We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation Hideway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Riviera Oaks Resorts
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ramona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 11, 2007

RAMONA, CALIFORNIA RIVERA OAKS RESORT
8/03/07-8/10/07 'RELAXATION HIDEWAY'

Just returned from a weeks stay at this wonderful resort. IF you are looking for a relaxed/laid back environment then this may be the place. On the other hand if you want to be near the hustle and bustle of San Diego then I would not suggest staying here.It takes about an hour to get to San Diego during non-business rush hour.

There is plenty to do at the resort with pools, sauna, spa, fitness facility,tennis, horseback riding, biking, hiking with golf, and gambling nearby. Exploring the surrounding towns was fun and we took in the Wild Animal Park at Escondido. I would highly suggest the photo caravan at the park. Quite an adventure with the opportunity to get out with some of the animals[you are on the bed of a large truck during the caravan] in the park and take close up pictures. There is an extra charge for the caravan, but the up close experience was worth the money.

The room was very nice for a resort as old as this . Everything was clean and quite spacious. The kitchen was fully furnished so we took advantage of being able to eat some meals in our room or on the balcony. We even grilled out on the balcony a couple of times.

Local resturants are not 5 star, there are adequate, but that is not the reason we came to the resort anyway. If you are after 5 star then San Diego is the place.

Weather was ideal if you like an arid climate. We came from the East Coast with temps hot and humid. The high at the resort averaged around 85 with the lows around 60, and the humidity about 25-35%. This was wonderful, especially since it was during the month of August.

I would highly recommend this resort and plan on future visits.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Justwufn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
There are newer reviews for Riviera Oaks Resorts
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 126 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2006

We (my wife and I) just got home after a week at this lovely resort. The rooms and other facilities were scrupulously clean, the staff was courteous and professional, and the area was not only beautiful but also very interesting. There were early Spanish missions, a goldmining town, a Spanish-American war battlefield, and wineries close by to be explored (this area is now a California registered wine-producing area, and the wine is quite good), but the grounds of the Riviera Oaks were so restful that staying around and just enjoying the peace and quiet was a tempting option too. We gave this place two thumbs up, as they say, and we encourage people, especially retired ones like us, to check this out. You will not be dissapointed. We also liked the ice cream socials and the local apples which were provided for us. I read one of the last reviews and was a bit leary about going down after that, but all I can say is "What were they smoking?". Don't hesitate to come here. You will not be bored or dissapointed. Mr. and Mrs. J.P., San Francisco Bay Area

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank JandP1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2006

My family and I stayed at the Riviera Oaks 9/24 to 9/30/06. We actually exchanged our beautiful timeshare resort at Tahoe for this resort because we wanted to visit the San Diego area and couldn't get into anything closer to San Diego itself. We thought this would be fine as this resort is rated 5 star. Boy! were we wrong!
This was the most disappointing resort we have EVER stayed at. We have owned our timeshare for 17 years and have never experienced a place like this! This was THE dirtiest resort we have ever stayed.
Upon checking in they assigned us a room at the front of the resort. We went to checkout the room and it smelled. It also faced a main road and was very noisy. We went back to the front desk and asked to be moved. The ladies at the front desk were very nice and assigned us another room. We thought this room was alright until we had already unpacked and really started to get settled in.
The bathroom floor had hair on it and I don't mean 1 or 2. The blackout plastic drapes were black on the bottom. The kitchen cabinets were very dirty. The bedspread on the bed was almost brown up at the top. It was like it hadn't been washed in months. We threw it on the floor and never used it . We felt so grossed out that we drove the 20 mins. back into Ramona to buy cleaning products to clean ourselves. We were supposed to have a mid-week cleaning and that never happened. We were kind of releived because we figured we would just have to clean behind them again.
We left a day early from our vacation to come back home because it was the only day we would have endure the whole day at the resort.(The other days we just stayed as long as we could in San Diego which is an hour away) This was awful and I would NOT recommend this resort to anyone!

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank trippymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2006

this is an excellent base from which to travel. the staff are really helpful, we where looking for a restaurant we had booked but i had forgotten the address - the staff found it & even printed us a map. lovely spacious rooms. would go back

  • Stayed: May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank paula2404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2005

The facilities were nice but most of the other reviews talked about the location being a negative so that is what I will talk about. I guess it didn't bother me because I was not looking to see the city of San Diego. I like to get out and see the culture of the local people and see nature, rather than a downtown city. I like piece and quiet rather than traffic and horns. Don't get me wrong San Diego is beautiful but it's like most big cities to me just with water next to it.

Simply put Ramona is Small Towns Ville in the mountains of San Diego County. It's about 1 hours drive for most anything in the big city but there is so much to do within 30 minutes. If you are looking to "see" San Diego city then expect a 1 hour trip in to the city and another 1 hour trip home each time you want to go.

If you want to be in a quiet relaxing resort where you can sleep in and enjoy the little shops and slower pace of a small town then this is for you. There is a great bakery called Dudley's Bakery about 20 minutes from the resort (the bread is to die for). There is also the town of Julian which is know for it's apple pies (go to Mom's and get some hot apple cider and cinnamon ice cream to go with your hot apple pie). The nearest "big city" conveniences are in Poway about 1/2 an hour away. Ramona does have grocery stores and a post office, banks, gas stations, and fast food, etc… but if you are looking for lots and lots of choices then you’ll need to go outside of Ramona (like Poway or further).

You can go for nice walks or even horse back riding right near the resort. There are several lakes for fishing (Loveland, Henshaw, Cuyamaca, San Vicente, Jennings, El Capitan, Lindo, Poway, and more), 2 golf courses (Mount Woodson as well as the one the resort is on), 100's of miles of hiking trails, all within 30 minutes of the resort. The Cuyamaca Mountains are spectacular to drive through and hike or picnic. There are a couple bars with live music and dancing as well "in town" (that's the little town of Ramona to the locals(about 10-15 minutes from the resort). The Wild Animal Park is 30 minutes away and the Zoo is 45 minutes (the Wild Animal Park is better). Sea World is 45-60 minutes and Down Town, Coronado, Point Loma, Del Mar, and La Jolla (and the rest of the beaches) are all about 1 hour drive. Disney Land/Los Angeles, Palm Springs, Big Bear (skiing), Mexico, and Death Valley/the desert are all about 2 hours away.

All in all if you are looking for rest and relaxation then this is a great place. If you are looking for the hustle and bustle of big city entertainment then it's not for you.

Just chat with the locals (a waitress or the grocer or someone at the gas station) there really is lots to do.

Stayed: May 2005
37  Thank PanoramaWinery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2005

We were able to use a limited availability timeshare certificate to book a week at the Riviera Oaks Resort in Ramona California from August 21-28, 2005.

We thought that this resort would provide an opportunity for us to see the attractions of San Diego for the first time. While the resort, the accomodations and the staff were good, we found that the resort was quite a distance from the San Diego attractions.

Our family (2 adults, a four 4-year old and 6-month old) enjoyed the spacious one bedroom timeshare unit with a kitchen and dining room/living room area that had a sleeper couch where our 4-year old slept (the resort provided a crib for our 6-month old who slept with us in the main bedroom).

The resort is divided into two sections with a separate tennis/spa area one block away. While the temperature in San Diego in August is pleasant, we experienced 100 degree and above temperatures in Ramona. I wasn't expecting Palm Springs weather at this resort.

Overall, this resort is fine if you are looking for a relaxing tennis and spa getaway during the non-summer months, but I wouldn't recommend this resort if you are planning to spend most of your time in San Diego

18  Thank dcvacationman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2005

We got a timeshare swap for the last leg of our 5-week trip to the USA, and took this although we really wanted to be nearer San Diego. It is classified as a 5* resort by Interval International, but it comes nowhere near our beloved home resort in Portugal which is a true 5*. The villas are nice and spacious and comfortable, but dated. Ours had a giant tree outside which shaded all the sunlight from the terrace. Maybe that's nice in July, but it was too cool to sit in the shade to read; the small swimming pool was always crowded, and there are no communal gardens to use. I didn't go there to stay indoors!

My worst problem was the lack of shop or restaurant onsite: there were large supermarkets 15 mins drive away, and some very pedestrian 'restaurants' and fast food outlets in Ramona, which is a very dull town. I shopped and cooked in rather than eat out, fortunately the kitchens were well equipped. After driving to and from San Diego we didn't feel like changing and going out, and we didn't eat in San Diego as the drive back to Ramona was on mountain roads, poorly signed, and we didn't want to do that in the dark.

San Diego is almost an hour's drive from Ramona, and there you can find all the attractions you want; but add in 2 hours each time in the car. Escondido is only half an hour away and there is the fabuolous Wild Animal Park there. You must go, it's fabulous. Julian, another half hour's drive is ok for half a day, but basically you need to drive around to get away from Ramona, unless you are into horseriding, golf or sports. If you love animals, as we do, stay nearer to San Diego and visit Sea World, the Zoo and the Wild Animal Park.

Riviera Oaks is ok for families, it's a pleasant place, and well run, but it doesn't rate that highly with us as far as location, facilities and ambiance are concerned.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
33  Thank Ms_Moggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ramona
0.2 mi away
San Diego Country Estates
11.5 mi away
Ayres Lodge Alpine
Ayres Lodge Alpine
#1 of 2 in Alpine
825 reviews
17.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego/Rancho Bernardo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
San Vicente Golf Resort
5.3 mi away
Ramona Valley Inn
Ramona Valley Inn
#1 of 1 in Ramona
41 reviews
10.0 mi away
Apple Tree Inn
Apple Tree Inn
#3 of 4 in Julian
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Oaks Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Oaks Resorts

Address: 25382 Pappas Rd, Ramona, CA 92065-4925
Location: United States > California > Ramona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ramona
Price Range: $87 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Riviera Oaks Resorts 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Riviera Oaks Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Oaks Hotel Ramona
Riviera Oaks Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing