We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveler rating
53
35
9
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
53
35
9
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswasher and dryeran hourwildcat canyontennis courtsthe kitchensan diegoelectric grillsanta ysabelhorseback ridingbeautiful areaapple piebeautiful flowersreplace towelsshuffle boardlots of hiking trailslaundry basketgolf course
Filter
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 103 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Really like it up there in the mountains above San Diego. Very calm and quiet and no traffic. Our room was a suite with with a living & didning area with a kitchen. They have many lighted tennis courts and a nice pool/jacuzzi are. Easy access to Golf, San Diego, Casino's. Lots of trails for walking, bicyling or horseback riding and many daily activities. The staff is outsatnding.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank berniek1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIVacations, Manager at San Diego Country Estates, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and experienced some of the many wonderful activities in the area. We look forward to you and your family returning to enjoy more of the attractions our wonderful community has to offer.

Therese Grybow
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Upon arrival we were greeted with the sign "the pool will be closed this week", not an auspicious start. They did make arrangements for the use of two other nearby pools for use, which helped. However upon going over to one of them on Sat it proved to be closed for a private event. Communication between the resort and its guests leaves much to be desired.
The rooms we stayed in were beautiful and comfortable. The only problem was the construction work that started Monday morning on the unit below us at 8 AM. This continued on Tuesday as well!
Although about an hour from most San Diego destinations, roads are not highways, and it is a trip, it is a beautiful resort.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 16, 2012

We apologize that the pool at the Racquet Club was closed during your stay due to major construction and drain repairs on the pool. For the safety of our guests this area was closed. There are 3 pools available to use, 2 of which are a part of the homeowners association and are subject to events planned by the association but at all times the pool at the adjacent resort across the street from our resort was available to use.

Our resort is in the process of completing a wonderful upgrade to the suites of new windows and the construction does take place during the mid week days usually from 9 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

We are so glad you enjoyed the comfort and beauty of our resort and we hope to see you again soon!

Therese Grybow
Resort Manager
San Diego Country Estates

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

san diego country estates is a large community with a mix of homes and condominiums. The condo is huge ! It Is well equIpped and very clean. The service and staff are excellent. The scenery is beauTiful in The foothills of california mountains. It Is somewhat out of the way ; Over an hOurs' drive tO san diegO downtown. The resort has enough ammenties to stay busy without driving to the city. There is limited shopping about fifteen minutes away. Secluded and quiet stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bday1261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

We are excited to see you enjoyed your stay with our resort amongst our peaceful setting and that our resort offered your family many amenities’ to enhance your family vacation. We would enjoy being a part of your future family vacations! Hope to see you again soon!

Therese Grybow
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Stayed in a one bed villa, everying spotless done with care and attention, lovely quiet location, few miles from town of Ramona. My only initial suggestion would be pick up groceries before arriving as its a bit of a drag into Ramona, although a nice town with all amenities.

Beautifully kept grounds and areas on the estate, it was a bit hard to find out unit initially and we got lost during a late pm arrival, but nothing else could be faulted. Great reception and cleaning staff, friendly & informative, ps...you can get free wifi in the villas and free DVDs to watch.

Having arrived here direct from Australia, we found this place to be a great base from which o visit: Carlsbad, Oceanside, botanical gardens, julien and cumanya lake so far. as we don't like city locations.

All in all this is a great standard RCI timeshare resort and of a standard like they all used to be when times were good - very well done to all at the resort, we would certainly return.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor unit to get the best views.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Phyllis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIVacations, Manager at San Diego Country Estates, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2012

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your visit with us and had the pleasure of staying in one of our spacious 1 bedroom suites and enjoyed the beauty of our resort. Although we are a bit a distance from the city of San Diego we truly are a gem tucked in the in foothills of San Diego County and we were happy to hear you enjoyed many of the wonderful sights around the San Diego area while visiting with us. Thank you for your wonderful review and we look forward to your next visit with us.

Therese Grybow
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

It wasnt a bad experience here. just confusing to get in and out of. It has beautiful views. the room we stayed in was really nice. everything was clean and well kept. the whole area actually was really nice and quiet.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank smv20088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews