We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (102)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveler rating
53
35
9
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
53
35
9
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswasher and dryeran hourwildcat canyontennis courtsthe kitchensan diegoelectric grillsanta ysabelhorseback ridingbeautiful areaapple piebeautiful flowersreplace towelsshuffle boardlots of hiking trailslaundry basketgolf course
Filter
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 103 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2012

san diego country estates is a large community with a mix of homes and condominiums. The condo is huge ! It Is well equIpped and very clean. The service and staff are excellent. The scenery is beauTiful in The foothills of california mountains. It Is somewhat out of the way ; Over an hOurs' drive tO san diegO downtown. The resort has enough ammenties to stay busy without driving to the city. There is limited shopping about fifteen minutes away. Secluded and quiet stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bday1261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

We are excited to see you enjoyed your stay with our resort amongst our peaceful setting and that our resort offered your family many amenities’ to enhance your family vacation. We would enjoy being a part of your future family vacations! Hope to see you again soon!

Therese Grybow
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Stayed in a one bed villa, everying spotless done with care and attention, lovely quiet location, few miles from town of Ramona. My only initial suggestion would be pick up groceries before arriving as its a bit of a drag into Ramona, although a nice town with all amenities.

Beautifully kept grounds and areas on the estate, it was a bit hard to find out unit initially and we got lost during a late pm arrival, but nothing else could be faulted. Great reception and cleaning staff, friendly & informative, ps...you can get free wifi in the villas and free DVDs to watch.

Having arrived here direct from Australia, we found this place to be a great base from which o visit: Carlsbad, Oceanside, botanical gardens, julien and cumanya lake so far. as we don't like city locations.

All in all this is a great standard RCI timeshare resort and of a standard like they all used to be when times were good - very well done to all at the resort, we would certainly return.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor unit to get the best views.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Phyllis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIVacations, Manager at San Diego Country Estates, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2012

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your visit with us and had the pleasure of staying in one of our spacious 1 bedroom suites and enjoyed the beauty of our resort. Although we are a bit a distance from the city of San Diego we truly are a gem tucked in the in foothills of San Diego County and we were happy to hear you enjoyed many of the wonderful sights around the San Diego area while visiting with us. Thank you for your wonderful review and we look forward to your next visit with us.

Therese Grybow
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

It wasnt a bad experience here. just confusing to get in and out of. It has beautiful views. the room we stayed in was really nice. everything was clean and well kept. the whole area actually was really nice and quiet.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank smv20088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2012

We discovered San Diego Country Estates through a travel club that arranges condo stays for us. It has become one of our favorite locations because the facilities are managed and furnished so well. Located in the outskirts of Ramona, California, it is surrounded by boulder-strewn mountains in a near desert environment, yet the grounds are filled with beautful flowers at any time of the year. Tucked into a neighborhood of other condos and suburban homes, with an attractive golf course nearby, it offers ample opportunities for an active vacation or for rest and renewal. One of our favorite activites is to stroll around the grounds, admiring it many gardens. There are tennis courts and a swimming pool, but we haven't use either.
The first time we visited, wi fi was available only in the Clubhouse, but in March 2011 it was available in our rooms. San Diego Zoo's Safari Park is a few minutes away in Escondido. Most sites in San Diego are about 45 minutes to an hour away. The Anza Borrego Desert State Park is an hour or so to the East (highly recommended for its wildflowers in Spring) and the town of Julian, known for its apple treats and tourist activities, is about 30 minutes away. This is a great place to stay if you don't mind the drive to tourist attractions (or if you don't want to go to them). We would like to stay in San Diego or Borrego Springs at least once, but the low cost of this facility and its relaxing environment keeps bringing us back.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lookn2retire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

I would like to add to the post just listed (Dawnsdelite) about the Christmas family gathering last week. As mentioned we gather in odd numbered years. Altogether we had 7-8 separate suites rented for the affair. We were all very impressed with the helpfulness of the staff both at check in and during our visit. They all seemed to go out of their way to make our respective stays pleasant. There are altogether 5 of us aunts and uncles who gather with our adult children and a flock of grandchildren, nieces and nephews. Probably around 50 people in all. They were very understanding and co operative when items bowls, knives, pot & pans were brought from respective suites to cook meals and then put back into our suites but not properly or equally making two of one pan but none of another.

We gathered nightly for games as well. The decision was made to try to book one whole building next time we gather. One central room suite could be used for gathering and meals and the remaining 7 for living quarters. The hallways in the buildings are wide enough so that tables can possibly be set up for a big 40 - 50 person sit down meal or we could just use one of the suites for that purpose. Christmas day is traditionally prime rib with all the fixings. If the younger members of the family get too loud there would also be only family members to disturb rather than other vacationing guests. We did get a complaint about the noise level one evening and felt badly about interfering with someone's enjoyment of these excellent facilities. Perhaps if we had the whole building this could have been avoided.

Additionally, my wife loved the birds, bunnies, wild turkeys and other wild life around the resort. The rooms were better than beautiful and stocked with all that would be needed; only supplies need be brought. We had a 2 bdrm suite both rooms and the living room each had flat screen TV's. Housekeeping did an excellent job of maintaining the rooms each day giving us the option of either cleaning up or just taking fresh towels.

Yes it was an out of the way location but most resorts in mountains and wilderness are not in the suburbs (smiles) and some sacrifices are required when choosing to gather in such an area.. All in all the decision was made that a great time was had by all. Up until this point we had gathered @ my brothers home but stayed at nearby hotels because there were too many of us. This was our first attempt to pull this off @ a resort and quite frankly with only a few minor glitches it went very well. I would recommend this resort to any and all looking for a place to just kick back & relax and or gather for an extended family event. Additionally, the price makes this location a particularly good value.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CalifRusk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews