We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility in San Diego Horse Country”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riviera Oaks Resorts
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ramona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 30, 2013

If you're looking to escape the hustle and bustle of the city, this is a great place to escape to by yourself or with close friends. We stayed in a 2-Bedroom condo with fireplace, full kitchen, patio, and enjoyed the peace and quiet of this Northeast San Diego Horse Country. We have only been through the intersection at Highway 78 and Main Street on our way to Julian, but staying at this resort we discovered another part of Ramona where the weather is beautiful and the neighborhood is safe to walk in anytime of day or night. The beds and linens were VERY comfortable and the granite counters in the full kitchen made it very nice to prepare our meals in. Driving from this location to Julian and Cuyamaca State Park was enjoyable! Yesterday we visited the Riviera Oaks Racquet Club across the street which is included in your stay and that made us want to get back in shape for active tennis matches on the beautiful courts the next time we come because we will definitely be back to the Riviera Oaks Resort and Racquet Club.

Room Tip: We got a 2-Bedroom on what looks like would be a running creek during the rainy season. The patio o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank regener8us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 141 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2013

Spent a week here late in April. Weather was much better than the coast which was cool and cloudy. Ramon remained clear and warm for the most part. A consideration this time of year. The resort is beautifully landscaped and the units are spacious and well equipped. It is a tennis and horse haunt with one lone golf course a couple of miles away. Nearest restaurant is the golf course (which is adequate) and after that you have to go into Ramona. We spent prowling lower California for a week and enjoyed the place. Having said that we would probably favour Palm Springs in the future simply because there is much more to do.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VancouverDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

This resort was so peaceful and beautiful. We stayed for a week in January 2013 for some relaxation from the holidays. We traveled to San Diego almost everyday to experience the things California has to offer. We rented a convertible mustang, because after growing up watching Beverley Hills 90210 I wanted to live like the characters on this show for a week. We enjoyed the scenic drive through Ramona to San Diego and even spent a day at Disneyland in Anaheim (which is 2 hours away).

The people at the resort are extremely friendly and helpful even suggesting places to visit and taking an interest in what we did that day. As people in our mid 20's and from a large city this was a very tranquil place than what we're used to. We'd wake up to people riding the trails on horseback at the edge of our patio and rabbits roaming the grounds.

The bed was extremely comfortable and I think we slept better that week than we ever have at home. Movies are available to rent for $2 a dvd. 'Downtown' Ramons is only 10 minutes away with everything we could possibly desire including a starbucks.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kelly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed here in March and the place was very accomidating.The staff was very helpful and friendly.The place was very large.One huge bathroom and one smaller one.The living area was very large with a fireplace.The only drawback is that it is 5 miles out of town.Also it is almost and hour from San Diego

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boomerusps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Nice place to stay especially in the colder months if that is your thing. Nice and cozy rooms with kitchens and fire places. They also have great bbq's to use either at your room or two big main ones by pool. Also have tennis courts and a recreational area for kids. The staff is very helpful also

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Keri A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

This resort was nice. The grill on the balcony was cool (I've never seen an electric bbq grill). The fireplace was nice too and I was happy by the size of the unit. The desk staff was really nice. The tennis courts, pool table, Foosball was across the street, but it was nice. The horses are really close by. If you like remote locations, this is your place! You are far from civilization to get away from it all. We borrowed games from the front desk for after our San Diego adventure - best pizza at Ra-Mona Lisa Pizza and the little Mexican restaurant next door.

Overall we liked it a lot - pool was nice temp and clean. The Jacuzzi was nice. At night the sunsets were spectacular and the stars were beautiful! HINT - get supplies in downtown Ramona Main Street - there is very little when you get to resort - little store, pizza place and Mexican restaurant are only businesses near by.

Room Tip: Room by the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank s6500rs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

We wanted to visit this Monarch property for some time and finally got around to it by renting a 1 bedroom unit. The resort is situated at the edge of rocky foothills and within an upscale residential community, San Diego Country Estates, catering to golf and horse riders. One of the first things one should know as other reviewers have mentioned is that this place is relatively isolated so you better have all your groceries and personal needs purchased before you arrive or you will have an 8 mile drive back to Ramona to make your purchases. Another thing is that if you are using your gps to get there the reception area is off Avenal and not Pappas which is used for the mailing address. However, if you are paying attention you will probably see it after exiting San Vicente.
If you are not playing golf or tennis, going horseback riding, or planning on walking or hiking a lot, then the only other thing left to do is take drives or hang around the resort and swim, visit with friends, rent a bike, or read a book. We opted to drive around some and hang out and relax for a couple days. The resort itself is made up of about 10 "L-shaped" two-story buildings surrounded by green belts. The amoeba-shaped pool (not heated) shown by TripAdvisor has a beautiful setting with views of a nearby rocky hill and is surrounded by potted petunias, irises, and jasmine. I thought the pool temperature was in the 70s and took a few laps, but others stuck in a toe and declared it freezing before moving elsewhere. At the south end of the pool is a 7' diameter oak surrounded by a raised half-circle deck with tables. This was a great place to read and we had the area pretty much to ourselves since most children are still in school and this was midweek.A much larger pool was more busy at the east end of the resort. There also is a spa and fitness room in a separate facility that we did not visit.
When we arrived the front desk receptionists were friendly and helpful. I found the rooms very adequate and clean. The bathroom had a separate toilet and tubshower room off a sink and counter room so no problem there. The tvs were the older crt type, but they worked fine. The kitchen was a little cramped, but it had everything we needed. The only real issue I noticed is that all the units on the north side of the resort got a lot of traffic noise from San Vicente. This is especially noticeable if you use the outside patio or deck area and it went on pretty much continuously until 9pm. When inside or on the south side of the resort buildings, the noise was not that noticeable.
We did make one dinner trip into Ramona to visit La Cocina restaurant which the TripAdvisor recommended and it was excellent and reasonably priced. As for Ramona itself there is little reason to go sightseeing other than the Western museum and a few stores on the east side of the town. I think the town exists for the same reason most small towns exist, because people need something. In this case most businesses are on or adjacent to Main Street which runs for a couple miles through the town. Ramona has the usual businesses that cater to ranchers and locals such as drug, grocery, feed, and hardware stores, gas stations, cafes, fast food, and real estate offices plus some businesses catering to the people who have moved into miniestates and condos such as antique stores, chiropractors, Brazilian Jiu-Jit-su, and tattoo parlors. Most of the new development is in a series of minimalls southwest of where 78 crosses Main Street. The museum and older part of town are to the northeast.
So overall this would be a great family resort or place to relax when the kids are in school. I'd give it five stars if there were some special focus like a beach, lake, or mountain park.or if there were more activities.

Room Tip: North facing buildings would be noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank GenoNorthridge_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ramona
0.2 mi away
San Diego Country Estates
11.6 mi away
Julian Lodge
Julian Lodge
#1 of 3 in Julian
139 reviews
11.5 mi away
Ayres Lodge Alpine
Ayres Lodge Alpine
#1 of 2 in Alpine
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Rancho Bernardo Inn
Rancho Bernardo Inn
#23 of 286 in San Diego
2,094 reviews
1.4 mi away
San Vicente Golf Resort
10 mi away
Apple Tree Inn
Apple Tree Inn
#2 of 3 in Julian
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Oaks Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Oaks Resorts

Address: 25382 Pappas Rd, Ramona, CA 92065-4925
Location: United States > California > Ramona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ramona
Price Range: $84 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Riviera Oaks Resorts 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Riviera Oaks Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Oaks Hotel Ramona
Riviera Oaks Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing