We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hiking, Free Fishing, and Beautiful Trees”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ramona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dos Picos County Park Campground
Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

As a long time RV Camper who has traveled to eight states and 15 National Parks in the last five years, I have had the opportunity to see many beautiful RV campsites and a few that are not so great. Dos Picos is one of the beautiful ones. Its mature trees cover the entire campsite for complete shade in the summer, the sites are large enough for a 40 foot rig, fishing is free but only catch and release, large playground for the kids, and the Ernie Pantoja Hiking Trail is a great moderate hike filled with scenic views of the valley, open fields, cool bridges and walk by the lake. This is one of our favorite hikes since it is doable for my four year old but still an adventure for my 13 year old. Dos Picos is still located close enough to the city to be convenient but far enough to see the stars. Only two downsides - no sewer hook up but there is a dump station on site and the paved sites are not completely level. Camped in Nov. for the second time here. 70's and sunny by day but in the high 30's at night. Bring a sweater and plenty of firewood.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank chris6333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (19)
There are newer reviews for Dos Picos County Park Campground
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 19 of 19 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2013

We love this campground! Close to home but mentally far away. Space 3&4 are our favorites as we have a 'teardrop' trailer and it's easy to set up our screenroom on those sites. There can be a TON of kids on the weekends, and twice we've been overtaken by Boy Scout troups, with mixed results. (Do parents teach kids that it's not okay to walk through someone's campsite anymore?)

It's just me, my husband and 3 small dogs, so the kid thing can really bug us at times....but not here. Yes it's loud, but it's kid-loud, which is a happy sound. It's not rap-music radio loud, which can be a pain.

Super shady, cool even on hot summer days. Rangers are nice, even when we don't have our dogs on leashes, they just ask us nicely to leash them up (yes, I break the rules at times....these are my children....). There's a pond nearby for fishing, Ramona is just down the road, and there are some nice, short hiking trails.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank susyernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Overall camp is well maintained with one exception. Trees/brush need to be trimmed back just beyond space #46 (a one-way road) and just prior to the RV dump station. We now have many scratches in the top/sides of our new class A RV ( we are not a wide-body; we are 101" wide for the coach body). This is the only reason for the lower than average rating. All else at the campground is very nice.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank Terry701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2011

Dos Picos is a very clean, quiet campground. Rangers do heavily enforce the helmet rules for children. This is for any wheeled bike, scooter, tricycle and even big wheels! They have loaner helmets available if you forget them. They are friendly about it.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ClubElmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2010

For my daughter's 11th birthday, she wanted to go camping. I thought, ok, we'll get there, she'll see a spider and we'll leave. So I wanted to go somewhere fairly close. We really had a great time! The facilities were nice. The pond was the highlight for the kids. They got to fish a little and be outdoors. I can't believe we had such a good time. On Saturday night, they provided a movie in the park--"Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs." The kids learned how to cook on a camp fire and do all the fun, camping things! We spent one day at the beach since it was close. We stayed the entire 2 nights, spiders and all! She didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank psrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2007

Dos Picos is a county campground north and east of downtown San Diego by about 30 miles. This campground equals or exceeds numerous state campgrounds that we have visited. It has tent camp sites as well as RV sites with full hook ups. The tent campsites were large and well spaced apart. The bathroom & shower facilities were very clean and water sources numerous. We saw some wildlife: hawks, woodpeckers, lizards, squirrels, coyotes, rabbits, crows ... but snakes are also in this terrain. The temperatures in June were in the 80's F but in the summer it gets up to 100F. The day hiking is limited from the campground but longer hiking trails and fishing is a short car ride away All in all, the price per night is extremely attractive and makes this campground an excellent value for the money.

20  Thank Chip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ramona
9.4 mi away
San Diego Country Estates
5.8 mi away
Ramona Valley Inn
Ramona Valley Inn
#1 of 1 in Ramona
41 reviews
7.9 mi away
San Vicente Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Riviera Oaks Resorts
Riviera Oaks Resorts
#2 of 3 in Ramona
126 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Ranch at Bandy Canyon
The Ranch at Bandy Canyon
#1 of 6 in Escondido
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dos Picos County Park Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dos Picos County Park Campground

Address: 17953 Dos Picos Park Rd, Ramona, CA 92065-7342
Location: United States > California > Ramona
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Ramona
Number of rooms: 75
Also Known As:
Dos Picos County Park Campground Hotel Ramona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing