leg the total was less than $30.00 for both of us including drinks.

Date of visit: May 2019
1  Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2019 via mobile

So we tried to eat here one night & could not find a place to park even though there was no one waiting outside. Next day for lunch was not a problem to get in. The person behind the counter misunderstood our order so we only got fries & a drink & small rib bites, off the bone, which were very dry & hard. My husband tried to reorder but one of the women behind the counter was so rude we gave up. Maybe their ribs are good, but we honestly don’t know. Be sure the person behind the counter understands.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank 89cpv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Phil's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing