We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Its hot in the desert in July” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riviera Oaks Resorts

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riviera Oaks Resorts
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ramona
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Its hot in the desert in July”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Time share exchanged to ROR for a week in July. Found our one bedroom unit comfortable, mostly clean. (tile floors and counters in kitchen seemed a bit greasy). Bed and pillows comfortable, plenty of linens, two tv's, a dvd player, reasonably equipped kitchen. Appreciate salt and pepper, sugar and sweeteners, coffee filters and paper towels provided. Also ice maker in freezer. Property has two pools, 17 tennis courts, a lodge room with pool table, fitness center, locker rooms. Must go to lodge building for wi-fi. Bit old fashioned for 2013. Golf course and riding stables close by. Pools are clean. Fitness center is small but well equipped. Lots of people in pools and fitness center during our visit. Am told that locals can also buy a membership which probably explains.

Ramona is central to lots of activities, just a ways away. Most of where we wanted to go is an hour or father away. The beach, Palomar mountain and observatory, san Diego, Temicula wine country. A casino resort is about 20 minutes away. Groceries are 15 minutes away in Ramona. Small town, so don't be looking for a WalMart. Lots of winding country roads.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank floridatraveler52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    42
    9
    5
    6
See reviews for
37
35
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My family ( husband.and three small children) stayed here for 3 nights and 4 days and had a wonderful family vacation. The villas are very spacious with a TV in every room also a main balcony off the living room and second.room and a private balcony off the master bedroom. The kitchen has anything you could want. The staff was helpful and very nice. The pool was well taken care of and was never busy. The resort is about 10 min from main St Ramona were there is a albertsons and many places to eat. We would definatley stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melli244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, CA
Level Contributor
103 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I stayed here with my 2 kids to use up some of my time share points before they expire (Pacific Monarch). Due to time of year, it was the only availability. Nice room, great, large patio with a BBQ. We had a nice room in the 700 building overlooking a walking path that resembled a natural creek (we wanted bottom floor near the pool). Room was well-equipped, great water pressure. Nice size and felt very comfortable. Real fireplace (use only duraflame logs) but it was too warm for that in June. Nice touch in winter! We stayed 4 nights and were surprised to have maid service on night 2 ... normally in a condo its weekly. They had bike rentals for $5 for 2 hours which we didnt take advantage of. But would have been fun!

Half of the resort is across the street -- another pool, tennis courts, pool table, foos ball. Really close and walking distance.

Not really close to anything -- the downtown of Ramona is not like Julian (been there several times). But we found a cute art gallery and talked to one of the artists. There was another antique store on Main street I could have gotten lost in ... but it was VERY crowded with things and hard to maneuver. They did have a nice selection of old-fashioned candy. My kids (12 and 13) wanted to get the bubblegum cigarettes that they sold there. I let them -- I doubt they will smoke because I bought them bubblegum cigs. It was a part of my childhood to share!

Went down to Sea World .. closer than driving from home. Wildcat Canyon was a rough drive but was supposed to shorten the journey.

Room Tip: If you have kids PLEASE get a lower level floor -- I think the people above us had a baby elephant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cvictoriac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

If you're looking to escape the hustle and bustle of the city, this is a great place to escape to by yourself or with close friends. We stayed in a 2-Bedroom condo with fireplace, full kitchen, patio, and enjoyed the peace and quiet of this Northeast San Diego Horse Country. We have only been through the intersection at Highway 78 and Main Street on our way to Julian, but staying at this resort we discovered another part of Ramona where the weather is beautiful and the neighborhood is safe to walk in anytime of day or night. The beds and linens were VERY comfortable and the granite counters in the full kitchen made it very nice to prepare our meals in. Driving from this location to Julian and Cuyamaca State Park was enjoyable! Yesterday we visited the Riviera Oaks Racquet Club across the street which is included in your stay and that made us want to get back in shape for active tennis matches on the beautiful courts the next time we come because we will definitely be back to the Riviera Oaks Resort and Racquet Club.

Room Tip: We got a 2-Bedroom on what looks like would be a running creek during the rainy season. The patio o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank regener8us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
134 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Spent a week here late in April. Weather was much better than the coast which was cool and cloudy. Ramon remained clear and warm for the most part. A consideration this time of year. The resort is beautifully landscaped and the units are spacious and well equipped. It is a tennis and horse haunt with one lone golf course a couple of miles away. Nearest restaurant is the golf course (which is adequate) and after that you have to go into Ramona. We spent prowling lower California for a week and enjoyed the place. Having said that we would probably favour Palm Springs in the future simply because there is much more to do.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VancouverDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This resort was so peaceful and beautiful. We stayed for a week in January 2013 for some relaxation from the holidays. We traveled to San Diego almost everyday to experience the things California has to offer. We rented a convertible mustang, because after growing up watching Beverley Hills 90210 I wanted to live like the characters on this show for a week. We enjoyed the scenic drive through Ramona to San Diego and even spent a day at Disneyland in Anaheim (which is 2 hours away).

The people at the resort are extremely friendly and helpful even suggesting places to visit and taking an interest in what we did that day. As people in our mid 20's and from a large city this was a very tranquil place than what we're used to. We'd wake up to people riding the trails on horseback at the edge of our patio and rabbits roaming the grounds.

The bed was extremely comfortable and I think we slept better that week than we ever have at home. Movies are available to rent for $2 a dvd. 'Downtown' Ramons is only 10 minutes away with everything we could possibly desire including a starbucks.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kelly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed here in March and the place was very accomidating.The staff was very helpful and friendly.The place was very large.One huge bathroom and one smaller one.The living area was very large with a fireplace.The only drawback is that it is 5 miles out of town.Also it is almost and hour from San Diego

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boomerusps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ramona
0.2 mi away
San Diego Country Estates
11.5 mi away
Ayres Lodge Alpine
Ayres Lodge Alpine
#1 of 2 in Alpine
4.5 of 5 stars 694 reviews
16.6 mi away
Rancho Bernardo Inn
Rancho Bernardo Inn
#30 of 282 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Diego-Poway
14.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Poway/San Diego Hotel
1.4 mi away
San Vicente Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Oaks Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Oaks Resorts

Property: Riviera Oaks Resorts
Address: 25382 Pappas Rd, Ramona, CA 92065-4925
Location: United States > California > Ramona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ramona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Riviera Oaks Resorts 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Riviera Oaks Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Oaks Hotel Ramona
Riviera Oaks Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing