We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$169
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/04/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
$169
View deal
Expedia.com
$144
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/04/22
Hotels.com$144
Travelocity$144
Vio.com$144
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (166)
Filter reviews
166 results
Traveler rating
93
51
13
4
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
93
51
13
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tennis courts san diego golf course washer dryer every evening small patio clean unit young children la jolla southern california grocery store electric bbq nice resort get away hour drive two couples rocky hills
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
99 - 104 of 166 reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2016

We just spent a week at the San Diego Country Estates Resort. It is a beautiful spot, wooded, quiet and relaxing, with excellent facilities for several sports and lovely units that are well equipped and nicely decorated. Its only downside is that it is quite remote, reached by either Hwy. 78 or Hwy.67 off the 5 or 15 Fwy., so once you're there you probably won't want to wander very far. The resort is about 10 miles outside Ramona, which is a small, old fashioned town. Up Hwy. 78 about 22 miles farther is charming Julian, and you can also make a day trip to the Palomar Observatory. We escaped one day to La Jolla and it was a two-hour drive each way. Fortunately, there are some pretty good restaurants in the area, both in and around Ramona and Julian, so you can eat well.

Room tip: There are no elevators, so depending on your needs, you may want to request a ground floor unit in advance.
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Joseph H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
PIVacations, General Manager at San Diego Country Estates, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2016

We appreciate your comments about your stay with San Diego Country Estates. We are always happy to learn that our guests enjoyed our accommodations and amenities. It’s always great to hear about the guests' experiences. We look forward to your next stay soon.

San Diego Country Estates Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2016

Visited for two nights, checkin was very efficient, with very friendly and helpful staff. It's a short drive from check in to our accommodation, a very spacious one bedroom apartment on the second floor. All amenities are provided, including a BBQ on the balcony area. It is clean and tidy, and while we were there, quiet. It is a large estate with a mixture of residential homes, timeshare guests and visitors. It is nicely landscaped, with numerous tennis courts and several small swimming pools, although we found these to be packed with families and children ( inevitably, and this isn't a bad thing, it just meant there was no opportunity to a actually swim ). Getting around by car is easy, although it is a long drive to shops and restaurants, in Ramona. We used it as a base to get to Julian and Borrego Springs, and it was nice to come back to a relaxing, quiet apartment at the end of a trip. I'm not sure I'd be so keen on the area when it is fully occupied, parking may be difficult and the facilities would be pretty packed, and I'm not sure it would be quite so calm and quiet. Very enjoyable stay though, it's a lovely part of California.

Date of stay: May 2016
Thank paulbW6138EJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
PIVacations, General Manager at San Diego Country Estates, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2016

We appreciate you taking the time to provide us your comments regarding your recent stay. We are happy to hear that you had a great time. Providing outstanding customer service is crucial to our high standards. We hoped we have exceeded your expectations. We look forward to your visit soon. Thank you.

San Diego Country Estates Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2016

we spent a week at san diego estates. all of the staff, maids, ground keepers were very cordial,friendly and helpful. we had a 2 bedroom unit which was extremely clean and very large living area, dining area,kitchen and patio with a bbq grill.the grounds and landscape really well done. the ramona area is very nice and away from all the san diego traffic !!! downtown san diego and the ocean is about 45 minute drive. ramona has a car cruise every Thursday night-- very enjoyable. must go to Borrego springs to see the life size metal sculptures situated all throughout the area. it is a desert--- 102 in mid may.

Date of stay: May 2016
1  Thank randye859
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
PIVacations, General Manager at San Diego Country Estates, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2016


We appreciate your comments about your stay with San Diego Country Estates. We are always happy to learn that are guests enjoyed our accommodations and amenities. We feel that providing outstanding customer service is a key factor in making a favorable impression on our guests and it sounds like we were successful with you. We look forward to your return.

San Diego Country Estates Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2016

Great time, great property. Golf & fun we traveled everyday. It was difficult to get everywhere. Great if you want peace and quiet and not much more. Terrific environment. Julian fun to visit but most activities are 1 &1/2 hours away

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Veterans Holidays
Thank goldcanyon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
PIVacations, General Manager at San Diego Country Estates, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2016

We appreciate your comments about your stay with San Diego Country Estates. We are always happy to learn that our guests enjoyed our accommodations and amenities. It’s always great to hear about the guests' experiences. We look forward to your next stay soon.

San Diego Country Estates Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2016

If you just need a place to stay while in San Diego area it was fine. Spacious and clean, friendly staff. Needs updated, especially TVs. A bit out of the way for some Socal attractions like Magic Mt and Disney but we managed. Drive back after staying late at Disney one night was a bit too much. Pretty area with beautiful flowers and fragrant aroma. More of a dessert climate. Much more moderate closer to ocean.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
PIVacations, General Manager at San Diego Country Estates, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2017

We appreciate your comments about your stay. We are always happy to learn that our guests enjoyed our accommodations and customer service. Thank you for informing us about the minor things that you thought needed enhancements. This will greatly assist us in making continuous improvements to our resort. We look forward to your return soon. Thank you.

San Diego Country Estates Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews