We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (113)
Filter reviews
113 results
Traveler rating
60
38
9
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
60
38
9
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews washer and dryer an hour tennis courts the kitchen san diego living room minute drive out of the way santa ysabel beautiful area apple pie horseback riding golf course enjoyed our stay safari park palomar observatory nice park
Filter
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 113 reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Stayed in a one bed villa, everying spotless done with care and attention, lovely quiet location, few miles from town of Ramona. My only initial suggestion would be pick up groceries before arriving as its a bit of a drag into Ramona, although a nice town with all amenities.

Beautifully kept grounds and areas on the estate, it was a bit hard to find out unit initially and we got lost during a late pm arrival, but nothing else could be faulted. Great reception and cleaning staff, friendly & informative, ps...you can get free wifi in the villas and free DVDs to watch.

Having arrived here direct from Australia, we found this place to be a great base from which o visit: Carlsbad, Oceanside, botanical gardens, julien and cumanya lake so far. as we don't like city locations.

All in all this is a great standard RCI timeshare resort and of a standard like they all used to be when times were good - very well done to all at the resort, we would certainly return.

Room tip: Ask for a top floor unit to get the best views.
Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Phyllis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIVacations, Manager at San Diego Country Estates, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2012

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your visit with us and had the pleasure of staying in one of our spacious 1 bedroom suites and enjoyed the beauty of our resort. Although we are a bit a distance from the city of San Diego we truly are a gem tucked in the in foothills of San Diego County and we were happy to hear you enjoyed many of the wonderful sights around the San Diego area while visiting with us. Thank you for your wonderful review and we look forward to your next visit with us.

Therese Grybow
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

It wasnt a bad experience here. just confusing to get in and out of. It has beautiful views. the room we stayed in was really nice. everything was clean and well kept. the whole area actually was really nice and quiet.

Date of stay: June 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank smv20088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2012

We discovered San Diego Country Estates through a travel club that arranges condo stays for us. It has become one of our favorite locations because the facilities are managed and furnished so well. Located in the outskirts of Ramona, California, it is surrounded by boulder-strewn mountains in a near desert environment, yet the grounds are filled with beautful flowers at any time of the year. Tucked into a neighborhood of other condos and suburban homes, with an attractive golf course nearby, it offers ample opportunities for an active vacation or for rest and renewal. One of our favorite activites is to stroll around the grounds, admiring it many gardens. There are tennis courts and a swimming pool, but we haven't use either.
The first time we visited, wi fi was available only in the Clubhouse, but in March 2011 it was available in our rooms. San Diego Zoo's Safari Park is a few minutes away in Escondido. Most sites in San Diego are about 45 minutes to an hour away. The Anza Borrego Desert State Park is an hour or so to the East (highly recommended for its wildflowers in Spring) and the town of Julian, known for its apple treats and tourist activities, is about 30 minutes away. This is a great place to stay if you don't mind the drive to tourist attractions (or if you don't want to go to them). We would like to stay in San Diego or Borrego Springs at least once, but the low cost of this facility and its relaxing environment keeps bringing us back.

Date of stay: March 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lookn2retire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

I would like to add to the post just listed (Dawnsdelite) about the Christmas family gathering last week. As mentioned we gather in odd numbered years. Altogether we had 7-8 separate suites rented for the affair. We were all very impressed with the helpfulness of the staff both at check in and during our visit. They all seemed to go out of their way to make our respective stays pleasant. There are altogether 5 of us aunts and uncles who gather with our adult children and a flock of grandchildren, nieces and nephews. Probably around 50 people in all. They were very understanding and co operative when items bowls, knives, pot & pans were brought from respective suites to cook meals and then put back into our suites but not properly or equally making two of one pan but none of another.

We gathered nightly for games as well. The decision was made to try to book one whole building next time we gather. One central room suite could be used for gathering and meals and the remaining 7 for living quarters. The hallways in the buildings are wide enough so that tables can possibly be set up for a big 40 - 50 person sit down meal or we could just use one of the suites for that purpose. Christmas day is traditionally prime rib with all the fixings. If the younger members of the family get too loud there would also be only family members to disturb rather than other vacationing guests. We did get a complaint about the noise level one evening and felt badly about interfering with someone's enjoyment of these excellent facilities. Perhaps if we had the whole building this could have been avoided.

Additionally, my wife loved the birds, bunnies, wild turkeys and other wild life around the resort. The rooms were better than beautiful and stocked with all that would be needed; only supplies need be brought. We had a 2 bdrm suite both rooms and the living room each had flat screen TV's. Housekeeping did an excellent job of maintaining the rooms each day giving us the option of either cleaning up or just taking fresh towels.

Yes it was an out of the way location but most resorts in mountains and wilderness are not in the suburbs (smiles) and some sacrifices are required when choosing to gather in such an area.. All in all the decision was made that a great time was had by all. Up until this point we had gathered @ my brothers home but stayed at nearby hotels because there were too many of us. This was our first attempt to pull this off @ a resort and quite frankly with only a few minor glitches it went very well. I would recommend this resort to any and all looking for a place to just kick back & relax and or gather for an extended family event. Additionally, the price makes this location a particularly good value.

Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CalifRusk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Our family (around 40) meets on odd years for Christmas and this year we moved it from my brothers house to SD Country Estates. I am the main coordinator and worked closely with Therese on the rooms and Joyce on renting the rotunda for our meals. Both of these ladies went above and beyond for our group. I cannot say enough about how pleasant and professional they were and as a result our Christmas event while still fraught with problems came off.

Our 2 bedroom condos were amazing especially when you consider that they cost less than what two hotel rooms would have. The furniture and amenities were on the new side and the rooms themselves very clean. Most important were the beds were so comfortable I had no trouble sleeping.

The Ramona area is beautiful...yes, out of the way and it's a pain having to drive 15 minutes each time you need something from the store, but oh my how beautiful the stars at night. The resort itself offers so much to do I will definitely consider coming back again to enjoy it. If I were to be visiting the San Diego area for an extended amount of time I would like this place to be my home base even though it takes about 30 minutes to get out of it. The tennis courts and club area are another added plus.

Our first night we had dinner at The Grill which is located at the golf course area. The food was very good and the service even better. Our server (Stephanie) remembered more than a few of our names by the end of the meal and stayed calm and collected even though she alone was serving our very large group.

Our next 2 nights we had our meals at the rotunda which is located at the Equestrian Center. It was a nice spot for our meals as the kids could run around without us worrying about them. It fit us all comfortably and they let us bring in a Christmas tree which we decorated Christmas Eve. I will say that we'll do things differently next time as it was way to hard having to drive back and forth each time you remembered something you forgot food, pot or utensil wise.

In recap: Whether you are planning a family reunion, a family vacation, or a quiet get away for yourself I would highly recommend SD Country Estates.

Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dawnsdlite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews