We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
San Diego Country Estates
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ramona
Reviewed June 24, 2012

san diego country estates is a large community with a mix of homes and condominiums. The condo is huge ! It Is well equIpped and very clean. The service and staff are excellent. The scenery is beauTiful in The foothills of california mountains. It Is somewhat out of the way ; Over an hOurs' drive tO san diegO downtown. The resort has enough ammenties to stay busy without driving to the city. There is limited shopping about fifteen minutes away. Secluded and quiet stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bday1261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

We are excited to see you enjoyed your stay with our resort amongst our peaceful setting and that our resort offered your family many amenities’ to enhance your family vacation. We would enjoy being a part of your future family vacations! Hope to see you again soon!

Therese Grybow
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 80 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2012

Stayed in a one bed villa, everying spotless done with care and attention, lovely quiet location, few miles from town of Ramona. My only initial suggestion would be pick up groceries before arriving as its a bit of a drag into Ramona, although a nice town with all amenities.

Beautifully kept grounds and areas on the estate, it was a bit hard to find out unit initially and we got lost during a late pm arrival, but nothing else could be faulted. Great reception and cleaning staff, friendly & informative, ps...you can get free wifi in the villas and free DVDs to watch.

Having arrived here direct from Australia, we found this place to be a great base from which o visit: Carlsbad, Oceanside, botanical gardens, julien and cumanya lake so far. as we don't like city locations.

All in all this is a great standard RCI timeshare resort and of a standard like they all used to be when times were good - very well done to all at the resort, we would certainly return.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor unit to get the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Phyllis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIVacations, Manager at San Diego Country Estates, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2012

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your visit with us and had the pleasure of staying in one of our spacious 1 bedroom suites and enjoyed the beauty of our resort. Although we are a bit a distance from the city of San Diego we truly are a gem tucked in the in foothills of San Diego County and we were happy to hear you enjoyed many of the wonderful sights around the San Diego area while visiting with us. Thank you for your wonderful review and we look forward to your next visit with us.

Therese Grybow
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

It wasnt a bad experience here. just confusing to get in and out of. It has beautiful views. the room we stayed in was really nice. everything was clean and well kept. the whole area actually was really nice and quiet.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank smv20088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2012

We discovered San Diego Country Estates through a travel club that arranges condo stays for us. It has become one of our favorite locations because the facilities are managed and furnished so well. Located in the outskirts of Ramona, California, it is surrounded by boulder-strewn mountains in a near desert environment, yet the grounds are filled with beautful flowers at any time of the year. Tucked into a neighborhood of other condos and suburban homes, with an attractive golf course nearby, it offers ample opportunities for an active vacation or for rest and renewal. One of our favorite activites is to stroll around the grounds, admiring it many gardens. There are tennis courts and a swimming pool, but we haven't use either.
The first time we visited, wi fi was available only in the Clubhouse, but in March 2011 it was available in our rooms. San Diego Zoo's Safari Park is a few minutes away in Escondido. Most sites in San Diego are about 45 minutes to an hour away. The Anza Borrego Desert State Park is an hour or so to the East (highly recommended for its wildflowers in Spring) and the town of Julian, known for its apple treats and tourist activities, is about 30 minutes away. This is a great place to stay if you don't mind the drive to tourist attractions (or if you don't want to go to them). We would like to stay in San Diego or Borrego Springs at least once, but the low cost of this facility and its relaxing environment keeps bringing us back.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lookn2retire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

I would like to add to the post just listed (Dawnsdelite) about the Christmas family gathering last week. As mentioned we gather in odd numbered years. Altogether we had 7-8 separate suites rented for the affair. We were all very impressed with the helpfulness of the staff both at check in and during our visit. They all seemed to go out of their way to make our respective stays pleasant. There are altogether 5 of us aunts and uncles who gather with our adult children and a flock of grandchildren, nieces and nephews. Probably around 50 people in all. They were very understanding and co operative when items bowls, knives, pot & pans were brought from respective suites to cook meals and then put back into our suites but not properly or equally making two of one pan but none of another.

We gathered nightly for games as well. The decision was made to try to book one whole building next time we gather. One central room suite could be used for gathering and meals and the remaining 7 for living quarters. The hallways in the buildings are wide enough so that tables can possibly be set up for a big 40 - 50 person sit down meal or we could just use one of the suites for that purpose. Christmas day is traditionally prime rib with all the fixings. If the younger members of the family get too loud there would also be only family members to disturb rather than other vacationing guests. We did get a complaint about the noise level one evening and felt badly about interfering with someone's enjoyment of these excellent facilities. Perhaps if we had the whole building this could have been avoided.

Additionally, my wife loved the birds, bunnies, wild turkeys and other wild life around the resort. The rooms were better than beautiful and stocked with all that would be needed; only supplies need be brought. We had a 2 bdrm suite both rooms and the living room each had flat screen TV's. Housekeeping did an excellent job of maintaining the rooms each day giving us the option of either cleaning up or just taking fresh towels.

Yes it was an out of the way location but most resorts in mountains and wilderness are not in the suburbs (smiles) and some sacrifices are required when choosing to gather in such an area.. All in all the decision was made that a great time was had by all. Up until this point we had gathered @ my brothers home but stayed at nearby hotels because there were too many of us. This was our first attempt to pull this off @ a resort and quite frankly with only a few minor glitches it went very well. I would recommend this resort to any and all looking for a place to just kick back & relax and or gather for an extended family event. Additionally, the price makes this location a particularly good value.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CalifRusk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Our family (around 40) meets on odd years for Christmas and this year we moved it from my brothers house to SD Country Estates. I am the main coordinator and worked closely with Therese on the rooms and Joyce on renting the rotunda for our meals. Both of these ladies went above and beyond for our group. I cannot say enough about how pleasant and professional they were and as a result our Christmas event while still fraught with problems came off.



Our 2 bedroom condos were amazing especially when you consider that they cost less than what two hotel rooms would have. The furniture and amenities were on the new side and the rooms themselves very clean. Most important were the beds were so comfortable I had no trouble sleeping.



The Ramona area is beautiful...yes, out of the way and it's a pain having to drive 15 minutes each time you need something from the store, but oh my how beautiful the stars at night. The resort itself offers so much to do I will definitely consider coming back again to enjoy it. If I were to be visiting the San Diego area for an extended amount of time I would like this place to be my home base even though it takes about 30 minutes to get out of it. The tennis courts and club area are another added plus.



Our first night we had dinner at The Grill which is located at the golf course area. The food was very good and the service even better. Our server (Stephanie) remembered more than a few of our names by the end of the meal and stayed calm and collected even though she alone was serving our very large group.



Our next 2 nights we had our meals at the rotunda which is located at the Equestrian Center. It was a nice spot for our meals as the kids could run around without us worrying about them. It fit us all comfortably and they let us bring in a Christmas tree which we decorated Christmas Eve. I will say that we'll do things differently next time as it was way to hard having to drive back and forth each time you remembered something you forgot food, pot or utensil wise.



In recap: Whether you are planning a family reunion, a family vacation, or a quiet get away for yourself I would highly recommend SD Country Estates.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dawnsdlite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2011

When we initially checked into our 1 bedroom "condo" it was a bottom floor and it had NO view and was down below a hill... it was dark and cave-like... I was extremely disappointed. I called the front desk and they told me it was all they had. I said that was unacceptable. They offered us a 2 bdrm for $50 more per night. There were only 2 of us... this was more than we needed and we did not want to pay and additional $100 when all we wanted was a room with a little sunlight and a bit of a view. (Mind you, I ASKED the gal at the counter when we check in and she said it would be fine... it wasn't.)

We told them we were going to leave to get something to eat and would be back... we gave them our cell numbers and said to call if they found something. While we were eating (at the Oaks Grill), they called. They found a 1 bdrm on the 2nd (top) floor, with a view! We were DELIGHTED!
This room was light and bright... it felt like we were in a tree house. The places are decently decorated, clean and comfortable. They get 2 thumbs up for solving our problem!!!

There are a ZILLION tennis courts (only a couple lighted) so if tennis is your think you will be delighted!
There is no restaurant on property.
The pool is small but clean.
The clubhouse has a LOT of activities.
(Kind of out of the way to have to check in to club house to get a key to go to pool and then trudge back up the stairs to return the key at the end.)
I called about horseback riding, they never called me back. They only had 1 hour rides - with helmets. We were MUCH happier with our horseback ride up in Julian!

We would stay at this place again if we knew we could get a great 2nd story room with a view!

Room Tip: Ask for 2nd floor with a view! (Avoid 1st floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mazmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ramona
0.2 mi away
Riviera Oaks Resorts
Riviera Oaks Resorts
#1 of 3 in Ramona
133 reviews
1.5 mi away
San Vicente Golf Resort
11.9 mi away
Viejas Casino & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Tucker Peak Lodge
Tucker Peak Lodge
#10 of 11 in Julian
86 reviews
5.5 mi away
Ramona Valley Inn
Ramona Valley Inn
#1 of 1 in Ramona
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Diego Country Estates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Diego Country Estates

Address: 25385 Pappas Rd, Ramona, CA 92065-4924
Location: United States > California > Ramona
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ramona
Price Range: $125 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — San Diego Country Estates 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your San Diego Country Estates reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Country Estates Hotel Ramona
San Diego Country Estates Ramona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing